Click image below for a larger version

In just a little over a month from now, a whole bunch of Cinematical lunatics will stomp their way through Austin, Texas in search of the next great indie beauty via the 2009 South By Southwest Film Festival. And, like we do for a few other festivals each year, we'll be previewing some films, debuting images, clips and trailers -- while basically trying our best to keep you in the loop with regards to what's going on in this groovy film world.

First up for us (and you) this year is this exclusive first look at the film Splinterheads, which, sadly, is not a documentary about fans of the character Splinter from Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles -- but is, instead, a romantic comedy for the Harold and Kumar crowd (or so I've been told). Starring newcomer Thomas Middleditch, Rachael Taylor (Transformers), Christopher McDonald (Happy Gilmore), Lea Thompson (Back to the Future), Dean Winters (HBO's OZ), and Jason Rogel as Wayne Chung, Splinterheads follows a regular dude (Middleditch) whose life changes when a traveling carnival comes to town.

Director Brant Sersen returns to SXSW after winning the audience award for his 2004 film Blackballed: The Bobby Dukes Story. We'll bring back word on Splinterheads as soon as we hit Austin for the festival, which runs from March 13-21, 2009. Check out the official synopsis for Splinterheads after the jump.

%Gallery-44212% em>For Justin Frost (newcomer Thomas Middleditch in a breakthrough role), a typical day is rolling out of bed at one, practicing improvised karate, and mowing grass for his best friend's landscaping business. But when a traveling carnival lands in his small town, Justin falls for a sexy con artist and wakes up to the life he has yet to begin living. Written and directed by Brant Sersen, winner of the 2004 SXSW Audience Award for his previous feature comedy Blackballed: The Bobby Dukes Story, SPLINTERHEADS is the first feature film produced by New York based Atlantic Pictures. The film also stars Rachael Taylor ("Transformers"), Christopher McDonald ("Happy Gilmore"), Lea Thompson ("Back to the Future"), Dean Winters (HBO's OZ), and Jason Rogel as Wayne Chung.