Held annually in Spain, the Sitges International Fantastic Film Festival has long been the gold standard in exhibiting and honoring genre films and filmmakers. Sure, other festivals have risen to champion international sci-fi, fantasy, and horror films, most notably Fantastic Fest in Austin, TX, but it'll be a long time before any are held in as high regard among fans of unique, genre-specific cinema as Sitges. I say that not to besmirch my beloved Fantastic Fest, but to preface how historically refined a barometer Sitges is as far as rewarding films goes.

Which is why Moon, Duncan Jones' directorial debut about a lonely industrial worker (Sam Rockwell) on an isolated moonbase, winning Best Production Design, Best Actor, Best Screenplay and Best Film is no easy feat. Films it beat out for these top honors included Thirst, The Children, Splice, Dogtooth, Dorian Gray, Heartless, Metropia, and Enter the Void.

The Jury, of which The Descent and Doomsday director Neil Marshall was a member, also gave their Special Jury Award to Gaspar Noe's Enter the Void, a film about a teenage drug-dealer who dies only to come back as a ghostly guardian of his sister. Read on for the complete list of categories and winners. Note, I'm not sure what the Ben & Jerry's Award qualifications are, but I'm glad [REC] 2 won it.

JURY: Neil Marshall, Amanda Plummer, Tuomas Riskala, John Saxon and Jordi Battle Caminal

Best Short Film
One of those days by Hattie Dalton

Special Mention
The boy who wouldn't kill by Linus de Paoli

Best Production Design - Sponsored by Parc Audiovisual de Catalunya

Tony Noble for Moon

Best Make Up FX
Kaatje Van Damme for Mr. Nobody

Best Special Effects
C.O.R.E. Digital Pictures, Mac Guff, BUF for Splice

Best Original Soundtrack

Teresa Barrozo for Kinatay

Best Cinematography

Benoit Debie for Enter the Void

Best Script

Nathan Parker, based on the original story of Duncan Jones, for Moon

Best Actress
Ex-aequo: Elena Anaya for Hierro and Kim Ok-vin for Thirst

Best Actor
Sam Rockwell for Moon

Best Director
Brillante Mendoza for Kinatay

Special Jury Award

Enter the Void by Gaspar Noé

Best Motion Picture
Moon by Duncan Jones


JURY: Arnau Vilaró, Sergi Fabregat, Arantza Marichalar, Joan Sala and Isabel Salvador

Best Motion Picture FANTÀSTIC

Ex-aequo: Dogtooth (Canino) de Yorgos Lanthimos and Les derniers jours du monde d'Arnaud Larrieu and Jean-Marie Larrieu

Best Motion Picture MIDNIGHT X-TREME
Wasting Away by Matthew Kohnen


JURY: Stephanie Billeter, Marc Helwig and Pedro Usabiaga

Best Motion Picture - Sponsored by SEAT

Deliver us from Evil by Ole Bornedal

Special Mention
Van Diemen's Land by Jonathan auf der Heide

Non Fiction Motion Picture Diploma
Best Worst Movie by Michael Paul Stephenson

Discovery Motion Picture Diploma
Amer d'Hélène Cattet and Bruno Forzani


JURY: Roser Aguilar, Lluís Bonet Mojica, Albert Solé and Joan Valent

Best Director
Swingers by Javier Rodríguez Espinosa, presented by ESCAC-Escándalo Films

Best Screenplay
44987373-V by Robert Ors Griera, presented by Centre d'Estudis Cinematogràfics de Catalunya (CECC)

Best Original Score
The last drag by Gonçal Perales Roy, presented by Centre d'Estudis de Tècniques d'Animació de Catalunya · 9 ZEROS
SPECIAL MENTION for the global quality of the piece
Pin up by Tania Verduzco, presented by Centre d'Estudis Cinematogràfics de Catalunya (CECC)


JURY: Fausto Fernández, Luis M. Rosales and Marc Walkow

Best Motion Picture

Ip Man by Yip Wai-shun

ANIMA'T – Gertie Award

JURY: Fausto Fernández, Luis M. Rosales and Marc Walkow

Best Animated Film
Summer Wars by Mamoru Hosoda
Best Animated Short film
Le petit dragon by Bruno Collet
Best Animated Feature Film for Kids
Panique au village by Stéphane Aubier and Vincent Patar
JURY: Tim League, Toni Messa and Antje Nikkola Mönning

Méliès d'Argent for Best European Motion Picture
The Eclipse by Conor McPherson

Méliès d'Argent for Best Europea Short Film
One of those days by Hattie Dalton

Méliès d'Or for Best European Motion Picture

Martyrs by Pascal Laugier
Méliès d'Or for Best European Short Film
Cold and Dry byKristoffer Joner, co-directed and produced by Bjørn Arne Odden
Audience Award El Periódico de Catalunya

Best Motion Picture
Zombieland by Ruben Fleischer
JURY: Desirée de Fez, Imma Merino and Eulàlia Iglesias

Jose Luis Guarner Critic Award
Les derniers jours du monde d'Arnaud Larrieu and Jean-Marie Larrieu
Citizen Kane Award to an up-and-coming director
Dogtooth (Canino) by Yorgos Lanthimos


JURY: Domingo López Tortosa, Diego López Fernández and José Martos Arroyo

Best short film
Torbellino de hostias by Adrián Cardona

Ben & Jerry's Award
[REC]2 by Jaume Balagueró and Paco Plaza
categories Movies, Sci-Fi