The 2010 Tribeca Film Festival handed out its jury awards last night, in a reportedly swift ceremony held at NYC's W Union Square hotel. The winners of the narrative competition were chosen and presented by a group including actresses Hope Davis and Cheryl Hines, actor Aaron Eckhart, writer John Ridley (U Turn) and directors Gary Winick (13 Going on 30), Gary Ross (Pleasantville) and John Hamburg (I Love You, Man). The German drama Die Fremde (When We Leave) took the top prize, called The Founders Award, while the film's star, Sibel Kekilli, won Best Actress. Other narrative honors went to director Kim Chapiron(Dog Pound), actor Eric Elmosnino(Gainsbourg, Je t'Aime...Moi Non Plus) and the Italian film Mine vaganti (Loose Cannons), which received a special jury mention "for making us laugh, cry and immediately want to book a trip to Southern Italy."

Documentary winners Monica & David, Budrus and director Clio Barnard(The Arbor) were picked by a jury made up of actresses Jessica Alba, Whoopi Goldberg and Abbie Cornish, actor Aidan Quin and non-fiction filmmakers Eric Steel (The Bridge) Margaret Brown (The Order of Myths), Marshall Curry (Streetfight). About Barnard -- whose unconventional doc is currently atop my list of films I wish I'd seen -- they said, "Imagination is a word you don't often associate with documentary filmmaking, but this director bends the boundaries of the form, beautifully crafting an innovative and detailed film wherein great storytelling is paramount."
The results of the locally celebratory New York competitions were determined by actors Andrew McCarthy and Zach Braff, actresses America Ferrera and Selma Blair, Oscar guru Dave Karger, Dateline NBC's Kate Snow, screenwriter Scott Neustadter ((500) Days of Summer) and filmmakers Zoe Cassavetes (Broken English), Dan Klores (Crazy Love) and Darko Lungulov (Here and There). Awards went to Monogamy, the debut fiction feature of Oscar-nominated director Dana Adam Shapiro, as well as actress Melissa Leo(The Space Between) and the "haunting" documentary The Woodmans.

Short film winners include the narratives Father Christmas Doesn't Come Here and The Crush, the documentaries White Lines & The Fever: The Death of DJ Junebugand Out of Infamy: Michi Nishiura Weglynand the student films some boys don't leaveand The Pool Party. Jurors for these categories included Alicia Keys, Brooke Shields, Justin Bartha, Peter Facinelli, recent Oscar nominee Scandar Copti (Ajami) and filmmaker Katherine Dieckmann (Motherhood).

Two other awards, newly inaugurated as part of the event's virtual program, were given to films seen and chosen by viewers of the selections streaming online. They were won by the teen outcast comedy Sporkand the short Singapore drama Delilah, Before. Both of these can still be viewed on the web until midnight tonight (April 30) for premium passholders. As for the festival's main audience award, voted on by physical screening attendees throughout the week, that will be named at the wrap party tomorrow night (May 1).

Congratulations to all the winners! You can continue to check out all of our Tribeca fest coverage over here.