Oscar winner Morgan Freeman has had an amazing career by any measure and now he'll have one more feather in his cap. The Hollywood Foreign Press just announced that the 74-year-old star of 'Glory,' 'Se7en,' and 'The Shawshank Redemption' will receive the Cecil B. DeMille Award for lifetime achievement at the 69th annual Golden Globe Awards on Jan. 15.
Freeman has been acting since 1964 and has been nominated five times for an Academy Award and for five Golden Globes, winning a best supporting actor Oscar for 'Million Dollar Baby' and a best actor Globe for 'Driving Miss Daisy.'

Last year's recipient of the Cecil B. DeMille award was Robert De Niro; previous honorees include Sidney Poitier, Sophia Loren, Sean Connery, Barbra Streisand, and Martin Scorsese.

Freeman shows no signs of slowing down: His latest 'Dolphin Tale,' is now in theaters and 'The Dark Knight Rises' and 'Summer at Dog Dave's' for director Rob Reiner are due out next year.

[via THR]

[Photo: AFP/Getty]

Follow Moviefone on Twitter
Like Moviefone on Facebook


categories Movies, Awards