Skip to main content

reviews

64
Based on 27 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 59 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Heebie-jeebies are guaranteed. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    This is the old stuff, the good stuff, the tried-and-true stuff of shrewdly accomplished audience manipulation. show more

  • 75
    USA Today

    At his best, King's most effective creatures are not the ones behind creaking doors, but inside crooked minds. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    An entertainingly hairy paranormal affair. show more

  • 50
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    A curse would be a great improvement on the wishy-washy wickedness of this movie. show more

  • 70
    The Hollywood Reporter

    Even with its flaws, 1408 deserves to be appreciated by connoisseurs of acting and bravura filmmaking. show more

  • 75
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Swift, sharp adaptation of Stephen King's short story (from the "Everything's Eventual" collection). show more

  • 75
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    Sharp little psychological thriller. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    This is the most mature horror movie of the year - far more adult and sophisticated than the tedious Hostel Part II. If you like to be creeped out by movies, this is one to see. It reminds us what it's like to be scared in a theater rather than overwhelmed by buckets of blood and gore. show more

  • 63
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    For about an hour or so, 1408 has you thinking you're watching The Next Great Horror Movie: That's how good the first half of this adaptation of Stephen King's short story about a haunted hotel room is. show more

  • October 17, 2010 lovessmiles4
    Report This User

    ****** Five stars****** LUV IT, LUV IT, : )

  • January 31, 2010 drummerbk56
    Report This User

    this movie was pretty scary and weird...

  • December 05, 2009 lckyby465dusty
    Report This User

    ok this was awsome truly i give it five stars

  • October 13, 2008 hunterisgreat10
    Report This User

    best stephen king movie ever..but..very,very,very,very,very,very,very scary

  • May 22, 2008 cherylelko
    Report This User

    DUMB !!!!! TOTAL WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY !!Fell asleep 20 minutes into it !! How scary could it have been ??

  • May 22, 2008 prisma6703
    Report This User

    this movie has potential interest, and then turns out stupid. dont waste your time.

  • May 22, 2008 annex177
    Report This User

    Okay, rule number one in writing a review, watch the movie all the way through before you judge.This movie took on many twists and turns that I did not foresee. My first reaction was not correct.IT TURNED OUT BETTER THAN I ORIGINALLY ANTICIPATED.

  • May 22, 2008 tweetysfriend
    Report This User

    I WOULDN'T CALL THIS SCARY, I'D CALL IT SUSPENCEFUL. THERE WERE ONLY A COUPLE OF PARTS THAT CAUSED ME TO JUMP BUT THERE WASN'T ANYTHING IN IT THAT WAS REALLY FRIGHTENING. ITS A REALLY GOOD MOVIE THOUGH. ONE YOU DON'T WANT TO LEAVE THE ROOM FOR. ITS ONE OF THOSE, THAT YOU HAVE TO WATCH IN THE DARK BUT NOT ALONE.

  • May 22, 2008 sdfreeh
    Report This User

    I thought the movie was great. It wasn't long enough though. It was really creepy. I wish there was more scenes that would make you shiver from fear. I wouldn't want to stay at that hotel. I would recommend watching it, not with children though. They would be up all night crying from fear.

  • May 22, 2008 madmaxruger
    Report This User

    If you are looking for the typical horror movie package containing: obligatory babe with big boobs; corny dialogue; unnecessary gore; and plot that monkey could follow, this is not the movie for you, and it is likely that you will get on here and write a review about how bad it sucks. In my opinion one of the best movies I've ever seen. Every frame of the film had purpose and meaning, and in the end it all fit together like a jigsaw puzzel dipped in KY. unique among the crap that hollywood usually produces. Pure art.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X