Skip to main content

reviews

67
Based on 30 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 12 )
  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Perhaps the most promising thing in 2 Days in Paris is that Delpy shows that she can direct herself. show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Delpy is clearly a gifted writer, especially of comic dialogue. But she and Goldberg don't quite work as an engaging pair. show more

  • 63
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Delpy's manic energy shoots through this meet-the-parents comedy like electroshock, resulting in a movie that is as acutely painful as it is acutely funny. show more

  • 75
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    Delpy wrote the dialogue that gives the film its forward thrust, and "2 Days" is a wonderful first feature. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    A smart film with an edge to it. show more

  • 75
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    Amusingly raunchy. show more

  • 75
    Maitland McDonagh TV Guide

    Weighty and downbeat though that sounds, Delpy's film is delightfully light, especially when it's parsing the infinite variety of horrible French cabbies. show more

  • 63
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    By accident or design the film is seriously unbalanced. show more

  • 63
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    The movie is just a situation salad, at least until the end, when things start to pull together a bit. show more

  • 63
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    Here's all you really need to know in order to determine whether Julie Delpy's 2 Days in Paris is something you need to experience for yourself: Her blond hair is often all frizz, and she prefers glasses with a big black frame. She's Mia AND Woody. show more

  • May 22, 2008 Jimmy Ingersoll
    Report This User

    I loved everything about this movie. Foreign and foreign oriented films are not for everyone, and many do not understand where they are coming from. Julie Delpy, as usual, was brilliant, and with Adam Goldberg added, they made a perfect comedy team. This wasn't supposed to be serious, so everyone lighten up when you see it.

  • May 22, 2008 bichedoc
    Report This User

    this movie acts like a film school thesis project. if i were the professor...an A for trying but a D minus for it's result... hard effort,as she wrote directed and starred in it.....please dont waste your time.

  • May 22, 2008 mooonpie07b
    Report This User

    I really liked this movie! It was a funny look at character studies of 2 neurotic and quirky individuals, making up an interesting study in relationship dynamics. There were several spots in which I had to laugh out loud, which is not typical for me in movie theaters. If you like the funny quirkiness of the old Woody Allen characters and their interplay, you will like this movie! It was a bit long, and could have been condensed a bit, esp. toward the end, but I was glad I saw it and would even see it a 2nd time.

  • May 22, 2008 pomspringz
    Report This User

    Really awful movie - extremely talky and annoying. If you can stay awake long enough to walk out, you'll be lucky. I think Julie Delpy is trying to be the French Woody Allen surpassing his neurotic dialogue. No one can be as dumb and obnoxious as Adam Goldberg's character. Skip this film!

  • May 22, 2008 nan1508
    Report This User

    or money. the only thing good about it was the background of paris...sorta of. raunch humor and at times offensive. the cat was good! wish i had walked out.

  • May 22, 2008 kenbenja
    Report This User

    You could call this the definition of a chick flick, as Julie Delpy wrote, directed, and stars in this movie about, well, the female lead, and is definitely french in tone and flavor. Not too much about her guy. Its a tough watch, as you begin to few sorry for what Adam has to endure in someone else's hometown. Scenes of Paris are off the beaten path and doesnt offer much there. The movie is thoughtful and engaging but mostly serves a a venue for Julie to express some of her own feelings or those she has imagined others feel.

  • May 22, 2008 marosh23
    Report This User

    no plot just used raunchy humor. i'm no francophile but portrays the french in the most negative americentric stereotypical way

  • May 22, 2008 jamartin44
    Report This User

    Everything about the movie is either unbeleivable or at a minimum, morally offensive. The police are either clueless or incompetent ( witness a 15 minute shoot-out in public without a peep from a patrolman), the hero suddenly transforms himself from a milquetoast to rambo, and the gangsters are all efficient nerveless serial killers.There are some exciting moments, but you would be better advised to avoid this one, unless you like gratuitous killing.

  • May 22, 2008 nosilentfilmstar
    Report This User

    I'm not a "reviewer"

  • May 22, 2008 norkarler
    Report This User

    Mix one overbearing,hairy obnoxious male with a secretive and flirtacious female having anger management issues. Add a set of intrusive, passive aggressive yet kindly parents. Set this against a background of Parisian cafes, metro stops and markets. Throw ina dash of memorable cabbies, waiters and one ecological minded yet humanistic terrorist and we have "Two Days In Paris." This is a harmless chick flick whose message seems to bewe all have our issues, better to handle them and life with apartner than all by our lonesome.

`

similar movies

  • Midnight in Paris (2011)

  • Away We Go (2009)

  • Before Sunset (2004)

  • Paris (2008)

  • Once (2006)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X