Skip to main content

reviews

60
Based on 31 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 35 )
  • 63
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    I only wish this richly imaginative movie had stayed truer to the dark heart of its visuals. show more

  • 75
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    Taking your very small child to this movie is only a slightly better idea than a trip to "The Final Destination." With that warning out of the way, this action adventure is a big treat for more mature animation and science-fiction fans and a triumph for the young director. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Long on imaginative design but less substantial in narrative, this dreary story of fighting the power is more numbing than thought-provoking. show more

  • 63
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    In 50 years, film lovers will look back on 9 as the debut feature of an original talent. show more

  • 60
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Shane Acker's underwritten but beautifully animated debut is both an ode to technology and a warning against it. Perhaps unintentionally, the film itself echoes those themes. show more

  • 50
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    9 never adds up to much. It's a dark adult film that gives itself over to the chases and frights of a kiddie movie. show more

  • 88
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    Any optimism in 9, which is bound to try the fortitude of meeker children, feels hard-won. It actually ends in a bittersweet mystery. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    The best reason to see it is simply because of the creativity of its visuals. They're entrancing. show more

  • 75
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    IF you ask me, Shane Acker's post-apocalyp tic animated film 9 is better than the live-ac tion flick "District 9." Beyond their similar titles, these sci-fi social commentaries are both expanded from shorts under the sponsorship of a world-class director. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    This is post-apocalyptic adventure as imagined for a teen crowd, and what it lacks in depth it makes up for in action. With a slight running time of 80 minutes, 9 doesn't contain an ounce of fat on its animated bones. show more

  • May 18, 2011 pimuseta
    Report This User

    Amazing story and though it\'s animated it\'s not a film for kids. Very serious and very touching. Loved it.

  • April 30, 2011 nf00000000090272
    Report This User

    pretty cool movie. Super strange but super good at the same time. definitely have to use your brain throughout the movie, great concept

  • November 28, 2010 StATeLoVeScItY..
    Report This User

    suck's

  • January 18, 2010 flwerfire
    Report This User

    I wasn't sure what to expect from this movie but I was so touched and loved every gut wrentching min of this movie. My teenage son and his girlfriend wasn't as thrilled but I thought it was fantastic and will be buying this on dvd..

  • December 23, 2009 drummerbk56
    Report This User

    my sister asked if me and her could see it together and i noticed zombie land was playing so we went to that instead and LOVED it

  • December 20, 2009 musicobessed96
    Report This User

    This movie was so unique n original. i mean for the first time the humans werent the main species. it was sad, thrilling, and a movie tht u had to think ********* not one of those movies where u can sucessful explain. n plz boy i thought tht machine wuld NEVER DIE!!! but wut was there lik 4 of em left? the cant reproduce or live forever how will the human soul live on?? lol wutever the movies go n nothin lik anything else i've ever seen

  • December 08, 2009 ClLaya
    Report This User

    this movie is awesome but a lot of p3ople say its suck but like i said it was AWESOME

  • November 01, 2009 OpineAway
    Report This User

    Technically this movie is beautiful. The animation, from facial expressions to body movements in action scenes, expulsions, gasses and lighting effects, the artistic and atmosphere creating scenery is just amazing. To anyone that ever did anything with material, texture and light in graphics or animation, the quality and realism is just so excellent. But the visuals are not the only thing we expect from a movie. The story, though it starts excellent, and has many great elements in it, just doesn't hold through the movie, has too much of unclear elements, (risk of a sort of a spoiler alert here....) and ends in a somewhat lack-of-ending holistic way that leaves you with a "hu?" at the end. To me, it seemed as the story teller couldn't come up with a good ending, so he left it open-ended with enough unexplained things to make the viewer not admitting to his friends he didn't understand the ending.... I was trying to figure out who this movie is aimed at. Small kids are definitely not a good target audience. Teenagers will roll their eyes if they'll even go (I doubt it). Adults will find parts that will "talk" to them (the "German" nation, the characters etc.), but will be disappointed with the plot - so if you look form a commercial aspect, who is it aimed at? So, the only answer I have is the artistic audience, which will definitely enjoy the work. So my take of this - if you want to go and appreciate the art and technique, you'll really enjoy this movie, otherwise, yes, some good action, some elements of a good plot and a few jokes, but nothing the holds throughout the film, and definitely not to the end, if it can be called an end....but it looks great.... L. www.OpineAway.com

  • October 03, 2009 Guearaha
    Report This User

    I've been waiting for a movie to reach in my gut for a while now and I've been watching a lot of movies in search of that gut-wrenching worry and sickness that I love to experience. To be ************ been years (since the last LOTR movie came out), since I felt that utter abdominal twisting. Then 9 came out. 9 far exceeded my expectations in keeping me on my seat the entire movie, keeping me entertained, as well as awed, as well as cleaving me in half and playing with my intestines the entire length of the movie. I really enjoyed the characters, the story, the animation, the music, and just about everything. BUT I'll have to agree with you that the end was disappointing, it seemed like it went too fast, I wish there was another hour or two to the movie, so we could just sit there and take in all the awesome and animation and story. And it did seem like they kind of threw the end together on a "OH GOD WE'RE RUNNING OUT OF TIME 9-9-09 IS COMING AAAAAH" kind of note. They had so much potential, but in the end, they just didn't squeeze every drop from their rare fruit of epic. XD BUT AGAIN I loved the movies regardless of it's mistakes and it's flaws. 8'D I've come to love it for what it is, even though I wish I could've gotten a double scoop ice cream waffle cone with sprinkles and chocolate syrup instead of a single scoop in a cup. I loved it anyways!! And I really hope there is a sequel!

  • October 03, 2009 Tjsierrajean1484
    Report This User

    8

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X