Skip to main content

reviews

76
Based on 41 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 9 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    The actors give it their all, especially Knightley, whose jaw- jutting, heavily accented and unfairly criticized portrayal gives the film its fighting spirit. show more

  • 50
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Instead we get Knightley, who juts her chin, quakes, shakes and bugs her eyes, but nothing about her pain calls out to us, because nothing in it seems real. show more

  • 63
    Scott Bowles USA Today

    A Dangerous Method has plenty to say about sex, but it lacks much fire for it. show more

  • 80
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Represents a big growth spurt in Mr. Cronenberg's career. Its measured pace, along with a style that is sometimes austere (though sometimes anything but) repays close attention with excellent acting and a wealth of absorbing information. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    There's an icy chill, a detachment, to A Dangerous Method, too. Of course, there are no talking cockroaches (Naked Lunch), no naked steambath knife fights (Eastern Promises), and that may have something to do with why this all feels so un-Cronenbergian. show more

  • 60
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    A Dangerous Method concerns itself primarily with sex, but what's most shocking is how conservative it turns out to be. show more

  • 100
    Todd McCarthy The Hollywood Reporter

    Precise, lucid and thrillingly disciplined, this story of boundary-testing in the early days of psychoanalysis is brought to vivid life by the outstanding lead performances of Keira Knightley, Viggo Mortensen and Michael Fassbender. show more

  • 70
    Mark Jenkins NPR

    The clinical style doesn't play to the director's strengths. A Dangerous Method didn't have to be another "Naked Lunch," but Freud plus Jung plus Cronenburg should have equaled something a little more dissonant and troubling. show more

  • 80
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    In short, Cronenberg has made an elegant film, with spanking. There's some mildly kinky sex in A Dangerous Method, but Cronenberg makes it neither exploitive nor so tasteful that it loses its charge. show more

  • 100
    Liam Lacey The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    Mostly, though, A Dangerous Method is a suave chamber piece: a series of glimpses of two 20th-century intellectual titans, in friendship and separation, and the story of a remarkable woman who history had swallowed up, brought into the light again. show more

  • May 10, 2013 mohsinvahidy
    Report This User

    Love You Baby

  • April 12, 2012 sr00000000118364
    Report This User

    The actors did a great job. The story was good but needed to be sped up.

  • February 04, 2012 bnevrgivup
    Report This User

    This is an excellent and realistic account of what Freudian psycho therapy was like and it has it\'s place particularly in todays Psychiatric give a psycotropic pill after a twenty minute interview then refer them to the real anaylist, the trailing psychologist who may or may not practice real indepth psychotherapy at all. While Viggo Mortensen, plays Freud is in 50% of the movie, he steals the scenes and dominates as he expertly presents Freud\'s never ending genius. Knightly is as usual excellent and so is Michael Fassbender. A geniusly scripted movie and an excellent period presentation of the turn of the century events in the Lives of these intriguing Pioneers of the dying art of psycho therabpy. If you have little knowledge of these real lives and contributions toward Psychology then you don\'t really have an opinion!

  • February 05, 2012 twalsh4440
    Report This User

    Do not waste your money HORRENDOUS

  • January 12, 2012 ric027
    Report This User

    best movie ever

  • January 06, 2012 Margaret Opine
    Report This User

    4* for only one reason. After I did some research on the lives of these 'pioneers' involved there could have been more of a story. The movie runs slow and that could be good so people could keep up and Kiera Knightley (cannot do a bad performance, can she?) ;well she did some ‘reaching’ and ‘stretching’ in this role, a believable performance by all. I say the script is at fault for not giving us a five-star BRAVO-movie experience. THIS STORY IS SO IMPORTANT TO THE DEVELOPMENT OF PSYCHOANALYSIS THAT WE LIVE TODAY. I say: SEE IT: hubby will fall asleep until the S&M part. --Now here's a part that's interesting (and I'm thinking of the newly released SHAME—as well, a porn movie, or, a movie about porn addiction directed by Steve McQueen dubbed an artist as well...here's the point: I plan to research modern-youthful responses to these 'discussions' on sex and sexuality and how we develop our varying orientations, to see what the sexually experienced have to say about it all today in our post-70s Sexual Revolution. This movie hinted at sadomasochism as related to 'father's beatings' and I reject that analysis completely: that means everybody in Europe and America prior to the 60s has an S&M Syndrome because they surely was hit. So, I'm interested in what the young people today will say and would say about such grounds as a disorder for

  • January 05, 2012 bobfingers9
    Report This User

    An excellent film. All actors gave a wonderful performance, and especially, Kiera Knightley was riveting and deserves to win the Academy Award.

  • January 02, 2012 ISEEEMALL
    Report This User

    Inaccurate, boring, and sexist. It could have been good; it could have been very good. But it wasn\'t. Nothing was fully explored, nothing made complete sense, no thread was followed through to a natural conclusion. There was too much Keira Knightley getting spanked with her nipples hanging out. Why? What was her diagnosis? I\'ve been a therapist for 20 years and have seen every kind of mental illness, but nothing like what she had (except as a side effect of anti-psychotic medication). Freud was not portrayed as the sex and coke addict he was; why not?

  • December 31, 2011 JARIII
    Report This User

    A nifty piece of writing, beautifully rendered by the master of \"disturbing.\" It could be almost considered his going to the origins of what defines our anxiety. So glad to have an adult movie at the end of the year.

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X