Skip to main content

reviews

79
Based on 35 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 51 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    This seriously funny movie, artfully photographed by the great Roger Deakins, is spiritual in nature, barbed in tone, and, oh, yeah, it stings like hell. show more

  • 100
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    The movie is funny, definitely funny. But underlying the humor is a vision so bleak, so despairing and so utterly hopeless as to make "No Country for Old Men" almost look cheerful. show more

  • 88
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    A wonderfully odd, bleakly comic and thoroughly engrossing film. show more

  • 30
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    What do the Coen brothers want of us? More specifically, what do they want us to think of the repellent people in this pitilessly bleak movie? show more

  • 75
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    This unsettling, shaggy, surrealistic pillow of a movie - a mixed bag more funny-strange than ha-ha. show more

  • 50
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    The humor is sharp and so are the judgments, which pile on until the characters are nearly suffocated under the weight of so much disdain. show more

  • 80
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    The always surprising Coen brothers have finally made a very serious movie with A Serious Man. It's about God, man's place in the world and the meaning of life, so naturally it's one of their funnier movies. show more

  • 100
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Have I mentioned A Serious Man is so rich and funny? This isn't a laugh-laugh movie, but a wince-wince movie. Those can be funny too. show more

  • 100
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    A tart, brilliantly acted fable of life’s little cosmic difficulties, a Coen brothers comedy with a darker philosophical outlook than “No Country for Old Men” but with a script rich in verbal wit. show more

  • 100
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    That song (Jefferson Airplane's Somebody to Love), which becomes a sort of mantra to the movie, is the key to understanding what the Coens are after: When the truth is found to be lies, and all the joy within you dies, you better find somebody to love. show more

  • September 17, 2011 foney372
    Report This User

    whoever thought this moive was bad seriously is dumb and has issues. this is, so funny and brilliant, they went no where wrong. a brillitant coen brothers film! ucchh, i love itt!!

  • March 28, 2010 Neal Gibbons Esq
    Report This User

    This movie should win the Anti-Academy Award. It is one of the most depressing and senseless movies of the decade. There is no point other than this serious man has misery in his life. Then when things start to go back together, he is informed of some major illness. Who wants to watch this theme? The movie had no great plot, no great actors, no great acting, no great point, no great special effects, no great love story.....a pointless movie that did not even entertain. WOW....Just don't go see it!!!!

  • March 18, 2010 tanya56303
    Report This User

    WOW I was SO DISAPOINTED! I ************* to the anti-climactic end of that bleak almost painful long and drawn out torture! It was a wasted two hours of my life, I like almost every movie I watch, and am not the type to post a reveiw, but you know this movie was SO BAD that I had to post a reveiw!!

  • March 05, 2010 Od8671
    Report This User

    A good movie is a good movie regardless of race.unlike the above reviewers I will no blame the failure of this movie on ethnicity but rather talent.

  • March 03, 2010 rpm7474
    Report This User

    Loved this movie, The ending is querky and conjures up conversation.

  • March 01, 2010 briancahill1
    Report This User

    Some things should not see the light of day this film is one of those.A truly disjointed mish mash of self indulgence created by the Coen Brothers. A film made for Jews about Jews for Jews.if any humour was present I missed it completely, the subtleties were to subtle,probably enjoyed by viewers in institutions or about to enter one, and no, I am truly not anti Sementic.

  • February 28, 2010 CJittle4
    Report This User

    This movie was bland,I think I laughed a few times.My wife left after about 40 min. into the movie.I think it would have definitly helped to be Jewish to have a better understanding of the movie.It was'nt worth the $5 I spent to watch it,would'nt have been as disappointed if only spent a$1 at Redbox.

  • February 21, 2010 Cheryl
    Report This User

    This movie was an absolute waste of time. I kept thinking something has to happen to make it interesting and nothing ever did. Amazingly bad. I can't believe how much I hated this.

  • February 19, 2010 corbettdesigns
    Report This User

    This movie sucked. Unless you are ************ been awhile since I felt I wanted 144 mins. back. A waste of time. Sometimes the Cohen brothers are right on, then other times way, way off.

  • February 17, 2010 tymattes2
    Report This User

    I am truly sorry, but I had to created a screen name just so I could leave a review here.... It was that painful. It has been about ten minutes since I finished watching the movie and I am still in disbelief. How would anyone appreciate this movie??? How? I love my movies (give me almost any kind and I will love it), but "A Serious Man" quit simply is the most bizarre, plot-less, pointless, sad excuse of a film I have ever seen. It is not funny. The humor is sick and twisted at best. You are purposefully meant to hate EVERY SINGLE CHARACTER in the entire movie. The sequencing of events are irrelevant, irrational, and untimely with absolutely no regard to viewer. This movie is a slap to the face of viewers world-wide, in fact. As rabbi #2 said in the movie, "we get not answers", and that is EXACTLY what this movie is...a build up to nothing. NO ANSWERS!!! The ending could not have had less relevance to the entire movie. I am legitimately angry after watching this movie. If this is the type of movie experience you like, then all the power to you, but I appreciate meaningful and insightful films; this is not one of them. There is nothing "deep" about this movie. Nothing deep to "understand" like all of you lovers of this movie claim to be. I can see straight through the BS and tell you, "A Serious Man", means absolutely nothing! No lessons on life! No lessons on love! No lessons on religion! ABSOLUTELY NO LESSONS ON ANYTHING! This movie makes me wish there was a rating system with negative stars... My life is worse off having seen this movie. Only watch if you need to be intensely freaked out and angry while trying to fall asleep at the same time... I hope the coen bro's stop making movies

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X