Skip to main content

reviews

33
Based on 41 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 83 )
  • 25
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    The young Smith has energy, but not the acting chops. And he's no miracle worker. The burden of carrying this dull, lifeless movie is just too much. And it's hell on an audience. It's not a good sign when you sit there thinking – Make. It. Stop. show more

  • 25
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Jaden is not ready for his solo spotlight, and the film is the same action over and over. Another bad movie from Shyamalan. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Though it's meant to be pulse-pounding, After Earth is a lethargic slog. show more

  • 63
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    In truth, despite more corn than Mel Gibson grows on his farm in "Signs" (another Shyamalan effort), After Earth is worth a look. show more

  • NA
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Summer 2013 has its first bomb, and sadly, it’s landed right on Will Smith. show more

  • 40
    John DeFore The Hollywood Reporter

    The disappointingly generic film, which strands a father and son on Earth a thousand years after a planet-wide evacuation, will leave genre audiences pining for the more Terra-centric conceits of "Oblivion," not to mention countless other future-set films that find novelty in making familiar surroundings threatening. show more

  • 12
    Laremy Legel Film.com

    After Earth stupefies us with nonsense, such little thought and logic went into this idea that it can’t even be considered a rough draft, this is a movie almost daring an audience to emotionally detach throughout. For shame! show more

  • 35
    Mark Jenkins NPR

    A disastrous father-son endeavor about a calamitous father-son expedition, After Earth doesn't play to the strengths of any of its major participants. show more

  • 88
    Matt Zoller Seitz RogerEbert.com

    After Earth is ultimately too thin of a story to support all of its grandiose embellishments, but so what? It's better to try to pack every moment with beauty and feeling than to shrug and smirk. The film takes the characters and their feelings seriously, and lets its actors give strong, simple performances. show more

  • 63
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Won't change your world, but it's attractive and Smith the Elder, lowering his voice to subterranean James Earl Jones levels, delivers a shrewd minimalist performance. His son may get there yet. show more

  • November 19, 2013 jdcftl
    Report This User

    Yo Jaden - get into a REAL school for a REAL education - Acting is not for you!

  • November 04, 2013 Da Doh
    Report This User

    hated it

  • October 25, 2013 jn00000000169544
    Report This User

    I love love Will Smith... but his son is TERRIBLE in this movie!! I couldn\'t even finish watching it... I wasted money to rent it... it was BAD!

  • October 21, 2013 Keith
    Report This User

    I purchased the DVD on the strength of Will Smith\'s previous movies/acting. I won\'t make that mistake again. Will and Jaden\'s roles were \"wooden\" to say the best. Absolutely no humor, compassion, warmth or emotion. Very disappointing. Wish I could get a refund.

  • October 20, 2013 armandofraga
    Report This User

    The film was an insulto to my intelligence. There wer no oxygen in Earth but it was full of animals and exuberants plants. Hellooo?

  • October 18, 2013 tymeglobe
    Report This User

    wHAT A LOAD OF RUBISH !! REALLY DISSAPOINTING MOVIE CONSIDERING THE \"i AM LEGEND\" WILL SMITH IS HEADLINING THE FILM. THE FILM IS A PREDICTABLE SCRIPT AND RESEMBLES A VERY BASIC COMPUTER GAME OF THE MOST SIMPLE FORM . I WOULD REQUEST A REFUND IF IT WERE POSSIBLE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • October 10, 2013 qs00000000168684
    Report This User

    Decent Movie with a solid storyline and special effects, BUT (big but) fell way way short too many times in the main role. This could have been a comeback for M.N. Shyamalan and a break out for Jaden Smith. Jaden was either lacking in experience or just straight up lacked talent for this huge role. It could have been a great role for a break out young actor. So, Stay away from this film, unless you have seen everything else, are very bored, are a big will smith fan, and a big sci-fi fan. This movie, unfortunatly, was a waste of an oportunity for a lot of people to breakout and/or make a comeback. Shame. 2/5 stars

  • August 08, 2013 cherryware1
    Report This User

    Good movie.Exhibited strong male role model to son.Acting of Jaden very age appropriate.Developed characters.Enjoyed. We left with good feeling.

  • July 27, 2013 pv00000000133752
    Report This User

    all time bad movie not worth a ..uck

  • July 26, 2013 stevecono
    Report This User

    for the cost of seeing this movie dud wait for it on cable tv next month for a lot less and wont feel so cheated.

`

similar movies

  • The Hunger Games (2012)

  • Tron: Legacy (2010)

  • Ender's Game (2013)

  • Star Trek Into Darkness (2013)

  • The Hunger Games: Catching Fire (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X