Skip to main content

reviews

53
Based on 38 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 78 )
  • 63
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Still, even Disney and a PG rating can't bury Burton's subversive wit. Like Carroll, he's a master at dressing up psychic wounds in fantasy. show more

  • 25
    San Francisco Chronicle

    Its single biggest failing - an affront to Lewis Carroll and the charms of nonsense literature - is that it makes sense. show more

  • 88
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    When it comes to 3-D visual splendors, give me Wonderland over Pandora any day. show more

  • 40
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    The most surprising thing about Alice in Wonderland is its general lack of surprise. show more

  • 75
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    If there were truth-in-titling, Burton's movie rightly would be called "Alice in Narnia: With Stops at Disneyland, the Shire, Rohan, Naboo, and Oz." show more

  • 60
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    It tends to get lost in its own delirium, which will enchant some and drive others bonkers. show more

  • 90
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    A fantastical romp that proves every bit as transporting as that movie about the blue people of Pandora, his "Alice" is more than just a gorgeous 3D sight to behold. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    "Alice" plays better as an adult hallucination, which is how Burton rather brilliantly interprets it until a pointless third act flies off the rails. show more

  • 75
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    The movie won't be for everyone -- it's a little rough for preteens, and it doesn't throw many laughs the audience's way -- but along with "Sweeney Todd," this is Burton's most interesting project in a decade show more

  • 75
    Ann Hornaday Washington Post

    Burton finely balances excess and restraint to create an absorbing, visually rich world of his very own. show more

  • March 26, 2012 mmilford13
    Report This User

    Different but very good and entertaining

  • February 05, 2012 Dry Master
    Report This User

    I didn't think this was as good as the original. But, of course, it's a Burton film. It really didn't deserve a PG rating and really bothered me the first time I watched it!

  • December 29, 2010 movieman928
    Report This User

    Good movie. Not incredible, but good.

  • December 22, 2010 HancockJohnShe
    Report This User

    I HATED IT!

  • November 14, 2010 richswhitney
    Report This User

    For those of you who are not afraid to dream and have the courage to pursue them this "Looking through the looking glass" makes them real enough to make them come true. After all ... isn't what this movie about confronting our dragons, slaying them and living the life we always dreamed of living? Anything else would be less than who we are I would think or believe. To all the dreamers in this world I bequest this wonderful movie to who are not afraid to make their dreams come true.

  • October 03, 2010 Dragonfjtt
    Report This User

    Love this movie it was awsome

  • August 10, 2010 Lil mikey 1012
    Report This User

    Not that great of a movie. I mean the dialogue and acting was good, Johnny Depp wasnt bad as the Mad Hatter. The effects were so overrated and rediculously stupid. The wierdness of this movie is what makes it so bad. Tim Burton is a great director, but I think he didn't do as good in this film as he did in Sweeny Todd or Batman or Planet of the Apes. The ending action, war fight between Alice, The Red Queens army, the White Queens army, and the big dragon thing was really bad. The CGI messed up the entire scene, the dragon was cool until it talks which ruined everything. If the dragon wouldnt have talked it wouldve been A LITTLE better. Overall the film was OKAY. Not close to a good movie, an okay movie.

  • June 21, 2010 Taltykids
    Report This User

    one word:auful

  • June 16, 2010 TREVERNSABRINA
    Report This User

    OHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH my god Johnny Depp is soooooooooooooooooooooooo hott in this movie i could cry .

  • June 13, 2010 majozambrano
    Report This User

    I really liked it... still think some characters may sacare kids. But after all great movie! :D

`

similar movies

  • Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (2005)

  • Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (2001)

  • The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (2005)

  • Hugo (2011)

  • Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X