Skip to main content

reviews

39
Based on 23 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 94 )
  • 25
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    A movie that features a cartoon rodent eating his brother's feces, and do you really need to know more about this update of Ross Bagdasarian's iconic musical creation? show more

  • 38
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The movie is devoid of laughs, except for a mildly funny segment when one of the chipmunks inhales helium. And since this is aimed at the under-10 set, it includes the requisite flatulence joke and a spit take or two. show more

  • 50
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Ultimately, the values and the CGI are good, but the acting is broad and the chipmunks aren't really differentiated. What happened to Alvin, the rodent counterpart of Dennis the Menace? Was he declawed in the translation to CGI? show more

  • 38
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    If karma exists, Alvin and the Chipmunks must be Lee's punishment for appearing in the likes of "Jersey Girl." show more

  • 50
    Frank Scheck The Hollywood Reporter

    Unfortunately, as rendered here by the average-looking CGI effects, the characters are underwhelming in their appeal, lacking the charm of their previous animated incarnations. show more

  • 63
    Premiere

    At times funny, and even occasionally witty, Alvin and the Chipmunks is a lively, entertaining romp that will certainly bring smiles to the young ones this holiday season. show more

  • 50
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    About as good as a movie with these characters can probably be, and I am well aware that I am the wrong audience for this movie. show more

  • 50
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    So it’s one of those Hip, Now updates, albeit with jokes riffing on pop-cult artifacts that are already Then. I mean: “Jerry Maguire”? Moratorium! show more

  • 50
    Ken Fox TV Guide

    They’re baaaaack. show more

  • 50
    Stephen Cole The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    As for children's entertainment needs, well, having seen both "The Golden Compass" and Alvin and the Chipmunks with a full theatre of four- to 12-year-olds, this reviewer is honour-bound to report that Alvin wins the kids' vote, paws down. show more

  • December 17, 2011 Dry Master
    Report This User

    Sensational story and brilliant music! Great!

  • February 21, 2010 maxicarras8
    Report This User

    funny movie

  • March 28, 2009 Amazingcrystal
    Report This User

    the movie was very great i love the Chipmunks , they are so cute i have on dvd

  • December 05, 2008 Videogamepro79
    Report This User

    I really had my doubts for this movie but I was surprised. This movie is actually not that bad. I gave it a 3 star rating because I love the story and music. They remade "Witch Doctor" and "The Chipmunk Song (Christmas Don't Be Late)" and I have to say that they are way better than the older versions. Plus, they added some new songs which aren't that great but they are catchy. I was disapointed with the humor in the movie. I thought that it was going to be more funny than it is. Other than that it was a pretty decent movie and it sure one to watch.

  • July 31, 2008 gary edwin schne
    Report This User

    I loved this movie, it was great, better than expected, Here's a tip for you nay-sayers, don't caatch the movie on a twin bill with Shindler's List. Yes, it is not deep, but quite wonderful.

  • May 22, 2008 psorjuanaines
    Report This User

    Because I am a mother and I love it, I love it ,I love it!!!!!!!!!

  • May 22, 2008 love11421
    Report This User

    PLEASE DONT READ THIS!!! U WILL GET KISSED AT THE NEAREST POSSIBLE FRIDAY BY THE LOVE OF UR LIFE HOWEVER IF U DONT PPOST THIS ON AT LEAST THREE VIDEOS U WILL DIE IN 2 DAYS NOW THAT UV STARTED READIN DONT SPOT NOW. THIS IS SO SCARY SEND THIS TO AT LEAST 5 VIDEOS IN143 MINUTES AND UR CRUSHES NAMES WILL APPEAR ON THE SCREEN IN BIG LETTERS THIS IS SO SCARY CAUSE IT ACTUALLY WORKS

  • May 22, 2008 fairydust969
    Report This User

    what is the little disc inside the the movie case do?

  • May 22, 2008 archangel1802
    Report This User

    first to the critics, GET A REAL JOB, get out of the theaters, live life, then come back and try to enjoy a GOOD FAMILY FRIENDLY FILM (is that to many "fs" in one sentence- oh well)second to the parents: if your children do not the difference beteen reality and fiction it is your own fault not the media and if you don't understand the difference between imagination and delusion then you have a lot to learn yourself.this is an AWSOME MOVIE, great for any age. the characters as well as the music appeals to both the young and the young at heart. too many people have been corrupted by the profanity, sex, and violence of movies to appreciate a truley clean addorable film.PS. to the admins of this site, check your postings, i think you have a bug in the system that is capturing reviews from other sites.

  • May 22, 2008 lejla
    Report This User

    This movie was Awsome! those critics are sooo wrong about this movie it is humorous and fun to watch. My father who doesnt really like animated creatures Loved Alvin, Simon, and Theadore. Kids, Teens and Adults will fall in love with it.they dont make alot of movies this good for all ages. 2 thumbs WAY UP! also the real score it deserves is 99 out of a hundred.

`

similar movies

  • G-Force (2009)

  • Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Squeakquel (2009)

  • Garfield: The Movie (2004)

  • Muppets Most Wanted (2014)

  • Racing Stripes (2005)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X