Skip to main content

reviews

65
Based on 29 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 16 )
  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Anyone who has ever felt morally right and completely in the minority will have a point of entry into this movie. show more

  • 70
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    A case of good works done well. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Apted opts not to show the horrendous cruelty inflicted on thousands upon thousands of captive Africans, shackled and chained, making their way to the Americas in ships. Instead, he has Wilberforce and his fellow abolitionists describe the inhumane conditions - in the precise, passionate language of legislators who believe that human decency is more important than money and power. show more

  • 75
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    Compelling and highly informative. show more

  • 88
    Lawrence Toppman Charlotte Observer

    The movie is the usual kind of film biography of a respected figure from the distant past - honorable, oversimplified, handsome. show more

  • 75
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    Apted delivers a fine, righteous climax and packs his film with some of Britain's best character actors. show more

  • 75
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    This is the British way to mingle ideas and entertainment. show more

  • 75
    Maitland McDonagh TV Guide

    A workmanlike piece of storytelling elevated by fine performances. show more

  • 63
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    It's disappointing that so much talent has been assembled with so little to do. show more

  • 63
    Rick Groen The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    What's missing, in the direction no less than the script, is any real sense of dramatic urgency. show more

  • May 22, 2008 eddieinalbq
    Report This User

    WARNING: this is the most BORING movie to come along in years. Enough said.

  • May 22, 2008 kleinamarie
    Report This User

    I thought this was the best movie to come along in a long time. The characters are developed well and the scenery and music are beautiful. The story is moving and inspirational. Go see this one!!!

  • May 22, 2008 budn01
    Report This User

    I liked this movie enough to want to see it again. There so many people who have no idea where that song Amazing Grace came from. The movie inspired me to go to my local library and get the biography of the ex slave mention in the film. I can only pray this movie will inspire some Politian to stand up and DO THE RIGHT THING not just see which way the crowd is blowing.

  • May 22, 2008 stevensonsr8
    Report This User

    I was totally moved by this movie. People that have seen this movie and say that it is boring are wrong. You must have a heart of stone. Being a person of color, which really should not have anything to do with this, I was truly impressed. My son attended Central State University, which is across the stree from Wilberforce University in Ohio. I was so happy to find the true meaning behind the man, William Wilberforce. Thumbs up for this movie message well taken.

  • May 22, 2008 lttltrrpnm
    Report This User

    This story shouldn't be forgotten. Many missed seeing this movie and will never know the "true facts" of the ending of Slavery. John Newton had slave ships, had became a Christian later in life, and wrote the song, "AMAZING GRACE". Through the inspiration of his grandfather (John), William Wilberforce put in action the ending of slavery which John was not able to do during his time in life. I truly thank the Director for taking the time to "continue" the story of John Newton through his grandson. It was a very good presentation. MEH

  • May 22, 2008 vlewkow
    Report This User

    What could have been a compelling story, because it was based on an historical event, had all the sophistication of an After School Special. Don't go to see this if you are a frequent movie-goer; you'll be bored. Better to pick up a good history book and read about William Wilberforce and his noble mission to outlaw the slave trade in 19th century England.

  • May 22, 2008 linaka85
    Report This User

    I just came from watching this movie, in a theater, attended by adults. At the end, everyone applauded. It was "wonderful", and we were so pleased to see how it followed actual events. Yes, it is based on HISTORY, moving and entertaining. The people who said it was boring, have to be shallow, with the need to be constantly entertained. Well worth your time and money !

  • May 22, 2008 ljntom
    Report This User

    Without trying to be melodramatic - this movie changed my life. The African-American leadership should sit up and take notice and support it. The acting was incredible. The theme was honest, yet tastefully portrayed and the 2nd them of grace that ran through it because of John Newton's conversion was absolutely breathtaking. We should all thank God for His grace.

  • May 22, 2008 jmetaxas
    Report This User

    This is truely a MUST SEE movie. Where is Oprah Windfrey and the other Afro-American leaders? They should be standing up and cheering this movie.

  • May 22, 2008 Happy Person!!!
    Report This User

    I went to see this film with the impression that this was going to be a "snore bore." Boy was I wrong!!!! It just goes to show you that the Hollywood film reviewers have definitely lost their touch in knowing what's good and what's not good. I am SO GLAD I went to see this movie.Bravo Michael Apted, and to the cast....job well done.

`

similar movies

  • Black Nativity (2013)

  • Belle (2013)

  • Fed Up (2014)

  • Million Dollar Arm (2014)

  • Grace Unplugged (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X