Skip to main content

reviews

63
Based on 41 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 36 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    The story has been filmed many times, but never with this kind of erotic charge. Knightley is glorious, her eyes blazing with a carnal yearning that can turn vindictive at any perceived slight. show more

  • 25
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    You know there is something seriously wrong with Anna Karenina when you start rooting for the train. show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Though energetic, daring and gorgeous to behold, this re-imagining of Tolstoy's classic tale lacks a viable sense of passion, holding the characters at arm's length and glossing over social issues. show more

  • 40
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    This latest iteration of the Tolstoy classic was clearly the product of audacious thinking, stylishly applied. Still, the thinking was as wrongheaded as it was hollow-hearted. Yet another elaborate production chases its audience away. show more

  • 60
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    The film's structure is so boldly conceived it seems unfair to focus on flaws. But the central problem is undeniable: There is no chemistry whatsoever between the leads. show more

  • 50
    Todd McCarthy The Hollywood Reporter

    Dazzlingly designed and staged in a theatrical setting so as to suggest that the characters are enacting assigned roles in life, this tight and pacy telling of a 900 page-plus novel touches a number of its important bases but lacks emotional depth, moral resonance and the simple ability to allow its rich characters to experience and drink deeply of life. show more

  • 65
    Ella Taylor NPR

    Inner life comes hard to Knightley, and she never gets a grip on the mounting emotional turmoil that threatens to crush Anna as she progresses from stylish young hipster-about-town to kept woman to bereft mother to paranoid social pariah. show more

  • 65
    Movieline

    Scripted by playwright Tom Stoppard, the film labors to fit Tolstoy's sprawling story into its two hour and ten minute runtime by drawing its characters with minimal lines. show more

  • 100
    Ann Hornaday Washington Post

    While Wright's self-conscious theatricality and dollhouse aesthetic conjure comparisons to Baz Luhrmann and Wes Anderson, he outstrips both those filmmakers in moral seriousness and maturity. show more

  • 75
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    Wright's film is visually stimulating to be sure, but he never loses sight of the raw human emotions that make Anna Karenina a classic. show more

  • January 23, 2014 okielas
    Report This User

    Anyone who likes artsy movies should love this one. I was at first confused by the format, then mezmorized by it. I loved the expanding stage. The acting in it was wonderful by all.

  • August 19, 2013 favantjaq
    Report This User

    Although I love the actors, the music and the costumes everything else was in shambles. The idea of presenting the story as a sort of \"Stage Play\" was very bizarre although the producers and directors probably considered it creative. They failed and the movie was slow moving and boring.

  • May 29, 2013 ljon777
    Report This User

    Awful. Tolstoy would be horrified. Superficial, and in some ways unsuccessful even there. I could not connect with any of the characters. The only two redeeming features were the music and Jude Law, who someone came out of it heroic, when in the book he was odious.

  • March 28, 2013 trudy
    Report This User

    There is no arguing that Jude Law and Keira Knightley are fantastic actors but I cried for them in this shambles of Leo Tolstoy\'s classic, one of the most passionate tragic stories ever written. Whoever decided to portray it this way, the director maybe? or screen writer?, should be shot.

  • February 25, 2013 ANDY
    Report This User

    My wife and I attend at least one movie per week, and enjoy a wide variety of themes and topics. This movie is so bad that we walked out after 20 minutes. WHAT A LOAD OF PRETENTIOUS CRAP. Leo Tolstoy\'s classic work is absolutly ruined. From the opening scene it\'s a jumbled mess, and it rushes straight downhill after that. Not even worth the price of a rental.

  • January 18, 2013 jo00000000135580
    Report This User

    Opps forgot to give it a star and add that watching the green paint dry in St. Petersburg Florida in the 1960's was more entertaining and less painfull than watching this film. It has been a week and still can't believe I did not walk out. I guess I was hoping against hope that it would redeem....

  • January 12, 2013 twalsh4440
    Report This User

    I loved it. Keira\'s acting was fantastic. I really felt for her. Jude perfect.

  • January 04, 2013 mx00000000134466
    Report This User

    Beautiful Costumes, Grand Set Design, adequate acting for some, better for others. Not a bad way to spend a night with your gals watching a movie.

  • December 21, 2012 Horace
    Report This User

    Excellent artistic achievement, acting. and directing Packs an emotional wallop. Great movie. Certainly Academy nominations. Apparently too creative for some people to enjoy. I guess that is why they walked out, to go see American Idol.

  • December 19, 2012 rpoll1095
    Report This User

    This was without question one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Between the overblown cinematography, disjointed editing, and completely lame writing, it was barely watchable! The idea of blending this story as a stage play and movie does not work. The constant back and forth between styles does nothing to advance the story or the interest. The acting is uneven and unconvincing....you find yourself not much caring about any of the characters so richly drawn by Tolstoy. I should really have asked for my money back, it was that bad. It would need a 200% improvement for me to even rate the 1 star I was forced to give it!

`

similar movies

  • Vanity Fair (2004)

  • The Wings of the Dove (1997)

  • Jane Eyre (2011)

  • Les Misérables (2012)

  • The Invisible Woman (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X