Skip to main content

reviews

64
Based on 32 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 39 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Appaloosa is gripping entertainment that keeps springing surprises. show more

  • 75
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    Most of the time, the movie is appropriately gritty and plenty engaging. show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Harris is a major asset in a film that is entertaining but somewhat unfocused and occasionally badly cast. show more

  • 40
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Mannered, episodic and slow. show more

  • 75
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    First and last, Appaloosa is the slow-but-sure story of the friendship between Virgil and Everett, one a man of action surprised by emotion, the other a man of emotion surprised by action. show more

  • 60
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Though the leads do fine work, their efforts often feel slightly futile. Despite a few flashes of the darker tone percolating under the surface, the movie remains too well-mannered to truly pull us in. show more

  • 80
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    A fine dramatic comedy with fresh characters, witty dialogue and a keen interest in how relationships must have developed among frontier folks, tyrannical ranchers, no-nonsense lawmen and -- oh, yes -- the complicated women on that frontier. show more

  • 88
    Michael Sragow Baltimore Sun

    Goes down like a single-malt aged for 25 years. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    What makes the movie absorbing is the way it harmonizes all the character strands and traits and weaves them into something more engaging than a mere 1-2-3 plot. I felt like I did in "Lonesome Dove" -- that there was a chair for me on the porch. show more

  • 75
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    It turns out to be a satisfying, if occasionally wandering, adventure. show more

  • October 04, 2010 Leslie Burger
    Report This User

    Best western I've seen since Tombstone. Definitely worth the watch. I loved it!

  • February 14, 2009 Dmsusps
    Report This User

    This was one of the best Western movies I have seen in quite awhile. Ed Harris and Viggo Mortensen were both exceptional in their roles, especially Mortensen. He looked every bit the part of a Western gun slinger in the untamed west. If you're looking for a shoot em up wild west movie, this is probably not the movie for you, but if you just enjoy an honest to goodness old style Western you will not be disappointed.

  • January 15, 2009 Murphy's Ranch
    Report This User

    OOPPSSS .. 5 stars from us!

  • January 03, 2009 mattsci
    Report This User

    Not too much happens in the Old Western Town of Appaloosa. Sure, people get shot and drunk and punched and pay for female companionship and break people out of jail and a whole lot more, but generally speaking, not a lot happens in Appaloosa. That is not to say this film is boring. For my tastes, this movie verged on being great, but ultimately too much in the detail was left out for it to break beyond a simple good movie. The town is being run over by Rancher Randall Bragg, played with a flair by Jeremy Irons and played quite well, however he seems to have taken too much of a liking to the outstanding performance of Daniel Day Lewis in There Will Be Blood, and I could not get past it the entire movie. Along to save the day are Virgil Cole (Ed Harris) and Everett Hitch (Viggo Mortensen), two lawmen who, after being given the power to run things their way, do just that, and the town is slowly brought back to order. The arrival of Mrs. Allison French (Renee Zellweger) adds some interesting character development to the two men watching over the town, particularly to Cole who quickly falls for her womanly charms like he has never done before. Zellweger’s character, though frankly played very annoyingly early on, actually redeems herself later on by becoming a much more complex role that adds multiple layers to the underlying story. Throughout the movie there are the slow, sweeping scenes of a dead town and the long, drawn out silences that accompany men who do this type of work. Fair warning to all who do not enjoy slow-paced movies without a lot of bang, relying more on characters and substance, for this movie is not for you. For my money, though, Harris and Mortensen more than make up for the price of admission, and by the end of the film I feel like both roles were developed nicely and left me with a feeling that the film was complete. To be sure, there were quite a few shaky edits and plot holes that left me feeling a bit bewildered, but overall I enjoyed the genre and the performances.

  • December 30, 2008 JEDI2SYTH
    Report This User

    The last movie I walked out on was Driven with stallone. I must say without a doubt this movie was the worst piece of misdirected crap I have wasted money on since then. Apart from the dialogue that wandered in and out of comprehension from time to time, what I could not stand was renee zelwegger (sp?) would not stop smiling the whole damn time! Even when her life was in danger she looked like she was trying to hold back a laugh. Worst acting ever.

  • November 11, 2008 RollingFan11560
    Report This User

    It started out great.......But it went downhill from there. Bad directing and writing. I was looking at my watch a few times ,which is a bad sign when you go the movies.

  • October 29, 2008 kcarson88
    Report This User

    what a great old style western. how anyone could not enjoy this motion picture is beyond me. great story, acting, photography, etc. i will see it again.

  • October 26, 2008 kinksfan64
    Report This User

    It started good and then just died a very slow death. Not enough action and too many words spoken...save your hard earned money and wait for cable

  • October 24, 2008 MSPD Malta
    Report This User

    Ed Harris and Viggo Mortensen was a good pairing up. Their on-screen professional relationship/friendship was deep and believable. This was a character driven film more than it being a western with a lot of action. It was enjoyable to watch.

  • October 19, 2008 SHAWNGON
    Report This User

    If you like westerns, buddy movies, pay back movies, good vs evil, then this is for you. If you appreciate using your brain, this was a great movie. It was well balanced, had some comic relief which was appropriate and not forced. The characters interacted really well and the dialogue flowed smoothly. Ed Harris and V. Mortensen were great together. It was visually captivating and held my attention throughout. It did not insult my intelligence. I was pleased with the my choice of seeing this movie and actually felt like I got my money's worth (which I seldom do nowadays.) Bravo! I really wanted to see more.

`

similar movies

  • 3:10 to Yuma (2007)

  • Unforgiven (1992)

  • Hidalgo (2004)

  • Dances With Wolves (1990)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X