Skip to main content

reviews

64
Based on 26 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 8 )
  • 50
    San Francisco Chronicle

    Makes an unpersuasive case that humans are to blame for the shrinking ice caps. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Whatever problems some might have with its execution, it's hard to argue against a film whose intent is to kindle youthful compassion for living things and inspire action to protect Earth and its creatures. show more

  • 60
    Wall Street Journal

    The impact of Arctic Tale is blunted by its length (it feels long at 85 minutes) and by its script. show more

  • 63
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    The flat narration by Queen Latifah doesn't help, but Adam Ravetch and his wife Sarah Robertson's nature film, Arctic Tale, fails to inspire the kind of rapturous response we felt for "March of the Penguins" for other reasons. show more

  • 70
    The Hollywood Reporter

    Spectacular photography of the frigid domain of polar bears, walruses and seals is the chief attraction of Arctic Tale. show more

  • 75
    Peter Debruge Miami Herald

    Make no mistake, Arctic Tale is a stunning film, full of all the astonishing, even breathtaking nature photography we've come to expect from the folks at National Geographic. show more

  • 75
    Ken Fox TV Guide

    For all the impending doom, the film remains suitable for kids of all ages (the filmmakers even end on a happily reassuring note that is at odds with the film's overall message). show more

  • 75
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    Arctic Tale has a very precise audience in mind: Young children who aren't yet ready for the graphs and sociopolitical alarm bells of "An Inconvenient Truth." show more

  • 75
    Premiere

    It’s a playful study of Arctic life, starring a polar bear cub, its prey, and a tagalong fox -- with the inevitable dramatic moments when bear meets walrus. show more

  • 75
    Lawrence Toppman Charlotte Observer

    It plucks ceaselessly at our heartstrings to play a sad song indeed. show more

  • July 30, 2009 Sweetrose
    Report This User

    Music superstar Queen Latifah is so "right on the money", about nature preservation. She narrates this documentation of our Earth's dwindling resources; Such creatures as the seal and the polar bear, are vastly crowding together to find shelter and food. You feel for Nanu,and the other animals,as you watch them go through desperate struggles. The World belongs to us,as well as the living things around us. We should be considerate and conservative of our "blessings".

  • May 22, 2008 cynthiaminde
    Report This User

    I thought this was an Excellent movie. A total wake up call on what is really happening. Beautiful photography of how the Artic is and lives. One film I would rate a thumbs up and pass on to others to watch.

  • May 22, 2008 rforstot
    Report This User

    Not very many vendors and the ones that are there are high priced

  • May 22, 2008 gabenovotny
    Report This User

    I really wanted to see this movie, only because I love animals. When I found out that this movie was centered on the hoax of global warming, I decided not to see it.A headline in the Nov. 2, 1922 edition of The Washington Post reads: "Arctic Ocean Getting Warm; Seals Vanish and Icebergs Melt." This was one of several articles from this era about "global warming" discovered in the Library of Congress.The arctic was melting even before global warming existed...hmm...interesting. The arctic was just as warm, if not warmer, than it is now back in the 1930's, but what does that matter. The earth is in an interglacial, it is supposed to be warming.

  • May 22, 2008 coventrypam
    Report This User

    What happened at the end was really big. The fact that Auntie gave life to both youngsters was really huge. It showed me how interconnected we all are---even in nature. I appreciated that they cut the camera just in time to get the point across. The hardships that the animals in the wild face show me how soft and easy my life is. I am inspired by their strength and courage. My husband and I both enjoyed this movie.

  • May 22, 2008 wendysnindy
    Report This User

    we took 5 kids between the ages of 5 and 10.half way thru my 5 year old said "this is a terrible movie!"3 of our 5 kids disliked the movie. The plight of global warming went over all their heads.it was much to much of the chain of life for 2 of them to handle.had I known we would never have seen it.I haven't seen march of the penguins and am too annoyed to see the inconvient truth.(and didnt know the co-conspired) - we would NEVER had seen this movie.no matter your convictions - make sure your young kids can handle killing and the blood of them tearing apart the animals that you have just followed for the last hour!!

  • May 22, 2008 parrl4
    Report This User

    it is at Harkins Camelview theatres next Scottsdale fashion Mall . Were all the good movie are ! going to see it tomorrow !

  • May 22, 2008 crlsst
    Report This User

    First of all, this Masterpiece Theatre production is without question, an indisputably stylishly memorable and emotionally moving re-telling of the Bronte classic Jane Eyre fondly recalled from junior high English literature. Aesthetically, it is triumphantly successful in offering palatial castle views, babbling brooks, lushly green foliage, idyllic wildlife and heartfelt montage dream sequences that feel far too real. Picturesque picnics abound in this re-telling of a story that has been revisited by numerous filmmakers and yet in my humble opinion, not quite so imaginatively and certainly not as romantically. It is clear the female director took a little more liberty with the characters' displays of affection towards one another as young women during this era would have behaved a little more chastely let us say even when faced with the temptations being offered by the ever so miscast Mr. Toby Stephens, who is extremely underrated as an actor. Rochester as described by Bronte, is not supposed to be extremely pleasing to the eye but then again, in the world of thespians, it is difficult to find "plain" people, I suppose. Perhaps, the scenes featuring closer than close proximity of the two characters even at times during mere conversations in this positively heartwarming film, was to both create a sense of intimacy for the viewer as well as offer a more 21st century modernized perspective that quite honestly was considerably less lukewarm than the typical Victorian approach that has been exhibited in numerous earlier film versions of the novel. Toby Stephens' depiction of the moody and morose Edward Rochester, is exquisite perfection beyond measure. Whether it this talented chap's enigmatic demeanor or the tender expressions that render a usually gruff soul lovable, this film is unforgettable.

similar movies

  • March of the Penguins (2005)

  • Animals Are Beautiful People (1974)

  • Bears (2014)

  • Island of Lemurs: Madagascar (2014)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X