Skip to main content

reviews

63
Based on 33 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 15 )
  • 75
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    The similarity between the children is the most striking part of the movie. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    The contrast in lifestyles is striking, and I suppose one of the themes that Babies is trying to get at is that despite chasm-wide economic and societal differences, infants are really all the same. show more

  • 50
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    So after about an hour of watching four children eat, bathe and crawl, you might start to wonder why you've paid to see somebody else's home movies. show more

  • 70
    Sheri Linden The Hollywood Reporter

    As a portrait of children who are wanted and loved, it's intimate and often delightful. show more

  • 65
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    The point of Babies, to the extent that it has one beyond allowing us to revel in unstoppable baby cuteness, is to underscore that infants everywhere are more similar than they are different, regardless of what country they’re born and raised in. show more

  • 70
    NPR

    Of course, there's no need to overthink it: If you just want to watch a baby respond to the arrival of a rooster in his bed with perfect comic timing, Babies is the movie to see. show more

  • 100
    Rick Groen The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    Observant and funny and thoughtful too, powered exclusively by vérité footage without a word of narration, Babies is William Blake’s Infant Joy brought to rich cinematic life. show more

  • 88
    Mike Scott New Orleans Times-Picayune

    It's a lovely bit of blood-pressure-lowering cinema that never betrays its simple conceit. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Just babies. Wonderful. show more

  • 75
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    Sweet, amusing little film. show more

  • October 18, 2010 rikrubin
    Report This User

    nicely done. the team has gone to a lot of trouble in making this, as is evident throughout. stunning scenery too. worth watching on a sunday afternoon.

  • July 04, 2010 SheiKu3
    Report This User

    I don't understand what was "hippie" about the way Hattie was being raised? I thought she was being raised as most progressive Amerrican couples aspire to raise their infants today, who wouldn't want to be the child of those well prepared, well balanced mature parents? . I am a 52 year old Grandmother and volunteer child advocate I found the movie to be utterly compelling. I found it to be artfully beautiful as well ~~ I was moved to tears more than once,. I went alone and then I couldn't stop talking about this film to my husband and friends! The movie afforded me a windw into other cultures that made me feel as if my world had been richly enlarged with every moment of every scene. Like a really good book, I was sad when it ended, I wanted more. I'm going again.

  • June 15, 2010 dvalentine629ish
    Report This User

    I saw this movie with my daughter and her husband. We loved it. We spent the rest of the day talking about it. I loved the contrast between the cultures. It made me think about how concerned I was about just about EVERYTHING when my babies were little. This movie points out that babies grow, learn, survive, etc in many different lifestyles and climates. You could easily take 4 babies in the USA and the contrast would be phenomenal. I think they did a wonderful job of contrasting and comparing. In a very entertaining way. I highly recommend this movie. And not just to women.

  • June 05, 2010 EarthGoddess246
    Report This User

    This Movie is worth seiing.

  • May 25, 2010 ZS AND ME
    Report This User

    I'm a 42yr old felmale who saw Babies with my daughter & her female friend both 10 yrs old. The USA baby Hattie IS NOT RAISED like USA babies. Hippy babies maybe, just not most babies. Movie was (okay) kind of boring. My daughter & her friend liked the babies & that was it. The naked people in the movie are part of life & didn't bother us. Bottom line, I thaught it WAS NOT worth the amont of money paid to see it. Okay movie, if it were cheaper or free.

  • May 18, 2010 Pietro di Giro
    Report This User

    From and older male: Babies can be wondeful in person but on film their spiritual energy doesn't come through. So this movie is a sentimental trip meant for women. Fortunately it was one of a dozen choices at the multiplex. I left after a half hour.

  • May 16, 2010 Beavre
    Report This User

    This movie was so great my wife had to wake me up several times. If I wanted to watch a home movie I would watch my own, not 4 at the same time.

  • May 16, 2010 Alex 678
    Report This User

    wake up thats how 1/2 of the planet grew up nothing wrong in the movie why it is disqusting????? ask your parents about their childhood

  • May 15, 2010 emailtristan
    Report This User

    Cool movie, it's like being a fly on the wall watching some babies grow up, just observing, no narrative needed. It's all very self explanatory. Don't listen to anyone whining about how gross or disgusting this movie is. Unless you are HIGHLY squeamish about breastfeeding, anything that might be considered gross is such a minor background detail and lasts for such a short time it's hardly noticed unless you are looking for it. My mom and I enjoyed it.

  • May 14, 2010 Margaret Opine
    Report This User

    4* BABIES HAS INTRINSIC VALUE. IT'S LIKE SITTING IN THE LIVING ROOM WITH A LOT OF RELATIVES WATCHING HOME-MOVIES ABOUT 'OUR' FAMILY, THE HUMAN FAMILY, STARTING WITH BEING A BABY. We are all conceived and made the same and we all come down the vaginal canal, per se: ceceraian included, but the moment we hit air that's when we begin to experience differences. Humans do things differently around the earth yet highly the same. Some ************* do not produce long-life. NOTE: When you see this movie, thnk...how hard it is to *********. Think how far away water is from some people. THE MOVIE IS A SOMEWHAT CLEAR EXPRESSION OF WHAT HUMAN LIFE IS AROUND THE PLANET AND HOW MUCH CULTURAL IDEALS MEAN and how much good "ideas" mean, period. I noticed that the African mothers looked like young girls. BABIES is a film. I will buy it on video and hope to find more like it. I hope they do a BABIES 2 and do an intertwine with babies born in America and around the world, maybe, but not an ethnocentric view, but just a view, maybe. I think BABIES gave us some important information. ---MO

`

similar movies

  • Food, Inc. (2008)

  • An Inconvenient Truth (2006)

  • Watermark (2013)

  • Fed Up (2014)

  • Muscle Shoals (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X