Skip to main content

reviews

26
Based on 30 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 93 )
  • 25
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    It's a dreadful exercise, tin-eared and sincere, bereft of any truth or inspiration. show more

  • 25
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    It's so derivative, unfunny and thuddingly bad that it's one of the more cringe-inducing movies of a genre chock-full of clunkers. show more

  • NA
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    This film bespeaks a truly startling mistrust of the movie audience, and, what's more, a disrespect for the feature film medium. Yes, of course it was conceived as an unpretentious entertainment pitched mainly to girls and young women. Yet that doesn't explain the nightmarish quality of the finished product. show more

  • 50
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Because I Said So might have been sharper if it had focused on the mother/daughter relationship and didn't blunt its story with romantic comedy. show more

  • 50
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    Keaton is so over-the-top, so loud and so physically animated that when Daphne develops a case of laryngitis mid-way through the movie, it's as if a neighbor's car alarm has finally been shut down. However, in those silent moments, when Daphne is communicating with notes, you realize how much you like this actress. show more

  • 60
    Sheri Linden The Hollywood Reporter

    Amongst the cardboard-cutout supporting characters, Lauren Graham brings a welcome deadpan sensibility to the overeager proceedings. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Despite being rooted firmly in "chick flick" territory (with a high "cuteness" index), it has the capacity to please to viewers of both genders who appreciate the genre. show more

  • 38
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Formulaic romantic junk. show more

  • 38
    Angel Cohn TV Guide

    Overall, Graham and Perabo have so little to do that it's hard to imagine why Maggie has three daughters instead of one; they just clutter up her screen time. As to Perabo, she seems to exist for the sole purpose of making risque remarks, and the family dog has more memorable moments. show more

  • 25
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    The search for true love is the backbone of romantic comedy as well as the lifeblood of match.com, but this film's clumsy, completely inauthentic portrayal of it is handled in a shockingly tedious fashion. show more

  • May 22, 2008 musicrose05
    Report This User

    It has its flaws, but what doesn't? I didn't care for it too much, but it was funny at times. I watch it every once in a while.

  • May 22, 2008 paulstonelake
    Report This User

    The essential quality of this movie is expressed by its failure to provide an appropriate scene between mother and daughter upon the daughter's discovery that her mother has been secretly manipulating daughter's personal life. That behavior can either be presented in a slap-stick format or can be addressed seriously. There is no in between. To the extent that people actually behave like this, they are crazy. The movie seems to say that they are OK, just a little hyped up about what happened to them. Listen, if you treat your kids the way D.Keaton does in this movie, you should be the object of a restraining order, denying any contact with your kids.! Parents who behave this way are sick; offspring who put up with this kind of parenting are living in a psychological bear trap.

  • May 22, 2008 napoleont2000
    Report This User

    With a collection of very talented actors, I decided to wonder WHY or HOW it could be SO BAD.I concluded the writing had to be the primary cause followed closely by the directing.The dialog is so boiler plated telegraphed it is putrid. So how could the director subscribe to it? I dont know.Then why wouldn't Diane Keeton and Mandy just walk off and say I cant do this - must be contracts.I hoped for something anything - then nothing scene after scene. It looked like a struggle to deliver the scenes. It should have been a take off of the original movie on SNL.Please god tell me this is NOT what sells today. thank god it was rated 37 out of 100. Sorry but the writer and director need to reevaluate why they are in this business.

  • May 22, 2008 inamorata05
    Report This User

    This movie serioius disappointed me. Not to blow it for anyone who hasn't seen it, but the ending was just ridiculous. I don't understand why the relationship with Dianne and Johnny's dad had to completely bloom and result in their marriage. Doesn't that make Milly (mandy's character) and Johnny step brother and sister? So how can they continue their relationship if their parents are married to each other? I just thought that was really stupid. I figure that was just added to give a twist to the movie, but it all seemed silly to me. Daphne's whole point in the movie was to find love for her daughter and she ends up marrying her daughters love interest's dad! Thats crazy!

  • May 22, 2008 Girlie9191
    Report This User

    I thought this movie was cute. Sure Diane Keaton and Mandy Moore were overacting throughout the whole movie but it's a fluffy girlie movie, what do you expect. I didn't expect Oscar worthy performances. Girls you will fall in love with Gabriel Macht. He is so hot in this movie, kind of unknown actor. He should be in more movies as lead. Watch this movie for the cuteness.

  • May 22, 2008 tizighteliyy
    Report This User

    DUDE, THIS IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE MOVIES OF ALL TIME! MANDY MOORE IS A GREAT ACTRESS! HER STYLES CUTE, I LOVE IT! THE COSTUMES WERE GREAT AND EVERYTHING! NOW, I WANNA BE A CHEF! =) rent this movie!

  • May 22, 2008 stella3162
    Report This User

    The acting is horrible, the script is worse. There are some really raunchy parts. And it is a lame attempt to capitalize on the success of Somethings Gotta Give and throw in Failure to Launch and Hitch. The combination is horrible and Diane Keaton should be ashamed of herself by participating in such a bad production!!!

  • May 22, 2008 cutebutpsych00
    Report This User

    I loved this movie!!!!!!! It left me wanting to see more. I was bummed when it was over, and I didn't get to see them get married! I want to see it again. I definitely recommend this movie! It was awesome!

  • May 22, 2008 ssmcnerney
    Report This User

    Dont listen to the retarded reviews this is like my new fave movie!!!!! i love it just see it an i know u will to!

  • May 22, 2008 ldk
    Report This User

    absolutely loved every minute of this movie. Everyone was laughing outloud. It is a movie you can watch over and over again. definitely worth the $$ to see it. You won't be dissapointed

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X