Skip to main content

reviews

59
Based on 35 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 52 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Zemeckis springs so many pow 3-D surprises you'll think Beowulf is your own private fun house. show more

  • 50
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    As for Beowulf itself, it's all about the visuals, which means that as soon as the novelty of 3-D wears off, the experience has been had. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Beowulf couldn't be less faithful to the original epic poem, and that's actually a good thing for moviegoers. It's a lot more fun than the mythic adventure most of us read in school. show more

  • 70
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Beowulf deserves to be taken semiseriously; its eye candy is mixed with narrative fiber and dramatic protein. But it begs to be taken frivolously. Effects have grown so exciting in the realm of the third dimension that you just sit there all agog behind your polarizing glasses. show more

  • 50
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Zemeckis, who blazed trails mixing live-action with animation in "Who Framed Roger Rabbit," blazes not even a footpath here. show more

  • 63
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    As dazzling a feast for the eyes as the hungriest eyes can take. show more

  • 70
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Director Robert Zemeckis not only deploys 21st century movie technology at its finest to turn the heroic poem into a vibrant, nerve-tingling piece of pop culture, but his film actually makes sense of Beowulf. In Zemeckis' hands, it's an intriguing look at a hero as a flawed human being. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    We are not looking at flesh-and-blood actors but special effects that look uncannily convincing, even though I am reasonably certain that Angelina Jolie does not have spike-heeled feet. That's right: feet, not shoes. show more

  • 75
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    Highly entertaining - but far from classic. show more

  • 75
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    Not all of it works - and not all of it works the way the target audience of jacked-up young males might want it to - but the movie is hugely provocative fun, and I'm pretty sure that's on purpose. show more

  • April 05, 2011 johnealexander1
    Report This User

    i liked it u morons!!!

  • May 22, 2008 srg5991
    Report This User

    this movie really stink the only good part is with Anglina Jolie the movie was so bad it put me to sleep i had to skipp some parts of the movie so i can stay awake the guy who made must been drunk or on drugs

  • May 22, 2008 leader745
    Report This User

    Previous reviewers are correct in comparing this to a video game. That is about its speed. The graphics were cheaply done, the story line was non-existant and the characters were poorly realized. Overall, a rip-off. I was bored after the first ten minutes.

  • May 22, 2008 obladidi
    Report This User

    Despite the opinions of learned AP high school kids and rabid fans of the groundbreaking Shrek trilogy, get to IMAX as soon as you're able. This movie will not win an Oscar or even a Golden Globe. And even though it has a PG-13 rating, you might have to leave the preacher at church and the infant at home. It is a beautifully violent experience, more akin to a thrill ride than a movie. True, the film is not accurate as per the original manuscript, but why should you care, as both versions represent two disparate mediums. The movie is more of an homage to the original story than a retelling of it. The plot is not the tightest, but honestly neither was the plot of the written version. Both tellings make their bones with action and Beowulf's unchecked badassery. So, if you're too pretentious or too stupid to enjoy Beowulf (the 3D version) maybe you internet dorks can hope to find a more accurate production, with Olde English verbage and a linear story, somewhere on YouTube; produced by, directed by, written by, and starring some 15-year-old blogger/filmmaker/retard.

  • May 22, 2008 geoffreygovan
    Report This User

    I was not impressed. I thought Shrek would make a cameo.

  • May 22, 2008 simmsqbjz
    Report This User

    I knew there was something weird about "Beowulf" from the 1st TV commercials, it looked like a cartoon. Well I was right and it is a BAD one. All the characters look like they're rejects from a bad "Shrek" movie. If you've seen, you will KNOW what a mean. The only person who actually looks a bit like themselves at times is Angela Jolie, I'm certain she made SURE that her character looked like her. The characters all have these unnatural looking faces and the funny thing is that the worst ones are ones based on the main cast. Beowulf himself has these big hands he waves about that again, look like they belong to Shrek. This was a long, tedious, boring and costly movie mistake on my part. I fell for the 3D and had to pay a whopping $8 for the matinee!!!! The glasses at least were way kewel. No cardboard bi-colored glasses here, these were like drugstore sunglasses. However, for the most part it was a waste. "Beowulf" makes about as little use of the 3D effects as possible and it is made glaringly obvious when you put your glasses on at the prompt. You get to see footage of an upcoming Tim Burton film where a needle is sewing the name of the movie and suddenly the needle comes right at you. There is footage of the 1st live action 3D movie, based on "Journey To The Center Of The Earth" and you know the effects will be fantastic in that film because the scenes you see are great. Finally, the creme de la creme a U2 concert in 3D!!!!! It looks remarkable. So, if you do have to see "Beowulf" because your friends want you to see it and they want to go to the 3D film, at least you know you'll get about 5-10 minutes of INCREDIBLE 3D effects, then you'll have to spend an ETERNITY waited for "Beowulf" to end. Arigatou, JZ

  • May 22, 2008 orange
    Report This User

    I hated this movie so much just thinking about it makes me sick. It was so stupid and even my dad felt strongly about how terrible it was. My friend thought Jolie was a guy rising out of the water and the one part where Beowulf went naked... O.o... It was funny and very very distracting/disturbing. And My dad and I brought along my little (annoying) 9 year old brother and it was not PG-13... My dad was so mad about that. Anyway, another thing that annoyed me was the ending. I was expecting a teary ending but nooooo... -.- stupid movie... And my friends went to see it and instead of watching the movie, they were... ya know... doing crazy stuff like truth or dare. It was so boring. And the animations were distracting and My little brother forced us to watch it in 3-D and I was getting really dizzy...

  • May 22, 2008 smooches2u68
    Report This User

    I wasn't expecting much from this movie, I just felt like seeing something uncomplicated and luckily, I was not disappointed. This movie had great potential, but fell terribly short. It's hard to put into words, but it was just boring and plain with no real meaning. When you think it may get interesting, it really didn't. This won't be a part of my DVD collection...

  • May 22, 2008 lonewolfvx
    Report This User

    Beowulf was crap. The beautiful animation type thing they did was nice but i didn't make the fact that the movie plot sucked. The worst thing of the movie was the ending. Stare down is not a way to end the movie. Also Angelina Joulee (if thats how you spell it was in it.) Her charachter was a Monster creature that takes the from of a women with a tail an she is nude. Yet when she is nude this gold liquid starts falling off her body parts to expose her but once it starts to she goes off screen an it comes back to her an the gold has come back. I meen come on. Then they should of made this move R instead of pg 13. I thought the 3-D was good but it could of been better. And that's the Crono Inspection.

  • May 22, 2008 jblaze1313219
    Report This User

    I saw this movie in 3D and it still bored the hell out of me, if your expecting to see something like 300 or Troy you wont like this movie, the part with Angelina Jolie was the only part worth watching , even though she was only in it for like 2 minutes.This movie was really disappointing and I had to smack my friend afterwards when he said he thought it was good

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X