Skip to main content

reviews

45
Based on 31 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 32 )
  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    At times almost unbearably ugly, but by the time you walk out of the theater, you know you've seen something. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    A brilliant idea that seems to lack the vision to be great. show more

  • 50
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Murky and grainy, and showing human beings at their grimmest - thievery, rape, betrayal, murder - Blindness is no barrel of laughs. But it IS a barrel of pretentious metaphorical musings. show more

  • 20
    New York Daily News

    Piles on the indignities, violence and island-of-man turmoil. show more

  • 50
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Blindness is provocative cinema. But it also is predictable cinema: It startles but does not surprise. show more

  • 60
    Bob Mondello NPR

    Moore is always watchable, Ruffalo and Bernal get a nice rivalry going without ever establishing eye contact (as it were), and Danny Glover has some nice moments in an underdeveloped part as an older man who finds, to his benefit, that love is blind. show more

  • 75
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    A perversely enjoyable, occasionally harrowing adaptation of José Saramago's 1995 disaster allegory. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    It engaged me throughout and I found the ending to be surprisingly hopeful. show more

  • 63
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    I kept hoping the meaning would click into place, but it never quite did. show more

  • 63
    Liam Lacey The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    It's more like a filmed allegory. show more

  • August 11, 2009 KristyandJay
    Report This User

    We both watched this movie and it was very long and boring. But on the other hand you had to watch it so you could see what happened in the end. We would ********* this moive again and thought it was a waste of 2 hours.

  • April 19, 2009 Imthdragon1976
    Report This User

    This movie sucked. I give it -5 stars for cohesive logic alone. FIrst of all too many assumptions are made about how instantly blind people will react. I think humans are and will adapt quicker than they are given credit for. Like people don't have a good sense of hearing or smell or sense of touch. We adapt to other senses much quicker than that. Also, I think there are too many assumption about the fears of such a disease and how coldly we will react to it shunning them to such a way. (if that what it is, since the movie did a terrible job of explaining it or good job of obscuring the cause(one of those things we will never know?)). There is a terrible sense of logical chronological order of events. (Another intended effect of blindness?) (I disagree because we can still feel the sun and coldness of night and as a group would could keep track of days gone by) When you watch the timeline of much time has passed certain things don't happen at the right rate (i.e. no one growing a beard after a week or two) A truck smoking as if just crashed but the city total chaos as if it had been much longer. What of deaf or other disabled people who are suddenly blind too? Then you have double disability. The director / writer needs a serious lesson in reality and more research into the lives of disabled people like this which they don't seemselves as disabled anymore because they have adapted and it is a way of life for them. Even recently or instantly disabled persons will have to adapt if they have a passion for life like most people do. The instinct for survival, alone and as a civilization, is much stronger than the movie gives us and it credit for.

  • October 22, 2008 ToneB94
    Report This User

    This is a film version of a book. My experience has shown me that most movies do not even compare to the rich detail or character development that goes into the book that they were based on. Most of these commebts and reviews that i have read just lead me to believe that no one who watched this movie had previously read the book. Otherwise you would have been a bit more prepared for what the movie contained.

  • October 18, 2008 God's child
    Report This User

    This film is disturbing. It shows what and how people can and will react if something like this happens. Though there are holes in the story it's still disturbing because of the suffering and the non-caring of others. I'm still glad I saw it but I don't think it's for everyone.

  • October 15, 2008 AnotherCineFreak
    Report This User

    As I was watching the movie, I thought, wow, this movie sure does have a lot of, and it is true, a lot of negativeness not just in the form of : Foul language, violence, and gratuitous 'everything' , but specifically : racial undertones, sexism, and just about anything that could 'offend' any of you watching this movie. Ive also seen this done before in other movies more effectively, that sense of doom, panic-stricken feeling, with no way out. I feel the film has a few ,pardon the pun(bullet holes) in the script, and acting is somewhat good only with presence of Julian Moore, Mark Ruffallo, and Danny Glover? The other actors were average to above. Overall, I thought the story was: Fairly believable (Scary, and downright true as to what any government would do with its weak/sick people, who are basically "outcasts" or like a bunch of "Lepers". The Acting: The main actors Julianne Moore had it fairly easy because she did not have to fake 'blindness'. But then again, I bet if she knew what she was getting herself into, would she have rather been blindfolded throughout? Danny Glover: Not sure exactly what his agent told him. Maybe: "Run the other way, unless your up for a challenge, Danny" That little boy: Man, 1/2 nekkid, stinky, and starving grownups on the set , every day. And Mark Ruffallo: I have only seen his acting in a couple other movies , which it is solid performance here. The Director: I've read that he is known for movies that creating depict pitiful souls in shocking situations: Almost too realistic/gritty for what us sensitive peoples are used to. I've never seen his other movies, but this one can't be his better one. I recommend for anyone who : Isn't thinking too hard about what just happened in the movie (check your brain at door). Is not already highly offended by any acts depicting women in sexual, violent, and degrading behaviors, or any hints or suggestions of cruel behavior towards those handicapped(blind) people in our society. Someone who may enjoy this shock movie: Fans of lets say, eg. Saw, Hostel or other shock movies, but more grounded in real-life horror situations(Such as the older movie Outbreak). And, most of the stereotypes that are so prevalent in movies today are presented here. To some effect. I won't give away any of the plot points other than "Locking someone up and throwing away the key." I feel that the director was going for a gut-reaction, and Boy! Did he get one out of me, in almost every scene. I myself had felt like leaving at a couple of points, but I decided to ride it out to the bittersweet end. Oh, and I was the last person to leave the theatre too.

  • October 13, 2008 AppLe517
    Report This User

    I saw this movie last night, and i am sufficiently traumatized. I understand the points and themes that the director/writers were trying to draw upon but it could have been done in a less disturbing fashion. If you want to watch 2 hours of people relieving themselves on the floor, coupled with violent rape scenes then this is the movie for you.

  • October 11, 2008 vsorren606
    Report This User

    IDPACTsmail you are guilty of what you are accusing ASUgirle and Vsorren about. Writing comments with nothing to do about the movie.

  • October 11, 2008 ASUgrlie01
    Report This User

    Joshua and ZarthAarn - i haven't seen this movie yet, but the book is great and I can tell I agree with you both. The average person who sees movies are probably not so intelligent and are most likely ignorant and don't get deep movies. They can't see themes and they don't look past disturbing scenes. They take it at face value. Seriously, I think I should go to the movies that everyone hates because the smart people like you and me would probably like it and appreciate it!!!! Geeze, people are so ignorant. Wow

  • October 10, 2008 ULTIMATEDUNER
    Report This User

    If you love hardcore gang rape, by all means go see this movie. I thought I was seeing a horror movie not a porno.

  • October 10, 2008 graciasu
    Report This User

    The worst movie ever. No point to it. Why it was 2 hrs long, I;ll never know.

`

similar movies

  • Children of Men (2006)

  • Gattaca (1997)

  • Until the End of the World (1991)

  • Snowpiercer (2013)

  • The Rover (2014)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X