Skip to main content

reviews

74
Based on 25 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 34 )
  • 75
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    Bridge to Terabithia is a good movie, but it could become truly great with a director's cut that leaves the fantastic elements a little more vague. show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    For a movie about the power of imagination, Bridge to Terabithia is not as clever as you would hope. show more

  • 50
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Though the first-time director, Gabor Csupo, has achieved distinction as an animation artist, he lacks experience directing actors. The best adult performance in the film is that of Zooey Deschanel; she comes off -- again, agreeably -- as self-directed. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Bridge to Terabithia the movie, like the book, is buckets-of-tears sad. Director Csupo and company manage to get that - the simple power of a story about kindred souls, about loss, about the limitless possibilities of a lively mind - just right. show more

  • 75
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Csupo needed two very gifted leads to do this beloved story justice, and found them in AnnaSophia Robb and Josh Hutcherson. show more

  • 70
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    The fantasy-adventure incorporates the novel's magical and emotional elements without overplaying either -- a balance that hasn't always proven easy to maintain in the world of kid-lit adaptation. show more

  • 88
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    This is easily the best family feature of the early year. show more

  • 75
    Michael Wilmington Chicago Tribune

    Elaborately mounted, expensively produced and filmed with style and empathy, it's an adaptation of Paterson's Newbery Medal-winning book that manages to expand the original vision, yet preserve much of its intense emotion. show more

  • 75
    Peter Debruge Miami Herald

    [Csupo's] take on Bridge to Terabithia doesn't pander or misrepresent, but instead illustrates the power of open-mindedness in both its forms: creativity and acceptance. show more

  • 75
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    Has buckets of gentle sincerity. Since there aren't any dumb jokes or hip visuals, it's easy to get caught up in the simple messages: Be good to your sister, don't be a bully, use your imagination in a pinch. show more

  • March 27, 2010 bigbrojohn1957
    Report This User

    bigcoltsfan1893. Your a moron, and you are the crazy one if you expect everyone to listen to your opinion.

  • December 20, 2008 Usacutie1195
    Report This User

    shannon wada died?

  • September 17, 2008 Mooxsamx13
    Report This User

    i LOVEDDDD the MOVIE so much i must have watched it like 50 times over and over again i could watch it all day! They all are AWEASOME actors!

  • July 17, 2008 bigcoltsfan1893
    Report This User

    WARING: THIS MOVIE SUCKED!!! Don't listen to the other reviews there crazy unless they said they HATED this movie too. I like Josh Hucherson as an actor but this movie was so bad i wanted to barf in my popcorn bag. i didn't care when his girlfriend died infact it made me happy because it meant the movie was almost over. NEVER SEE THIS MOVIE!!!

  • July 16, 2008 Nach161058
    Report This User

    if someone does not like this movie they are one of the followingA.stupidB.weirdC.crazy

  • May 22, 2008 TJ
    Report This User

    all i can say is what a waste of my time for even watching this movie. some rich dumb head screwed up in the making of this movie

  • May 22, 2008 rtladroga
    Report This User

    The movie left me feeling empty and sad, I enjoyed the parts that Jess and Leslie had fun and worked together but the ending is far to morbid and horribly tragic not something to watch if you like happy endings, I mean yeah there is an attempt to make everything seem okay, but it does not do the job. The book is the same way, too bad the author had to make this childrens fiction story a tragedy.

  • May 22, 2008 kabeenebie
    Report This User

    so much more was expected is there gonna be a part two ???wat about the last 2 min ???

  • May 22, 2008 xflipflopsx72
    Report This User

    I absoulutly LOVE this movie! It is my all-time favortie movie. I don't get how some ppl don't like it, but I will tell you this, you SHOULD read the book BEFORE you watch the movie, I think it makes ppl like it better and it help ppl to understand the movie. This is a great movie, but to tell you the truth it is not something really little kids care for. Awesomely good though!

  • May 22, 2008 shaaounic
    Report This User

    It was a nice movie that made you have a good chuckle. It brought the kid back out in me and it had a lot of scenes that were great animation. The story was fun and had nice songs. The magical kingdom really brought a sparkle to my eye. It was enjoyable to say the least. The sad death of the girl was overcome by the memorable boat the boy set sail for her devotion and loyalty as a friend. This story is a legend and should be passed down the ages the same as the famous children stories like Cinderella, Star Wars, the Poltergiest, etc. I would really recommend it to others no matter what the age, this movie brings the kid in you out.

`

similar movies

  • The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (2005)

  • The Neverending Story (1984)

  • Alice in Wonderland (2010)

  • The Spiderwick Chronicles (2008)

  • Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief (2010)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X