Skip to main content

reviews

81
Based on 34 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 17 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Bright Star is the New Zealand writer-director's raw, sensual attempt to render Keats as experienced by a young girl who couldn't understand the genius of his verse. show more

  • 100
    San Francisco Chronicle

    A fine-boned, luminous tribute to Keats and the sufferings of love. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    What the film does best is remind us of the brilliance of Keats flame and how it was extinguished far too early. show more

  • 90
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Jane Campion has performed her own feat of romantic imagination. show more

  • 100
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Intimate as a whisper, immediate as a blush, and universal as first love, the PG-rated film positively palpitates with the sensual and spiritual. show more

  • 60
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    There's nothing exceptional about Jane Campion's historical biography, but it's a sufficiently lovely tale to suit romantics with a taste for intimate period dramas. show more

  • 90
    Ray Bennett The Hollywood Reporter

    Bright Star may not be a joy forever but it will do until the next joy comes along. show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    What Campion does is seek visual beauty to match Keats' verbal beauty. There is a shot here of Fanny in a meadow of blue flowers that is so enthralling it beggars description. show more

  • 88
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    Bright Star is a thing of beauty and a joy for a movie season that needs it. show more

  • 88
    Michael Sragow Baltimore Sun

    Bright Star delivers a prismatic depiction - tart, funny and piercing - of the romance between poet John Keats and Fanny Brawne in the three years before he died, in 1821, at age 25. show more

  • April 22, 2010 drarthurwells
    Report This User

    Beautifully made Jane Campion film. Quiet and reflective rather than exploitative of viewer's base emotions. For the thoughtful person appreciative of artistic film making.

  • November 28, 2009 awankel
    Report This User

    Only a true snob would not love this movie. The pastoral scenes alone are worth the experience. Glorious costumes, and the insight into the mind of a great poet. The scene when Keats describes to his lady, how a poet would experience a dive into the water..sets the tone for the rest of the film.

  • November 11, 2009 callam9774
    Report This User

    A really disappointing film. It appeared to have been put together from a series of outtakes. There was no chemistry betwwen the two lead characters. Ben Winshaw, I believe was badly caste as Keats and possessed no charisma. The film was overlong and one paced, and so dry as to have been almost unpalatable.

  • November 02, 2009 jercofive
    Report This User

    oops...forgot the stars

  • October 26, 2009 ThesisTherapy
    Report This User

    Jane Campion has managed to write/direct another treasure which is almost as superlative as “the piano”. The cinematography was gorgeous throughout and contained scenes that will leave the truly discerning “breathless”. Abbie Cornish and Ben Whishaw deliver a riveting and unforgettable performance. This movie is likely to move slowly for those who have low attention spans, rely on action and violence for stimulation, and/or have little appreciation for intelligent dialogue. For those with poetic souls, this is a performance NOT to missed. I can almost guarantee it will be held in your memory as an unforgettable experien

  • October 25, 2009 elveneagle1
    Report This User

    Maybe the most beautiful (in every resepct) movie in recent history. The acting is fabulous. Abbie Cornish is sublime, and Ben Winshaw gives a respectable performance, but Paul Schnieder steals the show. The coustumes and beautifully made and so vibirant. The detailing is gorgeous, these costumes don't seem like they were cheaply made to pass for clothes of the period. The script was well done. When the poems are recited, they aren't hap-hazardly place, but laid in perfectly and recited beautifully by Cornish and Winshaw. The pacing is a little slow, ******** forgivable because of how well sculpted the picture is. Memorable scenes are (spoilerish) when Keats confronts Brown in the woods with Fanny watching saying the gorgeous line "There is a holiness to the heart's affection." When Fanny is told of Keats' death, Cornish's performance is heart breaking. As is the scene when she recites "Bright Star." The music is remarkably simple, but quite moving. This movie is not for everyone but is definatly a beautiful experience in art film-making with beautiful acting, costuming, and music. Do yourself a treat and see this movie.

  • October 24, 2009 GDubose
    Report This User

    John Keats is indeed one of the finest of the great Romantic poets. For most of my teaching career, I have concentrated on his poetry as an example of the truly sublime. And it is. But this film failed to do either him, his love for Fanny, or his poetry any justice at all. It was merely fragmented moments of that sickening kind of unrequited love for which I have little respect or value.I wanted to pay to leave but my friend (who stays if he pays) made me bear it out til the end of time . . .

  • October 24, 2009 Elfelds
    Report This User

    After reading all of the 5 star reviews, Imy husband and I went to see this movie. My husband fel soundly asleep after 10 minutes and I was stuck sitting and watching this very very tedious film. The female lead is a beauty and talented . The costumes are beautiful as well as the cinematograsphy; nothing can make up for the pace of the film. My whole audience clapped when it was over and this was showing to a "film audience , not a movie going audience". So, go see for yourself if you suffer from insomnia.

  • October 13, 2009 HKelwazoo1
    Report This User

    Terrible film! Don't waste your time. It never got better!

  • October 13, 2009 DrumNdancegrl
    Report This User

    This was, without exaggeration, the most boring film I've ever seen! If I had gone alone, I would've walked out- but I couldn't leave my friend...who had the blessed good fortune to fall asleep!!! One star for the cinematography...Bright Star is visually stunning.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X