Skip to main content

reviews

65
Based on 29 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 11 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    There's more killer suspense and shocking intimacy in this one-of-a-kind documentary than you'll find in a dozen thrillers. You'll laugh hard and cry too. show more

  • 25
    San Francisco Chronicle

    Unlike "Exit Through the Gift Shop," Catfish isn't able to make the leap from odd incident to an indictment of our times. show more

  • 88
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    To avoid revealing too much and spoiling a fresh and intriguing experience, let's just say this: Catch Catfish. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Catfish, made on the cheap with digital video, cell-phone cams, and hidden mikes, raises all sorts of questions - about the imaginary realms that open when you click on your computer screen, about cyber-stalking, but also about journalistic ethics. show more

  • 70
    John DeFore The Hollywood Reporter

    Jaw-dropping and surprisingly kind-hearted considering the circumstances. show more

  • 100
    Calvin Wilson St. Louis Post-Dispatch

    Nev and the filmmakers prove to be charismatic, and at times hilarious, investigators of the unfolding mystery. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    The facts in the film are slippery, but the revelation of a human personality is surprisingly moving. show more

  • 75
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Catfish is fascinating. At the same time, it emits a condescending, pitying odor. show more

  • 75
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    There are no "Crying Game" switcharoos or "Sixth Sense" plot twists in store here. But knowing too much about Catfish beforehand ruins the experience. show more

  • 75
    Ann Hornaday Washington Post

    Even in an increasingly virtual world, the filmmakers suggest, keeping it real still matters. show more

  • November 30, 2012 adah989
    Report This User

    your film rocks! marta heflin

  • January 27, 2011 RFitsnugly
    Report This User

    THE LAST COMMENT SUCKS AS MUCH AS THE MOVIE DID.

  • January 07, 2011 PetalsofSeven
    Report This User

    I think this film was well done and deals with a very prevalent reality of people falsifying who they really are on these social network sites and the hurt that can cause. I even felt sorry for the woman involved as it seemed her false identity was the only way she could escape the reality of her suckish life.

  • December 03, 2010 BryantRivers17
    Report This User

    So I dont understand how anyone says this movie was any good at all. There is a reason it says dont let anyone tell you about this movie.. cause if they did you wouldnt waste an hour and a half of your life watching it.. I truely have never been so mad after watching a movie.. if I was an animal abuser I would kick the **** out of my cat right now.. Im so angry and I feel like the idiots who made this movie should have an hour and a half taken from their lives and it should be given back to me.. I really hated this film if you cant tell

  • October 19, 2010 IrvBuzz
    Report This User

    Just go see it ! Period !

  • October 08, 2010 JHuge1
    Report This User

    LAME!!!!

  • October 07, 2010 winonabradley
    Report This User

    This is not a scary movie, and there is no "surprise" ending! It was interesting at first and then became uncomfortable.

  • October 04, 2010 MagsBennette
    Report This User

    i want to see this movie!!

  • September 26, 2010 r4lfin4tor
    Report This User

    If you are considering watching this movie after having watched its trailer proclaim: "The best Hitchcock film Hitchcock never directed", or "a bizarre and completely unpredictable mystery", and "The final forty minutes of the film will take you on an emotional roller-coaster ride that you won't be able to shake for days", then you need to know that you are being deceived. This movie is deliberately being advertised as something that it isn't. This is NOT a thriller, there is NOT a scary moment in the entire film, NO emotional roller-coaster ride. In fact the only mystery about the film is why it was made in the first place and where did the producers find the courage to so unashamedly use false advertising to promote a film as something that it is not and that no rational person would voluntarily watch otherwise.

  • September 25, 2010 Tracy
    Report This User

    This is NOT a SCARY MOVIE! NOTHING HAPPENS. These liars who made this could've-been-an-interesting-documentary film blew it big-time by advertising it as a suspense movie, thus making me HATE it and resent them. I will never see another movie these bulls**tters ever make. I hope word spreads like wildfire and it bombs! AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL!

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X