Skip to main content

reviews

37
Based on 30 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 15 )
  • 25
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Some bad movies should carry a leper's bell to warn off ticket buyers. Such a contagion is Charlie St. Cloud, a load of mawkish swill starring Zac Efron (bereft of the talent he showed in "Me and Orson Welles"). show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    A delicate film - not flimsy, but fragile - that holds together on the strength of Efron's physical presence and performance. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The movie tries to capture the crushing weight of loss, but between the insipid pop tunes and the repetitive shots cutting away to a lighthouse on a scenic outcropping, it feels more like a film version of a condolence card. show more

  • 63
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    The byplay between Efron and newcomer Tahan as his brother has a warmth and intimacy that establish the film's tone. The performances carry the film. show more

  • 40
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Though it was directed by Burr Steers, Charlie St. Cloud feels more like a misguided collaboration among Nicholas Sparks, M. Night Shyamalan and Billy Graham. show more

  • 30
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    The film doesn't just fail, it actually gets sillier by the minute. show more

  • 40
    Mark Jenkins NPR

    This ode to "moving on" from grief packs so little genuine emotion that it will touch only the most susceptible of viewers. show more

  • 70
    Michelle Orange Movieline

    The vehicle may get a little jacked up along the way, but its passenger arrives in style: The kid's a star. show more

  • 50
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    Charlie St. Cloud is primarily a vehicle to prove the actor can do more than dance and sing. It's more of a demo reel for Efron than a movie. His predominant fan base, though, won't mind a bit. show more

  • 50
    Roger Moore Orlando Sentinel

    The movie's central gimmick isn't enough, and when more supernatural twists that don't play by the movie's own fantasy rules kick in, it lost me. show more

  • August 27, 2011 sally513
    Report This User

    I thought it was a great movie! Turned it on by mistake and could not stop watching it...even though it was late!

  • March 21, 2011 Serkan Colak
    Report This User

    this movie is very boring.

  • November 25, 2010 Bruce
    Report This User

    There are sure to be negative comments on the emotional role Zac plays ... but he has shown he is a True Actor. I vote 85% of the movie is good plot and acting. Difficult roles for all concerned and a bit ethereal. A definite worth seeing movie. Thanks for the effort Zac - I'll look forward to others you'll do.

  • August 24, 2010 kopalhawk
    Report This User

    Better than good, If you liked 'Stand by me' & Phenomena you will like this movie about redemption the kind reserved for an old & aged hero. If you have been knocked down in life or know someone who has you will relate to this beautifully shot film that deals with Dreams, Depression, Anger, Guilt and 'Honor' in a dance with Hope. Anyone who says this film is corny well hasn't lived long enough or is emotionally 'unavailable'. Watch it and decide for your self

  • August 16, 2010 penguingirl2424
    Report This User

    This is my favorite movie everr! It is the first movie I have ever cried in! I read the book also and LOVED it! Charlie St. Cloud is a must see!

  • August 09, 2010 georgeisperky
    Report This User

    THIS MOVIE SUCKED. Can i have 2 hours of my life back please? seriously, if i didnt have Zac Efrons beautiful face to look at the whole time i dont think i could've sat through this. everytime somthing remotely big happened, it was shown on the preview. im guessing Zac Efron has a sixth sence because hes always talking to dead people...? for those of you who dont want to waste a good $10 i would suggest seeing something else because this movie was boring and made APSOLUTELY NO SENSE. i dont know how anyone could like this....

  • August 08, 2010 mcmw8601
    Report This User

    One of the BEST movies I have ever seen!!! I also thought the trailers gave it away, but there is so much more to the story than they showed. This is a MUST SEE movie and ZAC EFRON is AWESOME....he makes the whole movie. I hope ZAC EFRON wins BEST ACTOR because he deserves it because he WAS THAT GOOD for his age and experience!! GO SEE THIS MOVIE...BUT DONT FORGET THE BOX OF KLEENEX...BUT YOU WILL BE GLAD YOU DID!!! It will change your whole perspective on life, love, relationships, family, etc.....It brings to life what is really important in life!!

  • August 08, 2010 sheriann51
    Report This User

    It was better than I was expecting! I really enjoyed this movie. Thought the trailers were giving away the whole story but there was a lot more to it than they showed.

  • August 06, 2010 Qpcwrap
    Report This User

    LOVVVVVED IT!!!

  • August 06, 2010 THE WIKING
    Report This User

    Loved this movie. You left it feeling good! Critics don't like a good decent movie!

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X