Skip to main content

reviews

69
Based on 39 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 24 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Rude, crude and hilarious, whether he's hitting on Joanne or brokering the sale of Soviet weapons through Israel and Islamic Pakistan, Hoffman is the film's sparking live wire. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Clever and enjoyable. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    This is definitely the year of Philip Seymour Hoffman.In Charlie Wilson's War, he and Tom Hanks make a particularly sharp and engaging duo, bouncing clever lines off each other as if it were a verbal ping-pong match. show more

  • 40
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    It's a fascinating story, but Mr. Nichols and his actors never stop reminding us how fascinating it is. With the exception of Mr. Hoffman, a master of understatement, everyone acts up a storm, yet context is lacking. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Like Sorkin's D.C.-set TV series, "West Wing," his script for Charlie Wilson's War is full of rapid-fire badinage, with movers and shakers moving smart and shaking snappy as a squad of aides trot along behind, briefcases and coffee cups in tow. A decade - not to mention a war - never went by so quickly. show more

  • 75
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    Of all the Middle East-theme movies this season, Mike Nichols' Charlie Wilson's War is the least political and most entertaining. That doesn't mean it's great, just that it's unimportant. show more

  • 70
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    In this film, directed by Mike Nichols in one of his most satirical moods and scripted by Hollywood's most politically astute writer Aaron Sorkin, a womanizing, alcoholic, easily tempted bachelor gets elected in a Texas district that doesn't care what he does as long as he brings home the bacon. show more

  • 88
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    With its rapid pace, smart screenplay, and top-notch acting, this is one of the 2007 Oscar season's most appealing and compelling adult motion pictures. show more

  • 88
    Lawrence Toppman Charlotte Observer

    Hanks has a good time, romping around with the assurance of a holy fool. He and Roberts seem "actorish," putting on accents and mannerisms, but they're entertaining. Hoffman is something more, a scenery-devouring force of nature irresistible as a cyclone and irreverent as a stand-up comedian at a midnight show. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    You might think Tom Hanks is miscast as the lovable sinner. Dennis Quaid, maybe, or Woody Harrelson. But Hanks brings something unique to the role. show more

  • May 22, 2008 movieadmirefan
    Report This User

    I loved every amazing, and comical, and entertaining scenes in Charlie Wilson's War, All Three Oscar Winners delivered such best, and worth-watching performances. Especially for Roberts who hasn't been in a movie since she won her Oscar for Erin Brockovinch, She really played the role in the movie with so much grace, class, and worth-watching. Hanks made the leading role so worth-seeing, and Hoffman simply did his performance worth-comical and worth-seeing as well. I simply would say this movie was good.

  • May 22, 2008 Humberto & Filka
    Report This User

    Highly recomended by a friend,my wife and I were completly disappointed of this movie.We think that the cast was not the appropiate for this movie, although great actors and actres did delivery, they lacked to conect dots between audience and caracters.

  • May 22, 2008 waikiki968
    Report This User

    I generally don't like Tom Hanks movies. Usually far too hokey or (God forbid) to preachy ("Philadelphia").But this one is top notch. Another Oscar contender for sure. Hanks makes Charlie Wilson come alive.Good work.

  • May 22, 2008 rinconmd
    Report This User

    I did not realize this was based on a true story..very interesting.I enjoyed the acting, it was a little slow in the middle, but most movies are like that, but truly interesting what our country did, but also SAD at the end. The fact that our government can start a war, kill so many people and destroy their country is bad enough, but for us to now walk away and not improve the country once we devestated it. That part was and is sad, as we still do that..a must see though.

  • May 22, 2008 Stackman
    Report This User

    It's so typical...when a liberal (both moral and political) Democrat spends billions of tax-payer dollars in an un-declared war, which BTW trained and armed the Osama bin Laden's of the world, it is hailed as being patriotic. Yet, when that same party denigrates President Bush for going to a real war, with Congressional approval, he is accused of war-mongering and worse. Typical Hollywood B-Spin.

  • May 22, 2008 chrishatch
    Report This User

    Good story and well acted. Philip Seymour Hoffman was great!

  • May 22, 2008 nana700
    Report This User

    Besides being entertaining, you will learn a little bit history. Proves that we do not really know what is happening today until years from now.

  • May 22, 2008 aauto01
    Report This User

    Very timely topic with Pakistan on the front pages...or is that Afghanistan...anyway...great acting with Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts (would have liked to see more of her). Very entertaining if you like a real storyline that requires some thought. Some sarcastic comments could be missed if you are not paying close attention.The politically incorrect aspects were most appealing. Charlie says "You can teach 'em to type but ..." (go see the movie)Love that line...Happy Viewing...Auto G

  • May 22, 2008 averagedude717
    Report This User

    I just saw this movie and i must say it was good, but it could have been so much better! I mean it could have been so much more entertaining. Please go buy the Book "Charlie Wilson's War" you will get the real picture... the movie doesnt do it justice.What the movie didnt show you was the real war in Congress at the time and nothing about Pakistan was real. They could have at least filmed it there and shown the real Pakistan as well as included some Pakistani actors. Also they didnt show the Stinger missiles or the CIA director William Casey or how the freedom fighters were striking inside the USSR. There was nothing about the C-5 flights to Islamabad landing in the middle of the night disgorging untold amounts of weapons and war supplies..or Wilsons battles in Congress to secure AID against the vile india paid US congress (Democrat of course). The movie also failed to capture the real struggle of the afghans against the Soviets.Also...some footage of Reagan would have been appreciated..after all he was our cold war hero! I think Charlie Wilson should REMAKE THIS MOVIE !!

  • May 22, 2008 pamrick123
    Report This User

    I am sorry to say that my husband and I were bored with this movie. It could have been a great movie if we could have connected with the characters. It seemed all surface and gloss and talk, talk, talk (politics). I do understand that if a person likes to learn about history...this certainly was a historical movie. But it was still boring. The acting was excellent...but the actors did not delve into the personal lives of the main characters enough to make it personal to the audience.Sorry I don't love this movie as much as many of you did.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X