Skip to main content

reviews

66
Based on 28 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 29 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    A warmly hilarious movie about family members and their secret hearts. show more

  • 100
    San Francisco Chronicle

    You needn't have colorful Italian relatives, like myself, to enjoy this boisterous and warm-hearted film, which sidesteps cliche while embracing the hope and love in loony dysfunctional families everywhere. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The ensemble cast is strong. At its silliest comic moments it has a sitcom flavor, but the overall effect is gently amusing. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    What's not to like? show more

  • 60
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    The performances are absurdly broad, and each story line is more outlandish than the last. But De Felitta’s approach is so easygoing, and the waterside setting so irresistibly charming, you’re bound to walk out in a great mood. How many movies can do that for you? show more

  • 88
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    For me, the movie's high point comes when Tony auditions for a role in a Martin Scorsese movie. Tony learns not to try so hard -- a lesson that Garcia also seems to have absorbed from City Island. show more

  • 88
    Washington Post

    In this story, everyone, man or woman, is a walled fortress of paranoia, secrecy, unsatisfied yearnings and anger-at-low-tide, all of which will rise and collapse over the course of what is a very funny film, and one that operates at the sea level of humanity. Quaint. Slightly peculiar. show more

  • 88
    Joe Williams St. Louis Post-Dispatch

    A charming throwback filled with authentic characters. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    But don't get the idea City Island is a laff riot. For this story about these people, it finds about the right tone. They're silly and foolish, as are we all, but deserve what happiness they can negotiate. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Not everything in City Island works - some of the secrets are obvious plot devices - but, in terms of feel-good, undemanding entertainment, this is as good as anything I have seen thus far in 2010. show more

  • January 29, 2012 pz00000000110246
    Report This User

    Love love loved it, especially the climax scene. It had me laughing hysterically and thinking about the important things in life.

  • January 03, 2012 hqfom
    Report This User

    Love this movie! Watch it over and over - great when I need a laugh. The cast blends together magically and it\'s just good entertainment.

  • July 31, 2010 tomwillia
    Report This User

    Within the last 10 days, I've seen Inception and City Island. By far, City Island was more entertaining with no need to analyze every detail. Most enjoyable!

  • June 08, 2010 charter7421
    Report This User

    A really terrific film with a smart, witty cast that play off one another brilliantly. Andy Garcia and Julianna Margulies need to work together again. I commented to the person I saw the film with that the budget of the film was probably 1/20th of the average Hollywood film budget, and those films don't have 1/1000 of the story. A real must see.

  • May 25, 2010 davidmarcel1
    Report This User

    Comedy and suspense in the highest honor. The best film of the year so far.

  • May 12, 2010 lrgenskow
    Report This User

    This movie combines disfunctional family comedy with new surprises every few minutes. very funny, but yet heart warming at times. One of the best movies I've seen this year.

  • May 09, 2010 SClin23827
    Report This User

    I absolutely loved this movie. You Must see it!

  • May 08, 2010 e2dd
    Report This User

    Really enjoyed this movie, good cast,fun script, not a laugh out loud comedy but very entertaining, only thumbs down was Emily Mortimer, found her quirky jittery voice and acting rather annoying, but lovely location shooting and Alan Arkin! God Bless him, what a talent. .

  • May 04, 2010 LarryLikesMovies
    Report This User

    I really enjoyed City Island. It immediately captivated me with its colorful characters. Julianna Margulies is absolutely wonderful as a tough bronx wife. Andy Garcia seems perfect in his role as the faithful husband, devoted father and frustrated artist. The kids were perfect in their roles - Mr. Garcia's daughter (Dominik Garcia-Lorido) - georgeous, talented and funny - plays.. well, his daughter while Ezra Miller strikes a warm, likeable but comic balance in his role of the inquisitive son unsuccessfully trying to hide his crush on fat women. Ya gotta see this movie.

  • May 02, 2010 Lillian
    Report This User

    This movie is funny and the acting was superb. Worth every cent. I only heard positive comments when leaving the theater.

`

similar movies

  • About a Boy (2002)

  • Juno (2007)

  • The Way, Way Back (2013)

  • The Open Road (2009)

  • The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel (2011)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X