Skip to main content

reviews

36
Based on 20 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 13 )
  • 50
    Walter Addiego San Francisco Chronicle

    Relies on slapstick scenes that are neither essential nor especially clever. show more

  • 25
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The tagline for College Road Trip is "You Can't Get There Fast Enough." But for those who sit through this humorless and massively predictable movie, a more apt phrase would be: "You Can't Get Out of There Fast Enough." show more

  • 25
    David Hiltbrand Philadelphia Inquirer

    The whole project is a cloying, artificial mess. The slapstick comedy doesn't bite, and the formulaic sentimentality doesn't grip. show more

  • 50
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    If, on the other hand, your driver's license is still a distant dream, consider this a path to pure hilarity. show more

  • 40
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    What is puzzling is the incompatibility of the two leads with their roles. Raven is supposed to be a high school senior on a road trip to check out prospective universities. But she acts like a adolescent on a sugar high during a weekend sleepover. show more

  • 63
    The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    You know a movie has taken a very strange turn when you find yourself eagerly awaiting the next appearance by Donny Osmond. show more

  • 38
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    As generic as its title, College Road Trip feels like a first draft, the one the studio brings to the rewrite team that, in this case, never got hired. show more

  • 38
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    Better than most Martin Lawrence movies - much as strep throat is better than malaria. show more

  • 38
    Boston Globe

    Highly formulaic, make-'em-laugh-then-make-'em-cry comedy. show more

  • 25
    Maitland McDonagh TV Guide

    Lawrence runs through his usual repertory of mugging, seething and generally acting like a fool, only to be regularly upstaged by Arnold, Trey's pet piglet. show more

  • February 24, 2009 Videogamepro79
    Report This User

    I was disappointed with College Road Trip thinking it was going to be funny but I had about one decent laugh. With a good plot and characters that are very unusual this is a decent movie. Not worth buying DVD but at least worth watching once.

  • June 28, 2008 Bowens423
    Report This User

    iwant to see that

  • May 22, 2008 sftbllflash
    Report This User

    I am 12, but i reallie think it if more towards 10 and under. just the story line and it reallie all that funny.

  • May 22, 2008 dblbrl
    Report This User

    I be thinkin dis wuz a good movie. Ravins got kickin nockers and a booty to match. Martin is never not funny- that boy is off da hook- yo !!

  • May 22, 2008 dmkensel
    Report This User

    I took my daughter to this movie and we liked it. It was good for younger kids and parents can relate to how hard it is to let thier little girl grow up and make her own decisions. Martin Lawrence is great as a loving dad and Raven is great as the daughter who loves her father even though he can be overprotective. It's exactly how families are.

  • May 22, 2008 angelboy5k
    Report This User

    For you parents who are sick and tired of animated elephants, penguins, barnyard animals, chipmunks, cars, fish, bears, rats, ETC. and long to see a movie with real people again....this a great non-animated and funny film the whole family will understand and enjoy. I'm not a great Martin or Raven fan because, to me, once you've seen them in one role, you've seen them all. Though I half expected Martin to also play the role of the grandmother (as he did in Big Momma) and Raven to have some sort of psychic episode (as she does in So Raven). But still there were no embarrassing parts that we had to discuss or explain later such as with some flicks we've seen together like Norbit, Click, Ballad of Ricky Bobby, etc. Taking my 10 year old son to this movie was a treat for both of us...neither of us got embarrassed or bored. Donny Osmond was hilarious as was the pig, and the Japanese tourists. I'll have to admit there was a close call near the end when I felt tears streaming down my face as Martin was viewing home videos of his daughter as a young girl reminding us of how they grow up so fast....But I was able to sniff and wipe the tears away before the lights came on and avoid embarrassing my son with a bawling mom...Great movie!

  • May 22, 2008 MovieFanDotCom
    Report This User

    For the person who only goes to see a movie about once a month and likes Disney movies with action, comedy, and heart-warming characters, you LOVE this movie. Martin Lawrence, Raven Simone, and Donny Osmond were all perfectly cast! You'll laugh, you'll cry, you'll scream with delight . . . great movie!

  • May 22, 2008 soccerqt6709
    Report This User

    This movie was hilarious! it's a really nice movie to see if you want to get some laughs. I'm not sure how people would think this movie isn't a good one. You wont be dissapointed!

  • May 22, 2008 jdlewis60
    Report This User

    Again, these actors, producers, writer's, and directors are making ga-zillions on us, and they turn around and make this garbage. Total pass. A Turkey, but the Ironman previews were awesome.

  • May 22, 2008 chochersh3
    Report This User

    This was a great family movie!! It was truly worth the money!!

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X