Skip to main content

reviews

65
Based on 34 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 53 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Carell shows a whole new side to his talents. show more

  • 100
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Dan in Real Life fires on so many circuits that at times it's actually shocking how good it is. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Dan in Real Life takes a pleasant premise and calls upon the talents of engaging actors and generally squanders both. show more

  • 50
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Pleasing moments don't add up to a feature film, even though this one strives desperately for substance and coherence by slathering its slender story with treacly family values. show more

  • 63
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Almost reflexively, the filmmakers skirt Dan's messier conflicts. But it is the moments when they don't dance around the awkward issue of a brother falling for his brother's girl that Dan is the most poignant. show more

  • 63
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Sweet it is. Remotely connected to real life, however, it is not. show more

  • 80
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Provides Steve Carell and Juliette Binoche with comic roles that fit them like designer threads. show more

  • 88
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    As a director Hedges is smart enough to allow his actors to share the frame and interact and let the material breathe. show more

  • 88
    Glenn Kenny Premiere

    A smart, sweet, and thoroughly disarming ensemble comedy that isn't afraid to wear its humanism on its sleeve. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    If the film has a flaw, and I'm afraid it does, it's the Sondre Lerche songs on the soundtrack. They are too foregrounded and literal, either commenting on the action or expounding on associated topics. In such a laid-back movie, they're in our face. show more

  • February 17, 2009 Bellehare9
    Report This User

    I was expecting this to be mildly amusing at best, a bit sophomoric, and average storyline. Instead I was completely entertained and engrossed. My husband thoroughly enjoyed it as well. It's not just another immature comedy - the characters are complex and you feel empathetic toward them. It was quite moving in parts. If you enjoy films about an underdog or struggling to find your way through life, you will completely enjoy this.

  • November 11, 2008 OffcCrrl
    Report This User

    this movie was great!!! your whol family will enjoy this movie. its like your the character in dans eyes!!! GO STEVE CARREL!!!!!!

  • October 13, 2008 Ptrcsmt928
    Report This User

    Patriacia I Love this movie I want the sound track and DVD, I watch this movie every day. I loved the bathroom sene when he put the wash cloth over his eyes, got wet and rolled off the roof, I laugh so hard and cried when he sang for her. But what do I know I'm a hopless romantic fool.

  • August 25, 2008 Msanto1953
    Report This User

    This movie was pretty funny! I totally enjoyed it. I loved the part in the bar when they were dancing to nasty girl. Great flick. I'd watch it again.

  • May 22, 2008 fuzzie2040
    Report This User

    this movie is horrible all the people who think its good should have your eyes removed because i feel bad for them because you make them watch horrible movies like this one

  • May 22, 2008 billg12039
    Report This User

    You can't miss using your time to watch a Steve Carrell movie. I'm watching "Dan in Real Life" right now so I'm unble to give my complete opinion at this point in time. So its back to the living room to finish a fun movie. Kinda strange for me to be writing when I haven't really even seen the movie yet, huh!! Ohwell, I'm not really a strange person, I just never do this kind of thing anyway, so why not do it at the wrong time on my first attempt?

  • May 22, 2008 cmorri8087
    Report This User

    im really happy but i dont know wich movie to see so i say dan inreal life ok kool and i lovedit

  • May 22, 2008 movieadmirefan
    Report This User

    I just finished this film, and I have to completely honestly say I loved Dan in Real Life, Another good movie of 2008. This film was completely well made, well-acted, and well-directed. From Start to Finish, I completely was worth-entertained. I loved Steve Carell, He was flawless, and completely honest to the role of Dan. In every scene, He delivered both worth-entertaining, and worthy Oscar comedical, and dramatic performances. Carell proved in the film He can do some dramatic scenes. The scene with his three on-screen daughters, Loved that scene. Carell is worth-watching, and worth doing a lead role. His role as Dan will be to me a Memorible Leading Male character. Supporting key player Juliette Binoche was flawless, and delivered classy, and right-timing dramatic, and comedical performances as well. I didn't much was not impressed with Dane Cook, Felt He tried too hard for [Me] as a movie audience to be convinced he was worth watching in a movie together with the Outstanding Carell. The whole film was simple, and worth watching. A bit too simple, but it was good in the name of a Feel-Good worth watching movie. I would see it again.

  • May 22, 2008 krelb
    Report This User

    The overall feel of the movie was very good with plausible characters, setting and circumstances. Likewise, it was clean with no gratuitous sex or language...takes creativity to do that, and this one does it well. Comedic parts were very good with a number of moviegoers this night laughing out loud...me included. Conversely, the pain of being alone was realistically depicted as well. And, you can't have a movie without something too incredulous to believe not happening, and so the romantic part, while a highly unlikely occurrence, STILL made you feel real good. Good flick and worth your time.

  • May 22, 2008 leslieawitter
    Report This User

    I enjoyed the first 15 minutes and was looking forward to a great movie, but the minute Steve meets Juliette it roller coastered down so fast you would think the rest was written by an out of work sit-com writer. Just embarrassingly awful, with the shower scene, the Cirque de Crud play/performance scene, the bowling scene. If they didn't make Steve's character such a mopey creep, I might have rooted for him (but still would have hated this movie).

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X