Skip to main content

reviews

57
Based on 31 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 30 )
  • 63
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Daybreakers, despite the star presence of Ethan Hawke and Willem Dafoe, is a B movie, with all the disreputable low rent, lowbrow pleasures that implies. I'll take that over pompous any day. show more

  • 50
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    Hawke is half-assed throughout, showing passion only when he's screaming like a little girl when something scary happens. The visuals have a dingy, unfocused quality, especially in the muddy visual-effects-enhanced backdrops. And some of the plot turns are awful. The vampire "cure" is so stupid, you'll want to walk out of the theater, even if you normally like this kind of movie. show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Daybreakers is entertaining, though not quite up to the standards of "28 Days Later." show more

  • 60
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    The idea goes only so far--roughly halfway through the 98-minute running time--in staining narrative clarity. Daybreakers finally comes up with some comments on the predatory practices of Big Pharma, but that's an awful comedown from the blood-rushing brilliance of the early scenes. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    While the characters are B-movie thin, the dialogue standard-issue, and the CG and matte effects only passable at best, it's undeniable fun to behold the likes of serious thespians Hawke and Dafoe slumming around in this cheeseball stuff. show more

  • 50
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Despite the Spierig brothers' punchy visual style and satiric tone, Daybreakers eventually devolves, though Dafoe and his Southern drawl goose things up and Hawke has a greasy romanticism. show more

  • 50
    The Hollywood Reporter

    The Spierigs have assembled a strong cast, but even their best efforts -- notably by Neill, whose Bromley is the ultimate vampire squid, tentacles wrapped around the face of this scary new world -- can't pump any real life into the bloodless script. show more

  • 75
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Peter and Michael Spierig's earlier, campier horror outing, the zombie picture known as "Undead," was even bloodier than this one. The movie-makers are after bigger game here, and a subtler mixture of speculative nightmare and action film. show more

  • 75
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    Daybreakers has unexpected flashes of brilliance. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    On balance, however, there are more things to like about Daybreakers than to dislike. The production is loaded with impressive touches, some more nuanced than others. show more

  • December 31, 2010 JJmcarr
    Report This User

    I generally avoid vampire themed movies but this one was exceptionally good and plausible. I recommend it.

  • June 21, 2010 ireckin1971
    Report This User

    Good new view on Vamps! Has a good ending that keeps you thinking after the movie is over. Not too ceriberal, but entertaining!

  • June 14, 2010 MichaelRamos865
    Report This User

    hello world

  • June 02, 2010 bigbobsh2o
    Report This User

    It was good. It's worth renting. I'm sick of the whole vampire thing, but this was good.

  • May 13, 2010 Anna Liza
    Report This User

    i liked it

  • February 01, 2010 bfthills
    Report This User

    When I was in the theater I was really pulling for this movie. For the most part I remember liking it and being somewhat entertained but the second I walked out of the theater I instantly forgot about it and haven't thought **************.

  • January 27, 2010 BoonesFarmer
    Report This User

    I seriously wanted to love this movie, ************* did not even come close to being a good film. Putting out a vampire movie during the Twilight craze, and calling the main character "Edward" was their first mistake. And for anyone who has read "The Host" by Stephenie Meyer you will find a lot of its content in this movie. It was basically predictable and silly. The ending was ridiculous. Don't waste your money people.

  • January 26, 2010 UnitimeUSA
    Report This User

    I am surprised people ************ this movie gave it such low ratings. Obviously these people have no clue what the message of this movie is suppose to be about. Most movie watchers these days get upset when movies does not have flashy explosions and actions and immediately think a movie is a low grade and budget movie. Get the message people this movie is a clear message on what can happen to us people if we consume our resources the way we do. People are quite wasteful and with a increase in population how much food do we actually have to sustain in the next decade and beyond that? Too bad people don't use their brain enough to understand the powerful message on this movie. I personally enjoyed the movie and liked it even more because of the message it sends out. Ending was a bit rushed in my opinion but they could not have done it any which way. So, if you have some time and budget to spend go see the movie and picture yourself and how the world would be if we were in the same situations as the vampires in the movie and maybe.. just maybe, you might appreciate the movie a little more then most people on here.

  • January 26, 2010 superstinkypants
    Report This User

    What a piece of low-budget dreck. Here's the pitch: Its Matrix meets white-blackula meets navel lint. 'is there a Wesley Snipes in it?' No, just some bleached white phuq that couldn't act his way out of a refrigerator. 'Sounds great. Here's $20,000 and some chewing gum; make me proud'

  • January 25, 2010 ZombiesAreReal66
    Report This User

    Movie was decent, not worth paying the price for the movie ticket though, cheap effects, mixxed with good effects... Overall 6 stars out of 10.

`

similar movies

  • Blade II (2002)

  • 28 Days Later (2002)

  • I Am Legend (2007)

  • Underworld (2003)

  • The Matrix (1999)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X