Skip to main content

reviews

51
Based on 25 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 40 )
  • 25
    Walter Addiego San Francisco Chronicle

    You can get away with almost anything in a farce except failing to be funny, and that's what kills Death at a Funeral. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The only death at this funeral was that of a good movie. show more

  • 63
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Verdict? Mixed. Loved the slapstick, winced at the toilet humor, and mourned that the female performers were given so little to do. Funeral is funnier the second time around. show more

  • 40
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    You must really love a movie if you decide to remake it just three years after its release. But unless you also intend to improve upon the first attempt, what's the point? show more

  • 50
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    But nothing taps his own particular talents to unsettle audiences with truly edgy material. Funeral gets no more edgy than a potty joke and a corpse tumbling out of a coffin. This is nothing more than juvenile slapstick. show more

  • 55
    Mark Jenkins NPR

    The original was a little sharper, with actual satirical swipes at modern British life. The remake replaces some of that material with lazy pop-culture gags, most of them specifically African-American. show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    I laughed all the way through, in fact. This is the best comedy since "The Hangover," and although it's almost a scene-by-scene remake of a 2007 British movie with the same title, it's funnier than the original. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Death at a Funeral does what a good comedy is supposed to do: generate laughter. The humor gradient is lopsided - the second half, which builds comedic momentum, is significantly funnier than the first half, which is mostly set-up. Still, any such unevenness aside, the overall impression is one of enjoyability. show more

  • 63
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Gets by for many of the same reasons "Date Night" got by, all of them performance-related. show more

  • 63
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    The new version is completely unnecessary and sloppier than it should be. It’s also still funny, partly thanks to smart casting in a few key roles and partly because farce this ironclad cannot be denied. show more

  • September 04, 2011 emtjayj41757300
    Report This User

    this movie had me and my husband in tears..

  • May 15, 2010 lmcclain6
    Report This User

    Not very funny-even wi9th all that ************* ironic that the only person who was not a comedian was the funniest. DVD or not.

  • May 08, 2010 SmileyFacee2013
    Report This User

    Ummmmm This Movie Mite Be Funny Bhut It Mite Suck B/C It Came 2 Tha $1 Show To Quickkk.Is It Gudd?

  • May 03, 2010 maxicarras8
    Report This User

    i wanna c this MoViE

  • May 03, 2010 Michael Tod
    Report This User

    Be ready for a very nerve racking, strange, somewhat unbelieveable and predictable chain of events that keep building to a frenzy that some might find irritating. It's a no brainer that entertains with a few disgusting belly laughs; has foul language that doesn't add to the movie; some very poor directing spots and acting that should have required several more takes, ******** not terrible. I felt better seeing it at a matinee price. Martin Lawrence plays himself, an arrogant, self-centered character, and the widow, although likeable, did not discover her character and maintain it...she's much better as the wife of the former chief on Grey's Anatomy. I kind of expected more of Chris Rock...his character was very controlled and angry, the part could have been much more; again, I would tend to blame the director. The house they used for the film is gorgeous!

  • May 02, 2010 jjoann22
    Report This User

    So much talent in a terrible movie. I just saw this movie and I joined aol just to let everyone know how bad this movie is. No one in their right mind who had anything to do with this movie could have thought this movie was going to be funny. Sorry guys, but this was a waste of your talents. And, so much unnecessary cursing. Tsk. Tsk.

  • May 02, 2010 CharlieR51
    Report This User

    I want for a few laughs and only got about five minutes worth. Chris played it real straight and I think the attempt was to make a serious-comedy. Didn't work. Also, I was saddened to see Danny Glover in that ridiculous role. I would hope this is not the only parts he can get. i love him as an actor.

  • May 02, 2010 Savdie26
    Report This User

    One of the WORST movies I ever sow.

  • May 01, 2010 JoJoDaDogFaceBoy
    Report This User

    This is one sad family?! This is one sad excuse for a movie!

  • May 01, 2010 Nkdbrosfreak
    Report This User

    This movie was HILARIOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! A MUST-SEE! Especially if your a Chris Rock fan!!!!! I love comedies that are ACTUALLY FUNNY!!!

`

similar movies

  • Eulogy (2004)

  • Four Weddings and a Funeral (1994)

  • I Think I Love My Wife (2007)

  • The Campaign (2012)

  • Why Did I Get Married? (2007)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X