Skip to main content

reviews

58
Based on 34 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 41 )
  • 63
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    For all the film's flaws, this is a war story told with passion about a band of brothers that still has the power to inspire. show more

  • 50
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    As a drama - an epic drama, no less, clocking in at 137 minutes - its fascination is diffused, and the movie becomes something of a long slog. show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The tale of the resistance movement in Belorussia is undeniably inspiring and ideally suited for a cinematic rendering. But Defiance resists bold, passionate storytelling and delivers something rather conventional. show more

  • 75
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Here, Jews are not victims of genocide, but victors in the organized resistance against it. show more

  • 60
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Craig, far from James Bond but still swaggering, makes a leathery, craggy commander, and Schreiber - who'll show his full-on action chops this summer in the Hugh Jackman "Wolverine" movie - is tough but sullen. Yet all this old-style moviemaking doesn't always pay off. show more

  • 60
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    That butting of heads, as performed by actors as strong and soulful as Craig and Schreiber, lends Defiance an emotional charge, even as the film itself struggles dramatically to find its way out of those woods. show more

  • 60
    Bob Mondello NPR

    It's an inspiring story, if one that doesn't need quite as much poetic inspiration as Ed Zwick's movie insists on giving it, with dialogue that's too often ornate and parable-inflected. show more

  • 88
    Premiere

    The perfect antidote to the post-holiday blues. It's exciting, well-acted, touching, and genuine. show more

  • 75
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    The film isn't much of a character study; too many of its secondary characters are stereotypes, and it never fully engages our emotions the way "Schindler's List" or "The Pianist" did. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    The battle scenes are well choreographed and contain enough uncertainty to make them genuinely exciting, but one would expect no less from a man who has overseen Civil War engagements (Glory) and Japanese strife (The Last Samurai). show more

  • March 20, 2009 noccom
    Report This User

    Theaters in my area won't show it... why?

  • March 13, 2009 Lorgur
    Report This User

    This was a very good film, Everyone did an excellent job in it. Highly recommend it

  • February 27, 2009 WildBanshies
    Report This User

    I know why the critics gave it such a low mark. It makes you look inside humanity to see how cruel it can become. There are some who wish the genicide had not happened; it did... Sadly again and again it raises it's head. This is a must see!!! (Lest we forget...)

  • February 21, 2009 norma75
    Report This User

    An outstanding film and one that everyone should see. I just watched it. The indomitable spirit of people to survive and continue to live in spite of going thru hell , is truly amazing. Go see it!

  • February 17, 2009 fburcaw
    Report This User

    The story is a compelling one, but not particularly an entertaining one. It feels as though it drags on and on. The plot does not hold your total interest all the time and it does seem impossible at times. I wonder how true the story is to the actual real world events. Hollywood does manage to twist real events somewhat to make them entertaininig to watch.

  • February 07, 2009 Razelgued
    Report This User

    Moving and life affirming film. Rendered vivid for me a key yet obscure portion of my family's history in the very woods...

  • February 06, 2009 DiganFam
    Report This User

    How the hell is this movie not up for best picture? Those critics, those academy voters, to HELL with them! This was an amazing movie, a complete and total triumph of the human spirit, of the will to carry on against all odds. The acting was great, the scenery beautiful, the direction gritty and the plot unbelieveable, this is one of the best movies i have seen in a long time. - "If you're going through hell, keep going." Winston Churchill

  • February 06, 2009 jarofstars
    Report This User

    I am often amazed at the triumph of the human spirit, I feel humbled and wonder if I, in the same situation could be so brave and so tough. Good movie!

  • February 01, 2009 CQBRA03
    Report This User

    Very good film, good acting and good action. It's not the greatest film ever, but you won't be disappointed either!

  • February 01, 2009 N44nc
    Report This User

    Great movie, I just got done seeing it a couple of hours ago. I always enjoy movies based on true stories. It is just amazing what people are capable of when the desire to live is strong enough.

`

similar movies

  • Schindler's List (1993)

  • The Counterfeiters (2007)

  • The Great Raid (2005)

  • Lone Survivor (2013)

  • Europa, Europa (1991)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X