Skip to main content

reviews

81
Based on 36 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 310 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    This baby has the stuff to end the movie summer on a note of dazzle and distinction. show more

  • 100
    San Francisco Chronicle

    Every now and then, a film comes along that both defies and compels description. District 9 is one such movie: a science-fiction action vehicle so brilliantly and fully imagined that real life, when it resumes after the credits, arrives with a new sense of dread. show more

  • 88
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    With its clever faux documentary style, this is the most imaginative science-fiction movie to come along in years. show more

  • 50
    Wall Street Journal

    There's a wonderfully sly, farcical verve to these early moments, but it dissipates when the script, with its strains of "E.T." and "The Fly," moves into high sci-fi gear. show more

  • 63
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    There is a lot of shield-your-eyes ickiness in District 9, a lot of violence and gore. What there is not a lot of, however, is humanity - even in the film's depiction of the inhumanity humans are capable of. show more

  • 80
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    A memorable, monstrous fable that's consistently gripping. show more

  • 100
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    No true fan of science fiction -- or, for that matter, cinema -- can help but thrill to the action, high stakes and suspense built around a very original chase movie. show more

  • 90
    NPR

    Grabs you by the eyeballs from the very first frame. show more

  • 100
    Mike Scott New Orleans Times-Picayune

    To his credit, however, the often-playful Blomkamp never bludgeons his audience with any specific message. He's too busy letting 'er rip with his edge-of-your-seat, and unapologetically violent, sci-fi adventure. show more

  • 88
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    Attention all geeks (and geeks at heart): Get ready for two hours of serious awesome. show more

  • February 25, 2013 dm00000000134039
    Report This User

    Terrible. Completely overrated. Basically said humanity is incapable of empathy unless you become what you fear. No representation of an opposing opinion, makes every human being look shallow. \"If they were from another country, we\'d understand. But they\'re from another planet, so no.\" Direct quote.

  • August 29, 2011 hh00000000100932
    Report This User

    Terrible movie!

  • January 20, 2011 Dixie Bean
    Report This User

    Wow! Where to start? A thinly veiled political statement: "20+ years after aparteid it just isn't working. No matter how we try they can't take care of themselves". Substitute indigenous peoples for the "Prawns" and there you have it. Another "I can't believe someone actually paid to make this" trash bin classic. Hated it.

  • November 25, 2010 greatyook6
    Report This User

    As majority of movies describing homosexual are not ‘homosexuality’ but ‘love’, majority of SF movies are not describing ‘alien’ or ‘something unknown’ but describing ‘humans and the reality’. I believe ‘District 9’ is also one of the ‘humans and the reality’ movies

  • August 26, 2010 BlackDeep
    Report This User

    It had its moments, then they passed. Rambeling,and contrite with cheep old school "I've been infected by a monster and turnd into one" The critics appear to like it because it allowes them to revisit apartide even if it is in a poorly made science fiction movie. There was potential for a good movie here however writers and director decided not to explore it. A dust collector that will soon fade into obscurity.

  • June 21, 2010 ireckin1971
    Report This User

    This movie was awesome. It wasn't what I expected (same old alien movie) this one was actually something new! Thanks for making a new story on an Alien movie!!! I actually was thinking why no one ever makes an alien movie where humans are the bad guys,,,,,,Here It Is!!!

  • March 29, 2010 Andrew16441
    Report This User

    I saw this movie the night it came out and that was the best experience of my life, great movie, definitely worth watching

  • March 09, 2010 skidder0414
    Report This User

    This is one of the worse movies I've ever seen! I can't believe it was actually nominated for an award. What happened to good movies? All the movies the last couple years have been crap.

  • February 21, 2010 Kathy
    Report This User

    Worst movie we've ever seen...could not sit through the whole thing. It's just gross.

  • February 19, 2010 Brendude13
    Report This User

    For those who give this movie a crappy review for only watching a fraction of it-are flat out retarded to even review it at all. Watch the whole thing. This movie was excellent-the best Sci-Fi movie I have ever seen!!!

`

similar movies

  • Independence Day (1996)

  • War of the Worlds (2005)

  • Riddick (2013)

  • Edge of Tomorrow (2014)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X