Skip to main content

reviews

56
Based on 35 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 45 )
  • 50
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    With Del Toro's name in the credits, standard chills aren't enough. We want imagination to run riot. show more

  • 50
    Amy Biancolli San Francisco Chronicle

    All of this amounts to so much stylish nostalgia - not half as repulsive as the splatterific torture porn currently dominating the horror genre, and not half as cynical, either. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    This insipid wannabe frightener features a checklist of derivative conventions. show more

  • 50
    John Anderson Wall Street Journal

    Mr. Nixey is doing an Alfred Hitchcock homage within a movie lacking anything as subversive, or skilled, as Hitchcock. show more

  • 50
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Joltingly graphic and atmospheric (Nixey and his crew at least know how to set up a few good shocks), Don't Be Afraid of the Dark fails to involve us in any meaningful way with its characters. show more

  • 60
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    If you flinch at "boo," you'll find plenty to jump at here. Just don't expect striking originality, or even genuinely memorable eeriness. Still, every time "Dark" starts to feel like a generic thriller, it's saved by the distinctive stamp of co-screenwriter/producer Guillermo del Toro. show more

  • 50
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    The result is a scary movie that is genuinely scary in parts, although an adult can't help noticing this is set in the very worn and tattered territory of the haunted-house genre. Then when you get a glimpse of the CGI critters causing all the mayhem, the scares completely vanish. show more

  • 55
    Ian Buckwalter NPR

    Eventually, too little is left to the imagination to do what it does best: fill in the gaps with visions far more frightening than anything a filmmaker could put onscreen. show more

  • 60
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    Del Toro loves his creatures. Maybe he loves them too much: He always wants us to get a good look at them, and that's one of the things that saps the spookiness from this Don't Be Afraid of the Dark. show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    This is a very good haunted house film. It milks our frustration deliciously. show more

  • March 26, 2012 ms00000000117042
    Report This User

    Average.

  • January 14, 2012 aq00000000110171
    Report This User

    not even scary

  • October 21, 2011 jmedeiros62
    Report This User

    Failed attempt at a horror movie, or thriller, or much of anything else !

  • October 07, 2011 isang
    Report This User

    That was no horror movie.

  • September 30, 2011 BVPatriot
    Report This User

    Average. Could have been a lot scarier.

  • September 23, 2011 Elena
    Report This User

    It was really scary but totallly worth my money and time

  • September 10, 2011 tiffany25
    Report This User

    Me And a friend of mine went it was a good movie we olny jumped once at the part when she was looking under her sheets and there was one of the things that jumped out

  • September 08, 2011 ik00000000101368
    Report This User

    Get Ready! Katie Holmes spreads her legs and gives birth to yet another sh*t storm. This movie was so weak. Guillermo del Toro's worst effort yet. watered down. The plot is almost non existent. Here is the plot. SPOILER ALERT; Katie Holmes and her boyfriend or husband or whatever are restoring an old mansion. The dude's daughter comes to live with them in the mansion and she hates Katie Holmes because Katie Holmes is contrived and horrible and cannot act. So the little girl begins being visited by these little fairy monsters and they try to kill her. The little girl tries to convince everyone that these monsters exist and no one pays attention to her because she is annoying. Even after she kills a couple she doesn't have the smarts to pick up it's little monster corpse and show her father. The movie never explains what happens with the little monster corpses. Anyway, after everyone realizes the little girl isn't lying they still don't get the hell out of dodge and Katie Holmes ends up being pulled inside a furnace or something and she dies. The little girl and her dad leave everything behind and never speak of Katie Holmes again. The End. Don't waste your money.

  • September 07, 2011 nobodyknowsme36
    Report This User

    Anyone with a marginal amount of intelligence who thinks this movie is good needs to have his or her head examined. I am huge fan of horror movies. This is NOT a horror movie. How could anyone be scared watching that slime on a shingle that is posing as a horror movie? I prefer watching Rob Zombie\'s movies. He knows what he\'s doing. This movie is so unbelievably contrived and predictable. I can\'t think of a single redeeming quality except that it wasn\'t too lengthy. Don\'t waste your money on this.

  • September 07, 2011 mamadubbs31419
    Report This User

    I gave it 45 minutes because I spent $8.00 on it. I wanted to leave after 15 minutes.Maybe it got better after the 45 minute mark but I couldnt sit through any more of it.

`

similar movies

  • Paranormal Activity (2007)

  • Quarantine (2008)

  • 28 Weeks Later (2007)

  • Oculus (2013)

  • The Shining (1980)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X