Skip to main content

reviews

83
Based on 32 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 85 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Horror-movie heaven. show more

  • 75
    San Francisco Chronicle

    If you can stomach the projectile-sputum gags and stapled-eyelid attack scene, it's hilarious. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Drag Me to Hell is unlike any scary thriller in a while: frightening, frenzied and fun. show more

  • 100
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    This film is cunningly crafted in every detail--direction, script, performances, comic timing, special effects--from thunderous start to delicious finish. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    A Raimi-esque mix of gross-out madness and sick laughs. show more

  • 70
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Drag Me to Hell is an eyeball-gouging lesson in how to make a genre flick and live to tell about it. show more

  • 90
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    Raimi's still very much up to his old tricks, retaining that deliriously over-the-top brand of Grand Guignol horror that he had abandoned by the mid-'90s in pursuit of other genres. show more

  • 88
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Raimi knows how to modulate his technique, as with the coolly controlled morality tale "A Simple Plan," but he's a firm believer in the power of an active, expressive camera, as well as the value of insinuation. show more

  • 75
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    The movie is a goofy, ridiculous blast, and yet Raimi means business: Even the precociously cute kitty isn't safe in this one. show more

  • 75
    TV Guide

    A popcorn film that aims to entertain -- nothing more, nothing less -- and it achieves that goal admirably. show more

  • October 13, 2011 pd00000000103478
    Report This User

    pretty good , entertaining

  • March 22, 2011 alsouhoney
    Report This User

    If you haven't seen this movie , you should! Really Scary!

  • August 16, 2010 hrodi007
    Report This User

    This is the best horror movie I have ever seen. Scary, gross, and funny.

  • August 12, 2010 Lil mikey 1012
    Report This User

    I love Sam Raimi's work, such as Army of Darkness. He knows how to write and direct the perfect horror/comedy that can ever e made. I think this is just like Army of Darkness, comedy wise. I wouldnt give it 5 stars but I think it totally deserves 4 stars. You'll laugh out loud the whole time and be horrified at man moments. The ending is great and will defidently give you the chills. I like it!

  • March 22, 2010 Reck812
    Report This User

    not good

  • February 15, 2010 SSJ GokuuX
    Report This User

    Honestly, most of the people here leaving remarks about how stupid this movie is, don't appreciate a good horror film; or just don't understand the wonderful sense of style in Sam Raimi's work. Grant it, this movie, considering the age of technology we live in, could have been alot more grotesque, or even held a deeper story line in the modern concept of thinking, which every movie now adays are built on the same concept of another; just because screen writers now adays cannot develop new ideas and keep up with the interest of audiences like these teenage critics mocking this brilliant piece of work. But this is Sam Raimi we are talking about. He is the kind of director that knows what HIS audience wants, and that's all he cares for. So don't flatter yourselves kiddos. This movie is well written, directed, and produced. If you are looking for a horror movie that has not been seen a million times in different perspectives, look no further. It's original, new, and very anticipating. It will keep you on the edge of your seat from the moment the first scene is in play. This long awaited film from Sam Raimi is a well developed horror film and very much appreciated from his audience. Kudos!

  • February 14, 2010 chrstnamrbnsn
    Report This User

    Worst movie i hav evr had the displeasure of having to sit threw in my entire life. it was stupid, there was no point nd if i could hav left, i would hav in a heart beat.u couldnt pay me enough to watch it again...i mean cum on!!!the whole thing was about a BUTTON FROM A JACKET and has the star killing her cat.I feel bad for the actors who had to be in this film.

  • January 22, 2010 ltoland29
    Report This User

    Seriously??? Critics gave this movie five stars? After watching this movie I felt like I had just totally wasted about an hour and a half of my life! It was extremely predictable, flat out disguisting in parts, and the ending was off the charts terrible! I like Justin Long and Alison Lohman, but I can't imagine why either one of them agreed to star in it...maybe they were desperate?? Do yourself a favor and don't waste time or money on this film!! No stars from me!!

  • January 18, 2010 diegodamnit
    Report This User

    very stupid.Critics liked this? This is good? Than anyone can make a movie these days. Halfway through this I felt like getting up and leaving. I rather shove scissors downmy ears than watch this garbage. BAD. NO STARS

  • January 10, 2010 Mchgan1mich
    Report This User

    this movie wasnt that great. but that *********** me everynight after i saw the movie for like a month straight. i have to say if you want to watch scary movie this is it. even tho its so predictable at times

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X