Skip to main content

reviews

59
Based on 29 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 17 )
  • 75
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    The themes are also dated. There are times when Dredd 3D feels like an escapist companion piece to "The Day After." But there we go again, thinking too much. No sense in ruining such a fine piece of cheap entertainment. show more

  • 80
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    What's exceptional is the orchestration of color, form, light and dark (lots of dark), 3-D technology and digital effects into a look that amounts to a vision. show more

  • 63
    David Hiltbrand Philadelphia Inquirer

    For sci-fi action fans, it's an instant classic. For everyone else, it's a dark, bloody mess. show more

  • 20
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    The drug that Ma-Ma trafficks in, Slo-Mo, slows its user's brain to 1% of its normal speed. Dredd unfortunately makes you feel as if you, too, have partaken. show more

  • 80
    The Hollywood Reporter

    Pitched at the right level to please original fans, but still slick and accessible enough to attract new ones, Dredd 3D feels like a smart and muscular addition to the sci-fi action genre. show more

  • 95
    NPR

    Dredd works because it's an action flick with wide appeal that takes risks it doesn't need to - in its delightfully off-putting violence and daring style - and those choices pay off in a singular and exhilarating movie experience. It's savage, beautiful and loads of fun. show more

  • 75
    Washington Post

    This, finally, is the Dredd movie comic book readers have been anticipating. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    If there's a serious disappointment, it's the villain. Ma-Ma, despite being played with over-the-top zest by Lena Headey, isn't a very impressive foil for the mighty Judge Dredd, even when she calls for "back-up." show more

  • 75
    Nick Schager Slant Magazine

    The story places a premium on delivering its disreputable sex-and-violence goods with a minimum of fuss or pretension. show more

  • 50
    Tom Russo Boston Globe

    Pretty clearly determined to deliver the antidote to Stallone's movie, the filmmakers take their cues from Christopher Nolan's Batman filmscape, dropping Dredd into a fictional concrete sprawl (actually South Africa) that's relentlessly grounded, visually and dramatically. In a generic way, the environment works. show more

  • April 18, 2014 cabal13
    Report This User

    it was a great reboot compared to the previous attempt to bring Dredd to the masses. The grittiness and the feel of this movie is equal to that the reader gets when immersed in the inked pages of Mega City One and it's best law giving judge.

  • January 22, 2013 qh00000000133712
    Report This User

    great movie alot of action

  • January 17, 2013 ti00000000135794
    Report This User

    Magnificent movie. Brutal, fast and somewhat emotional soft but not pathetic. Short dialogues, smart story.... Brilliant action movie, much better than stupid Korean Redmption. If you\'re looking for good \'old-school\' action movie - enjoy in this masterpiece. Stallone, cover it with your ears.

  • January 15, 2013 cvallinie
    Report This User

    Pleasantly surprised. This is a good film.

  • January 14, 2013 qw00000000135563
    Report This User

    Not bad the oringal was good at plot but visuals sucked, this one was a full frontal smack in you face of visuals, and not lack of action, and was actually believable (somewhat). but the villain mama come on.

  • January 09, 2013 rd00000000134410
    Report This User

    it was a good action packed film

  • January 09, 2013 Serkan Colak
    Report This User

    i cant wait to see this movie

  • October 09, 2012 dpj1959
    Report This User

    I did not think that this movie could have been as bad as the original, but it was...Plot, acting, script...it was all horrible, and the language, while I do not mind bad language seemed as if all the actors had guns to their heads in order to drop the F-bomb in every scene. I would not recommend this movie to anyone.

  • October 07, 2012 ng00000000125422
    Report This User

    I was particularly mad leaving this film. Not at it. But at myself. I had already conceded on the fact that I wouldn\'t be needing to see this in 3D. But don\'t make the same mistake I did. Go watch this one with the funny glasses. This is one of those that doesn\'t exploit 3D for the sake of the thing. I can see how it would actually work well. The visuals are undeniably cool. And it\'s obvious much preparation went in its delivery. I am sadly old enough to compare this one to the original one with Arnold. And it is by far a better narrative piece. Sure, back then it was the bells and whistles of the scifi angle, the Sharon Stone, and the Arnold bit. So we were all pretty well distracted. But now that time has passed... Screw that one. This one has testicles. Lena Headey as the villain is superb. I saw her in person at the Abbey the other night and she is particularly attractive in person. Her sight grabs on to you hard. But who knew she delivered just as much a hormonal effect with a scar across her face. Olivia Thirby played a refreshingly believable role as the rookie cop looking to grow some cojones to pull the trigger. And this is no little lady from Gossip Girl, for those of you who followed her here from there. That girl will put two in the chest and two in the face. Thank God they had the common sense to come up with an excuse to have her helmet removed. I mean... Karl Urban. Dude. You are cool and all, but that could be your cousin in there. Couldn\'t someone had blown off your helmet? You know? Give us our money\'s worth to see the actor we are here to root for? All jokes aside, when you see your cousin tell him he has my thumbs up. Good job. In any case, go watch this. It\'s modern cool and refreshing. Soda optional.

  • September 26, 2012 Pete
    Report This User

    I liked it!

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X