Skip to main content

reviews

45
Based on 35 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 18 )
  • 50
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Cate Blanchett can do anything, even play Bob Dylan, but she can't save this creaky sequel to her star-making 1998 biopic of Elizabeth I. show more

  • 75
    Ruthe Stein San Francisco Chronicle

    An enticingly risque saga of the 16th century monarch. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Squanders the opportunity to give us a telling glimpse of the woman behind the ruff. Instead, the costume drama is all gilt and opulence. show more

  • 50
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Ms. Blanchett can do no wrong, and does none here, though the movie around her, a popcorn-worthy sequel to the 1998 "Elizabeth," often lapses into opacity or grandiosity. show more

  • 63
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Blanchett commands the screen as she commands the royal navy. Her unforced majesty makes a so-so film worth watching. show more

  • 50
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    The Golden Age is packed with distractions. But the biggest of all is the story itself, which works so mightily to tarnish the queen at its core. show more

  • 75
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    Expect a fast-paced, beautifully mounted and well-acted soap opera with overripe dialogue that plays fast and loose with history - just like they did in the '30s, '40s and '50s - and you won't come away disappointed. show more

  • 63
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Weighed down by its splendor. There are scenes where the costumes are so sumptuous, the sets so vast, the music so insistent, that we lose sight of the humans behind the dazzle of the production. show more

  • 63
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    Historians might demand a little more history from Elizabeth: The Golden Age. But soap opera loyalists could hardly ask for more soap. show more

  • 63
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Elizabeth: The Golden Age lacks the intricate plotting that characterized its predecessor. The screenplay is more action-oriented but not as smart, and some of the dialogue is downright cheesy. show more

  • May 22, 2008 bkingvff
    Report This User

    THIS MOVIE WAS THE BEST EVER!!!!!!!! I'M GLAD I DIDN'T READ ANY CRITIC REVIEWS OR I MIGHT HAVE SKIPPED THE BEST MOVIE OF MY LIFE! TRUST THE REGULAR MOVIE GOERS WITH THIS ONE...IT'S A

  • May 22, 2008 cubbyduke
    Report This User

    The movie was okay, but the ending was great. They did have some scenes where it draged on. So i would give the movie 3 stars

  • May 22, 2008 janet
    Report This User

    What a great movie. Cast was wonderful. And the costumes, I just can't say enough. Beautiful movie.

  • May 22, 2008 kanczes
    Report This User

    I saw this film with my friend Mitch, and we both agree that this film was an excellent follow-up to the first "Elizabeth". The acting was great, the characters were all well fleshed out and engaging, and I learned some stuff about history. I had no idea Sir Walter Raleigh and Elizabeth were hot for each other! The costumes were great, the sets were fabulous, and most of all, I was thoroughly engaged in the story-line from beginning to end. This film deserved a much higher rating than what the critics gave.

  • May 22, 2008 Welcome, Friend
    Report This User

    I am very puzzled by the mediocre movie reviews from the critics, saying that the movie was boring, slow moving and the movie jumped around to much in the different story lines. As a huge fan of historical fiction and having thoroughly enjoyed the first movie, this movie is an incredible follow-up to the first. What I so enjoyed about this movie were many things--the costumes were amazing, Cate Blanchett so believable as a queen and a mere mortal woman, cinematography, story line, etc. I was inspired by Queen Elizabeth's strength, wisdom, humor, but most of all, as a human being thrust into the responsibility of a queen of a mighty nation, she showed herself to desire a "normal" life--one of experiencing true love, the possibility of children/family and the dark night of the soul when we all have moments of fear and doubting ourselves and our strength to do that which we aren't sure that we are able. I could so relate to the "woman" side of the queen who Kate Blanchett portrays with such dignity, honesty of emotions and ultimately her formidible nature. I was captivated moment by moment for the almost two hours and was sorry it had to end and left me wanting another sequel!

  • May 22, 2008 jswriteman
    Report This User

    Nothing wrong with a movie striving to do nothing more than entertain for a couple of hours. This picture does exactly that. Not that it is necessary but it might not hurt to look up Elizabeth I and the destruction of the Spanish Armada in what amounted to the Cuban Missile Crisis of its time. Not that history is in the front seat here and one would have to be highly uninformed to actually learn anything much. As a period piece for the soap fan, this movie is fine. No comparison to the first however.

  • May 22, 2008 laurcyn
    Report This User

    Elizabeth was a wonderful movie but I could not take my eyes off the dresses!! I mean academy award for costumes for sure! The wigs, makeup ect,.....WOW!!! The only thing that looked better than the outfits was the beautiful Clive Owens! Sexiest man alive for sure! He's the total package!!!Oh and the movie was enjoyable but did I mention Clive Owens??? :) :)

  • May 22, 2008 santiko1976
    Report This User

    Great movie, great cast, I hope Cate Blanchette wins an Oscar for her role in this movie. By the way, critics are just regular people like us who cares what they say about this movie or any movie. Everyone has their own openion!

  • May 22, 2008 michele37710
    Report This User

    I LOVED THIS MOVIE! IT IS MY FAVORITE MOVIE OF ALL TIME! EVERYONE SHOULD GO SEE THIS! THE DRESSES WERE STUNNING, AND THE ACTORS WERE AMAZING! IF YOU WANT TO SEE A GREAT MOVIE, THIS IS IT!

  • May 22, 2008 mmusella
    Report This User

    Historically sketchy, anachronistically flawed, drowning in production values, poorly paced and truly vapid. No amount of 360 camera twirls, sky high angles and over the top outfits could save this beautiful piece of fluff. Probably a product of our times, the beheading of Mary plays like a perfume ad. At the very least we should have been treated to the storm of the century climax, not the less than three minutes in this film. No one survives, but Clive will become a great leading man. Poor Cate, this could have been an oscar winner if they had only written her a part.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X