Skip to main content

reviews

45
Based on 33 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 21 )
  • 63
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Susan Minot’s resplendent novel of a dying woman…stumbles on its way to the screen. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    The constant shifting between today and years ago is, in and of itself, powerful. show more

  • 50
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Evening might be the most shocking waste of natural resources since the despoiling of the Amazon rain forest. show more

  • 50
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    Evening is a case study in how a subtly evocative book can elude the most well-intentioned filmmakers and some of our finest actors. show more

  • 50
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    What a cast but what a disappointment. show more

  • 75
    Chicago Tribune

    The film, like the book, is clear-eyed without being clinical, reflective but never maudlin. show more

  • 75
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    It resonates with gleaming ferocity as it unspools a story of regret, longing and resolution in two generations of women. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    The strength of the screenplay and acting provide a satisfying, although not overwhelming, two hours of romance, drama, and tragedy. show more

  • 63
    Ken Fox TV Guide

    Rather than concentrate on Ann's disappointed infatuation and providing a satisfactory reason for its failure, Minot and, one suspects, Cunningham in particular, chose to flesh out the character of Buddy. show more

  • 63
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    Whatever Evening is saying about life, death, and guilt isn't terribly new or interesting. show more

  • May 22, 2008 ladyandtherott
    Report This User

    This movie was WONDERFUL. I would watch it over and over again!

  • May 22, 2008 ranas00
    Report This User

    I loved this movie and want to see it again!

  • May 22, 2008 John
    Report This User

    Living close to all the filming sites, I was diaappointed at the tightness of the scenes in terms of surroundings -- and I got sort of hung-up on the mother-daughter real life relationships, especially to find Meryl Streep showing up at the deathbed scene playing Lila, the role her real-life daughter played as the young bride and close friend of now-dying Ann -- in the early part of the story with Lila playing in scenes with Glenn Close as her mother, until my wife straightened me out, I thought the close (pardon) resemblance between Glenn Close and Lila was such that they were mother-daughter in actual life -- I think there was a good basis for this observation and that Lila's resemblance to Close is greater than that with Streep -- am I off base ?Tiverton RI

  • May 22, 2008 luvroxydog
    Report This User

    Somewhere in the middle we lost a plot!!!What happened with Harris and Ann following Buddy's death? Was she left to drift out on the sailboat for days? Was Harris called back to the hospital in Boston on an emgerency appendectomy?We missed out on potentially alot of screenplay there!!!!!

  • May 22, 2008 anitapeterbeiro
    Report This User

    Most of us carry a secret that we take to our death....this one touched me very much. I thought that Ms. Redgrave was outstanding in this movie. I would see it again.

  • May 22, 2008 xxyankso02xx
    Report This User

    Wanna see one of the worst movies ever? See this crap

  • May 22, 2008 holcon1
    Report This User

    This movie is too tiring to keep up with. If you like movies that keep you switching time periods you will love this film, if not you will hate it. The cast are great movie actor's, but the dialog is just too all over the place. Helen's role as a dimentia death bed woman rimancing and dreaming of past life and 2 daugther's that don't know where their lives are heading is just too long and drawn out. The best part of this movie for me was when we had a techinical disfunction and lost about 6 sceens of vocal's, the audiance loved it and we got free tickets to another film. Not all was lost for me.

  • May 22, 2008 byronhb
    Report This User

    Why didn't that car stop when it hit Dancy(Guddy) his speech about true love and honest love was really powerful. A lot of the movie was soft soap and an unhappiness. If the two protaganists were so much in love, why didn't they continue to try to work it out? Why didn't they go beyond the tragedy of the death of their best friend? This could have been a more passionate and daring movie, but it turned out to be a tear jerker for some, and a disappointment to many. Still the cast was interesting, even if there were a lot of questions left unanswered in the plot. I guess the answer is to accept life on life's terms and dam what you could do to make it different. It was really tragic when Dancy(Buddy) died but someone always has to die in this kind of movie.

  • May 22, 2008 classiccarsllc
    Report This User

    Good Evening to all of you. :)

  • May 22, 2008 jupitermovies
    Report This User

    The scenery was spectacular! The rest of it wasn't. I will go buy the book and see what it was supposed to be like. I can't imagine anything this dull would have managed to be made into a movie unless the book had been phenomenal. I was very, very disappointed but not surprised. Meryl Streep has had some odd choices over the years - anyone remember Out of Africa? Oh, lord - another monumental waste of film. But, back to this one... Claire Danes was uninspiring, Toni Collette played her usual self-involved, self-pity-party character that she always plays, and poor Ms. Redgrave had to drag herself through this mess giving the only decent performance. She didn't have a lot to work with. The story line was jumbled, confusing, tiring and irritating. If you MUST see it, wait until NetFlix has it on DVD and rent it. Don't waste the gas, time or energy on going to the theatre. It's like waiting to open a box of Godiva Chocolates only to discover someone has replaced them with a Whitman's Sampler. The cast looks phenomenal from the outside, the movie itself was hollow and bitterly disapointing.

`

similar movies

  • Love Story (1970)

  • The Notebook (2004)

  • The Bridges of Madison County (1995)

  • The Cider House Rules (1999)

  • What's Eating Gilbert Grape (1993)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X