Skip to main content

reviews

69
Based on 35 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 13 )
  • 63
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Spends too much time covering ground well known from the headlines. But the scenes of the couple at home with their children and friends are uniquely fascinating, if not, in Wilson's words, "very 007-ish." show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Watts is the movie's soul, thoughtful and deep-revolving. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    More admirable than riveting, Fair Game works best as a portrait of power games at the highest levels. show more

  • 50
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Most of the scenes depicting the couple's domestic life are borderline-banal, and they miniaturize the political drama that plays out partly in public, partly in the shadows but almost always in a middle distance just beyond emotional reach. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Watts gives a deep and Oscar-worthy performance here, displaying the steely composure that made Plame a valued NOC (non-official cover operative). show more

  • 80
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Though based on a true story with a well-known outcome, Doug Liman's Fair Game is as suspenseful as any fictional thriller -- and considerably more tragic. show more

  • 80
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Liman outfits the film with spy-thriller packaging worthy of his "The Bourne Identity," so the film probably will attract above-average coin and possibly awards attention. show more

  • 75
    Michelle Orange Movieline

    Physically Watts is of course a decent match for the even more aggressively glamorous Plame; in spirit, it would seem, they are even closer. In the field Plame was first and foremost an actress, a pretender whose belief in her pretending was often of mortal consequence. show more

  • 88
    Joe Williams St. Louis Post-Dispatch

    For a nation at war with its own values, Fair Game is a compelling, pertinent and scrupulously true political thriller in the honorable tradition of "All the President's Men." show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    What's effective is how matter-of-fact Fair Game is. This isn't a lathering, angry attack picture. show more

  • May 08, 2011 rrcases
    Report This User

    And now we know how true it all was.... GREAT MOVIE

  • April 05, 2011 grizzlybeardog
    Report This User

    Why didn\'t the teabagger cross the road? Because Faux Noise didn\'t tell them to.............

  • March 30, 2011 milakette
    Report This User

    ROFLMAO! Valerie Plame? Oh, gosh, what a wonderful movie she makes... A super-heroine (OK, no pun intended) for the Girly-men Lefties, for sure!

  • January 27, 2011 mahawwkins19
    Report This User

    I also am unable to find this movie at any of the theatres in St. Louis and wonder WHY. Is this polical ???? This is very upsetting to me that noone will show this movie. I have been waiting for the release. NOT ONE THREATRE WILL SHOW IT.

  • December 14, 2010 klrubenzer
    Report This User

    The movies had some interesting points but some of the information in it conflicts with actual events and public records during the events. Unfortunately Hollywood plaed loose and fast with the facts of this case to turn this movie into a political agenda. I wish I did not see it for the money I spend. SKIP IT

  • December 06, 2010 maslusser
    Report This User

    I thought the movie was pretty good; however, the camera work was extremely poor - constantly moving around and detracted from the movie. No artistic value - I could have handled a camera better!

  • December 05, 2010 dixfiles
    Report This User

    This is not on a movie within 75 miles in Mississippi. They have done an excellent job of making sure few people see it! I want to know why the Bush administration isn't in prison? It really was Penn's best work.

  • November 20, 2010 Pete
    Report This User

    It is no secret that S. Penn hates George W. It is obvious why he took this role, to take a big jab at Bush. Having said that, regardless of the political bent of the movie........As a movie, I was intrigued. I like the film as a film & I like the acting but I take its political message with a grain of salt.

  • November 20, 2010 Paulrac
    Report This User

    This is not a suspense filled anything - it is Sean Penn's rendition of a Michael Moore-like movie, analagous to a college project - it uses real TV footage and spins a political documentary to provide Sean an opportunity to do a "me too" political statement - culminating in the classic, 'be in front of a classroom of students and give a speech on American freedom'. It is not a movie, it is a political documentary. The 'story' of the CIA agent is interesting - although this is not a factual dissertation of what happened to her when her identity was exposed - you should go back and read the papers if you want the facts. The biggest disappointment is that, unlike Michael Moore, who at least announces what his movies are about, the trailers for this movie are MISLEADING - it is NOT a suspense movie, has NO suspense, and is a set of snipets from real TV - if you haven't seen enough Pres Bush and Congress snipets talking to themselves, than this is a must see

  • November 15, 2010 gbsjake
    Report This User

    To say this move took 'artistic lisence" would be an understatement. Dont look at this as factual. At. All. Entertainment? Sure, mildly so. Torturous to watch as you see facts and hollywood conspire. Torturous because there are idiots out there who will see it and actually believe what their seeing. Facts are Plame was a desk jockey and her "exposer" was done by a reporter, Robert Novack, not a Bushie. Joe Wilson had a hard-on for Bush cuase he didnt get what he wanted and used his wife and a 'see, Bush is a bad guy".

`

similar movies

  • Red (2010)

  • The Sum of All Fears (2002)

  • The Ghost Writer (2010)

  • Salt (2010)

  • The Social Network (2010)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X