Skip to main content

reviews

41
Based on 21 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 21 )
  • 50
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    The second half of the film is much funnier and warmer than the first, but the movie is still difficult to recommend. show more

  • 38
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    A misguided attempt at comedy that needs to go last on anyone's list of movie options. show more

  • 38
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Drawing comparisons to "The Wire" may be unfair, but taken on its own, this anemic vehicle for Ice Cube and Tracy Morgan to mug and jive through is just weak, weak stuff. show more

  • 50
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Though Ice Cube and Morgan should make an ideal team, neither seems particularly comfortable grappling with Talbert's amateurish script. Most of the laughs, in fact, come from the strong supporting cast, led by a high-energy Williams and the unflappable Devine. show more

  • 40
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    It plods along at a sluggard's pace through a weak premise with crude execution and even cruder characters to arrive at an unearned sentimental ending. show more

  • 63
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    The movie as a whole is pleasant, generally satisfying, and has a heart as big as its funny bone. For an early January movie, this is sometimes as good as it gets. show more

  • 50
    Chicago Tribune

    The movie’s total lack of focus and its unimpressive script should render it totally unwatchable. Weirdly, that doesn’t quite happen. There’s something endearing about these characters. show more

  • 38
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    A heist comedy in which the audience gets robbed. show more

  • 38
    Maitland McDonagh TV Guide

    A slack combination of faith-based inspiration and broad 'hood comedy. show more

  • 38
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    A sorry excuse for a ghetto SOS. show more

  • July 11, 2008 ANDFAMILY1
    Report This User

    TAMMY

  • May 22, 2008 martinis241
    Report This User

    oo joe are you really as dumb as you sound. i am guessing no education and poor upbringing. i see a long strech in prison in your future!!!!!!

  • May 22, 2008 shaylz45
    Report This User

    This was not the best movie I have seen. I truely believe the writers strike has a lot to do with the quality of this movie.

  • May 22, 2008 jdlewis60
    Report This User

    Hollywood is just bilking audiences out of their money and not delivering during the writer's strike. ALL of the movies that have come out have really been bad, or sub-standard. From Spiderman 3, Pirates 3, and this turkey have all been lousy. STOP GOING TO THE MOVIES UNTIL THE STRIKE IS OVER!

  • May 22, 2008 galya fam
    Report This User

    funny but to much sex scenesi took my kids to watch and we had to leave in the first 30 minutes

  • May 22, 2008 coolsis23
    Report This User

    dont go see

  • May 22, 2008 Zach2992
    Report This User

    This movie was basically horrible. It had no good jokes excepet for the scene in hte massage place. On a 4 star rating system, saying half a star is an exageration.

  • May 22, 2008 michelle2c
    Report This User

    This movie was really funny,and I saw it more than twice. Each time I picked up a new joke,and heard patrons really laughing out loud. It's refreshing to see a modern funny movie with touch of inspiration,a sensitive story,and no filth.

  • May 22, 2008 pay784
    Report This User

    It's amazing! Critics wouldn't know thier butts from a whole in the ground!!!

  • May 22, 2008 rtjackson92
    Report This User

    I have to say that this was one of the best movies that I have seen in years! I took my mother to see this film and she was laughing and she even cried. My mother who had been sick and in a nursing home recovering needed to have a laugh. I am so glad that Ice Cube and Mr. Talbert got together and made this very funny, laugh out loud, side splitting comedy that I could share with my mother and not be uncomfortable because their were no over the top sex just for laughs parts. Tracey Morgan and Kat Williams were stealing the show. I would recommend this film and rate it everyone!!!

`

similar movies

  • Big Mommas: Like Father, Like Son (2011)

  • Tyler Perry's Madea Goes to Jail (2009)

  • Ocean's Twelve (2004)

  • Ida (2013)

  • Edge of Tomorrow (2014)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X