Skip to main content

reviews

29
Based on 29 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 34 )
  • NA
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    It's early in the year, but I defy any 2008 comedy to be as stupid, slack and sexless as Fool's Gold. And I'm counting Paris Hilton's appalling "The Hottie and the Nottie," which is marginally better. show more

  • 25
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    A romantic comedy and an adventure story, but in this case that just means it bombs in two distinct ways. show more

  • 38
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The jewels in the buried treasure, once sighted, look fake. But the bigger problem is how artificial the whole story feels. show more

  • 38
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    No doubt conceived as an underwater version of "National Treasure," Andy Tennant's film plays like a Three Stooges movie with scuba gear. show more

  • 50
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Just how long will it be before Matthew McConaughey finally fulfills his destiny by dropping out of Hollywood and opening a chain of nudist colonies? His heart clearly isn't in acting right now, so when it was time to make Fool's Gold, he asked his abs to do the job for him. show more

  • 40
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    A soggy, listless affair, this would-be fun-in-the-sun sunken-treasure frivolity starts taking on water from the get-go, thanks to drawn-out exposition and languid pacing. show more

  • 63
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    The movie isn't entirely successful as a romance or as an adventure, which makes the experience of watching it feel shallow and hollow, sort of like the stars and the plot. show more

  • 50
    Chicago Tribune

    A movie that keeps reminding you of its antecedents, all the way back to 1984 and the comic adventure “Romancing the Stone.” show more

  • 50
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    Fool's Gold isn't so much a film as an opportunity to pay homage to Matthew McConaughey's impressive physique. show more

  • 38
    Ken Fox TV Guide

    We already knew Hudson and McConaughey weren't exactly Gable and Lombard from their first romantic pairing in "How To Lose A Guy in 10 Days," but director Andy Tennant's complete lack of inventiveness comes as a surprise. show more

  • December 25, 2008 Highemotions69
    Report This User

    sorry forgot to rate it.

  • July 31, 2008 hunterisgreat10
    Report This User

    it was very good

  • June 30, 2008 Jav4292
    Report This User

    I gave it 5 stars

  • May 22, 2008 riri7865
    Report This User

    pretty good listen to psquared767

  • May 22, 2008 Big burtha
    Report This User

    A chick flick but ok

  • May 22, 2008 romanfit
    Report This User

    Yes, they could have done much more with the movie, but it was worth seeing on the big screen. Not every movie can live up to everyone's standards, and sometimes Hollywood doesn't want to spend $100 million on every movie it makes, just consider this one a cheaper little "filler" movie for Hollywood, Kate and Mathew until the "bigger better" one comes out! Fools gold is a nice getaway for most of us!!

  • May 22, 2008 angel15656
    Report This User

    Really keeps your attention and keeps you laughing. It makes you wish you were a fish in the water. It is just a fun movie for a Sunday afternoon.

  • May 22, 2008 keeplivinlove
    Report This User

    EXCELLENT MOVIE.I LOVE IT , TOOK ME BACK TO A REVERSAL OF THE TITANIC.WHAT A CHALLENGE , FUNNY AND SO ADOREING.MARLENE BROWN, HOME TOWN GIRL OF OLD LONGVIEW HIGHSCOOL.I WOULD HUG YOUR NECK.YOUR MY KIND OF GUY. I REMEBER YOU FROM SCHOOL.WHAT A MESSAGE IT GAVE ME.KATE , ALSO GREAT JOB.LOVE TO DIVE WITH YOU AND SURF SOMETIME , EVEN JUST SWIM.WISH I WERE A MERMAID.LOL.TY

  • May 22, 2008 Psquared767
    Report This User

    C'mon now! Why do these critic's get paid for being idiots? Now this movies was real fun and great entertainment and made me laugh, smile and made a so, so, day end up being pretty good! I think if you have nothing better to do, go ahead and watch this movie!

  • May 22, 2008 fatherrmfh
    Report This User

    So what if the plot has as many holes as Swiss cheese. It was FUN, just plain good, dumb fun. Romancing the Stone kind of fun, but with a quicker pace. If you listened to the self absorbed professional critics above, they'd be ******** that Joan Wilder would never be taken seriously as an author. If you want to get out of the house for an afternoon of inexpensive (matinee) entertainment ~ this is a good bet. If not, you'll see when it makes onto HBO, etc.Besides which, just the scene with Alexiz Dzienda with the sword is worth the price of admission.Critics, don't take cinemagraphic life so seriously.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X