Skip to main content

reviews

50
Based on 33 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 91 )
  • 100
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    The effect is like watching an opera without music. Or a musical drama in which no one sings. These departures from a realistic convention never feel like static set pieces - that's the great success of the film and of the poems themselves. show more

  • 38
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Kimberly Elise gives the best performance as a beleaguered woman with an abusive boyfriend (Michael Ealy). show more

  • 63
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    At its best, Shange's work is a lyric journey through the storm to the rainbow. At its worst, Perry's movie is a relentless dance between the victimizer and his victim. Shange's poetic flow gets choked by Perry's stilted prose. show more

  • 60
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    "This is a woman's trip," it is announced in Tyler Perry's For Colored Girls, and how you respond to those words will likely determine how you respond to the film itself. show more

  • 30
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    (Perry) style is too crude and stagy for Shange's transformative evocation of black female life, and his moralizing strikes exactly the wrong notes to express the pain and longing that cries out from her heated poetry. show more

  • 65
    Michelle Orange Movieline

    Perry weaves together not just the individual stories but their arcs, sustaining the emotional tenor across the progress of nine lives. show more

  • 88
    Lawrence Toppman Charlotte Observer

    The writer-director waited until he had the clout, budget and prestige to attract a top-flight cast, then turned Colored Girls into a movie with a little less darkness but plenty of heart and guts. show more

  • 75
    Roger Moore Orlando Sentinel

    Perry's great gift to this unfilmable play is getting it on the screen, his sharp eye for casting and his evident affection and sympathy for black womanhood, even in movies in which he doesn't don a dress. show more

  • 63
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Perry tries to be faithful to the play and also to his own boldly and simply told stories, and the two styles don't fit together. show more

  • 63
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    It's too much too-much. The audience I saw it with didn't seem to know whether to clap when it was over or start taking Lipitor. show more

  • July 18, 2013 MoeMoe
    Report This User

    55 minutes into the movie I had to look up the cast and there he was , at the top of the list Director : Tyler Perry . I should have known . I love love love his movies

  • May 21, 2011 soil1050
    Report This User

    What a great movie! I\'m not a colored girl but I sure appreciated the poetic interweavings and wonderful portrayal of the women in this movie. I have never written a review on any movie but I was compeled to give this one 5 stars.

  • March 14, 2011 kerao
    Report This User

    I would give this movie a no star if I could. I totally agree with Krauseneck123 it's 2 hours of my life I will never get back. My husband was being optimistic and was hoping the movie would pick up somehow and of course it didn't. I am a woman of color and my life is no where close to this mess of characters with their dramatic woes of haiku, poetry, and dark depressing lyrics. If you don't like your neighbors, move. All the women were portrayed as stupid and ignorant in one way or another, good for them and great for us viewers. All the while listening listening to their foolish chatter for 2 hrs. There is a reason I don'******* Perry Tyler movies because the characters are too unreal and there has to be more talented writers than Tyler. He can't make movies that portray people of color in a good light . I just think he's cornering the market and can't speak for a whole race. It's all negative, he makes people of color appear unfaithful, drug addicted, alcoholic, violent, and simple minded. Thanks Perry.

  • February 19, 2011 ventowan1563
    Report This User

    Wow!! Janet gave a awesome performance. So did the rest of the cast..

  • February 09, 2011 ACurlThing
    Report This User

    I first want to say that unfortunately a lot of people in the world wouldn't know a masterpiece if they were slapped with it! This is coming from a Not-So-Die-Hard-Fan-Of-Tyler. This movie is a must see for all people. Granted the title is "For Colored Girls" please don't let that hinder you from going to see it, because the issues in this movie are colorblind. I have to admit, the movie in it's entirety is EXTREMELY INTENSE, and if you are the type that don't like your toes to be stepped on, please prepare, because ALMOST all women experienced at LEAST one of the trials these women endure. Yes, it is melancholy, emotional, poetic and again, intense. Thus, watch it with an opened mind and don't think too much about the director, actors, or actresses, but about the situations and what we can do to tackle them!

  • February 08, 2011 TLIGHTOUT
    Report This User

    This movie depicted the different points of views from a vast array of color women, myself included. Words cannot express the rush of emotional feelings that I felt during and after this movie. This movie was so intense that I needed to reflect within the pages of my journal for the different events that had occurred within the life of the women in my family and myself as well! I strongly believe that this film can help other women to revaluate their situation/life in order to grow, and learn how to love and place values on their life due to African American woman are beautiful in their own right!

  • February 06, 2011 TrinityNycGurl
    Report This User

    It takes a minute to get into the groove of the movie because I wasn't expecting it to be kind of a poetic/musical type acting, so at first kinda weird how the actors talk. But once I got into it I actually cried the whole movie. I wouldn't expect anyone to actually really feel this movie but women. This is a movie made for women and addresses all of the issues we go through as African American women but also I feel all women can relate. Every character in this movie has an issue that either you have personally dealt with before or someone close has so you definately will get emotional. It really makes you think. Sad but inspiring. Loved the end but wish they would have made it more uplifting at the end.

  • January 05, 2011 toglesabycooper
    Report This User

    The best movie off all time.

  • January 02, 2011 Bdbdgrl651
    Report This User

    a must see movie just make sure u go there with an open mind the point isnt shown u must figure it out on ur own

  • December 13, 2010 swiyroy
    Report This User

    Graceful, lyrical - a masterpiece!

`

similar movies

  • Precious: Based on the Novel "Push" by Sapphire (2009)

  • The Secret Life of Bees (2008)

  • Antwone Fisher (2002)

  • Eve's Bayou (1997)

  • The Class (2008)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X