Skip to main content

reviews

68
Based on 35 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 21 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Just because a movie is freakin' preposterous doesn't mean it can't be diabolical fun. Case in point: Fracture. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    What audiences want when they go to a suspense thriller. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    It's a provocative game that plays out with intelligence and wit. show more

  • 90
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    This hugely entertaining thriller is what's needed to banish a winter-long case of movie blues. show more

  • 75
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    A stylish thriller so highly strung it zings, gives us Hopkins, an actor at the top of his game, in material that's only middling. show more

  • 75
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    The kind of thriller we've seen a thousand times before. Fortunately, nobody told leads, Ryan Gosling and Anthony Hopkins, both of whom devoutly believe they're in another, better movie. show more

  • 70
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    The movie entertains, but it's a shallow entertainment where you have no rooting interest in the outcome. show more

  • 75
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Effective dialogue doesn't necessarily mean witty dialogue, but wit certainly helps, and you tend not to get much of it in a low-key legal thriller. Fracture is an exception. show more

  • 75
    Maitland McDonagh TV Guide

    The best thing about Fracture is the way in which it defies genre cliches and turns all Hopkins' mannerisms into assets. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Gruesomely engaging. show more

  • November 12, 2011 om00000000105432
    Report This User

    GREAT movie!

  • June 11, 2011 harrymeeks
    Report This User

    great

  • May 22, 2008 mollcat20
    Report This User

    Gosling: excellent. Hopkins: same old. I could have done without the creepy lighting every time the two came face to face -- yeah, we get it, the cat and the mouse. I don't need to have the chills so cheesily cranked up for me. Another carp -- the woman-lawyer-boss-lover. Very stereotyped portrayal; are we supposed to believe that years of law school and professional accomplishment go poof the second she spots a boy hunk? Also, why is Gosling's character in such a rush to save a brain-dead woman (other than to enable the final "twist")?

  • May 22, 2008 shy1here00
    Report This User

    Fantastic acting by both Anthony Hopkins and Ryan Gosling. I always appreciate any movie Hopkins is in because he has made every character he's ever played so believable. As for Gosling, you could just see the confidence he had and then start to question himself when things started getting crazy. As for the woman attorney (not sure of her name), the movie could have done without her...acting was poor. I have told all my friends to go see this as it was one of those "spellbounding" movies.

  • May 22, 2008 roadrunner490
    Report This User

    not really what i thought it would be like, i expected a thriller, this was really slow moving, and did not go anywhere. A couple funny jokes here and there.

  • May 22, 2008 elvishmonkey101
    Report This User

    You can't listen to most of the critics. This movie was great. Sly, slick, fun, and just overall great. Anthony Hopkins was perfect for the role.

  • May 22, 2008 alleycat342
    Report This User

    Very witty,interesting, and clever. Holds your interest. A must

  • May 22, 2008 Bev
    Report This User

    We went with another couple and talked about it all the way home!! So many twists and turns. Not that some weren't predictable but, still a great movie. It's Anthony HOpkins for crying out loud!! When he is talking to the DA .(Ryan Gosling) you almost expect the "fava beans and a nice Chianti" line!! GREAT MOVIE!! NOT Scary just a great Suspense movie!

  • May 22, 2008 mybabe86
    Report This User

    I loved Ryan Gosling in this movie, he was the best in Notebook but thought even better in this movie. I also think the movie was full of suspense and drama, kept my attention. But truley believe this Ryan is a doll and will go far in his acting!

  • May 22, 2008 sapphirelady2211
    Report This User

    Anthony Hopkins was wonderful, as usual.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X