Skip to main content

reviews

42
Based on 7 Reviews
critic reviews (7)
fan reviews ( 11 )
  • 88
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    From the street corner to the boardroom to the White House, the same paradigms are in play, Brown argues. show more

  • 50
    Sheri Linden The Hollywood Reporter

    Very much a lesson, and a repetitive and uneven one at that, GhettoPhysics succeeds at least as a conversation starter. show more

  • 50
    Washington Post

    Like "What the Bleep," this movie is a bit of a hodgepodge, blending an interview-driven documentary with a less remarkable story-based drama. show more

  • 60
    Tim Cogshell Boxoffice Magazine

    If this film is nothing else (and it may be nothing else) it's funny and (ironically) fundamentally true. What certainly isn't true is what it purports to be, which is a legitimate course of study that analyzes the historic, international, socio-cultural, economic and psychological relationships between individuals, governments and corporations through the prism of physics and what has been loosely called metaphysics. show more

  • 40
    Dennis Harvey Variety

    For all its street edge, GhettoPhysics pretty much delivers the usual New Age seminar sleight-of-hand, providing a temporary, generalized sense of empowerment without any practical tools to improve one's lot. show more

  • 30
    L.A. Weekly

    It's basically the stuff of a Bill Maher monologue, knocked down a few reading levels and spun into a low-budg gonzo smorgasbord of brashly tacky styles. show more

  • 30
    Kevin Thomas Los Angeles Times

    GhettoPhysics undercuts its approach with too much cant, too much rambling and too much that is self-evident. show more

  • March 29, 2011 ebwsgh
    Report This User

    I attended the Black Arts Film Festival in Wilmington and saw this movie. It is EXCELLENT---a brilliant concept for the presentation of a thought provoking movie.

  • October 15, 2010 kellykrm3
    Report This User

    omg i am so down to go see this movie only a 10 min drive for me ahhh cant waite.. Oct,22 at the rave... ppl who is down to go?? let me know...

  • October 15, 2010 jason9829
    Report This User

    Hey Ghetto Physics is coming out on October twenty second at the Rave motion pictures in LA don't miss it....

  • October 06, 2010 alicemiller379
    Report This User

    From its title, you can probably deduce that GhettoPhysics: Will the Real Pimps and Ho’s Please Stand Up! is a one-of-a-kind movie. This is not surprising since one of the filmmaker’s claim to fame is another one-of-a-kind film – William H. Arntz’s What the BLEEP Do We Know!?, the cult film seen by more than 100 million viewers worldwide since its release in 2004. GhettoPhysics is based on E. Raymond Brown’s 2002 book, “Will the Real Pimps and Ho’s Please Stand Up!” Brown, a musician, music producer, actor, author, and workshop facilitator brings all his social, anthropological and metaphysical knowledge and skills to bear in this, his first, motion picture. A hybrid documentary, the story follows a student on her planned entry into a major university with the help of promised financial aid. It turns out to be a rocky path, as forces beyond her control seek to determine her fate. Over the course of her story, she (and we, the audience) learn how the Pimps and Ho’s game (dominators and dominated) is played out at every level of society: from the streets, to the corporate boardroom, to the classroom. Interviews with Dr. Cornel West, MC and producer KRS-1, economist John Perkins, television producer Norman Lear, former Congresswoman Cynthia McKinney, Ghanaian activist Brother Ishmael Tetteh and some colorful street characters unveil the workings of the world’s eternal power game. Great contemporary music and animation add potent spice to the film whose message, you gotta stand up and choose what role you’re going to play in every life situation, is enormously empowering. The interviews are all enlightening – the entire film is compelling entertainment. A perfect revelation and motivation at a time when millions are shouting, “I’m mad as hell and I’m not going to take this anymore!” Here’s why you are

  • October 06, 2010 AnikaDaVille12
    Report This User

    It’s not every day that you find movies that you can relate to but this movie/documentary really hits home. As we go about our day to day routines we tend to forget about what matters in our life. Such as health care, education, environment, Food Production and most importantly HUMAN RIGHTS. This movie hits all points to the T, so what are we going to do about it? Continue being hos or are we going to stand up and say enough is enough. I urge everyone to check out http://www.ghettophysics.com it is time to take control.

  • October 06, 2010 anastasiabeave
    Report This User

    After I heard my friends talking about Ghetto Physics I was intrigued... So I went to http://www.ghettophysics.com. After viewing the whole site I felt inspired by this educational documentary. This movie is a must see!!!!!

  • October 04, 2010 TinaAce8586
    Report This User

    Yes, sounds like it's gonna bring a powerful message! There's also a song contest, you can be a part of this: http://www.ghettophysicscontest.com

  • October 04, 2010 DMR320
    Report This User

    The Truth is Powerful ! Def gotta see this 1

  • October 04, 2010 Jezabel1876
    Report This User

    Yes you were lucky to have seen it before all of us. I just read the synopsis on this film, i have to say i was inspired and it was very educational. It caught my attention because i never saw the world in that way... "Pimps and Hos" it certainly makes sense. I really look forward in seeing this film.

  • October 04, 2010 truthfreq
    Report This User

    GhettoPhysics is an amazing film that needs to be seen! It tells the back tale of what is going on in our media world and letting everyone know how a politician is very similar to a pimp, just different language, that people in power are no better, they just look the part of acceptable and yet they are utterly criminal! The people are apathetic at this point of being lied to, and GhettoPhysics scrutinizes the truth for us! YEAHHHHHH! Thanks for the honesty! It is so important that this movie is coming out right now with the whole electronic frenzy making the truth more available....

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X