Skip to main content

reviews

19
Based on 23 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 29 )
  • 25
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    That closing-credits sequence is by far the funniest thing in the disappointing movie, show more

  • 38
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    There's still time, but for now, Fogler gets my vote for the worst performance of the year. show more

  • 40
    The Hollywood Reporter

    The script by Josh Stolberg has no fizz. It's possible to sit for half an hour without cracking a smile. Part of the problem is sheer repetitiveness; another problem is that Stu's leering remarks are repulsive rather than endearing. show more

  • 50
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    At least Jessica Alba's legion of fans will have something to smile about. If nothing else, Helfrich has shown her in the best light. If only there was something worth seeing here other than her. show more

  • 38
    Ken Fox TV Guide

    Like everything else about this insulting romantic comedy, the Jessica Alba/Dane Cook love match is degraded by vile jokes, a boorish attitude toward women and a smutty tackiness not seen since those stupid nudie-cuties of the 1960s. show more

  • 25
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Here is the dirty movie of the year, slimy and scummy, and among its casualties is poor Jessica Alba, who is a cutie and shouldn't have been let out to play with these boys. show more

  • 25
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Good Luck Chuck is this year’s low-ender to beat. show more

  • 25
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    This is less an affront to women than it is to comedy. show more

  • 25
    Rick Groen The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    One Star (and only for quoting Knee-Chee). show more

  • 12
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    Good Luck Chuck, a fungal little sex comedy, doesn't need a review. It needs a tube of ointment and a shot of penicillin. show more

  • July 10, 2008 obigguy456702146
    Report This User

    not very good.

  • July 08, 2008 Veggieloverb
    Report This User

    OMG!!! this movie is so hot!!!! and so is dane cook!!! i loved it.....i couldnt stop laughing....people with a good sense of humor r gonna DIE!!! it was the bestest movie EVER!!!

  • May 22, 2008 warburtonhc
    Report This User

    I am confident this movie was written by 7th Graders who just discovered sex. I am further confident that the only people that will like this movie are....you guessed it......7th Graders who have just discovered sex. So Bad...So poorly acted.....So stupid. So over the top. So many cliche's that have been done over and over. Musta been a slow week for Alba. Her rating goes down in my book.

  • May 22, 2008 shwiz54
    Report This User

    Despite a strong cast that includes Dane Cook and Jessica Alba, "Good Luck Chuck" is unexpectedly unfunny. Don't waste your time and money on one of the worst comedies of the year.Cook plyas Chuck, who gets cursed in his childhood to be the lucky charm every woman desires: marriage. He enjoys this supernatural power for a while, but soon realizes he can't get into a relationship. Alba plays Cam, whom Chuck believes to be "the one." Everything seems perfect until the two get physical, and the spell takes over Chuck's life.The script has a sense of humor, but two main characters are not played by appropriate actors. Both Cook and Alba are skilled, credible actors, but their potential did not come out properly. Cook may be a good-looking comedian, but he is not suitable for this type of dry humor. Also, Alba may be one of the world's most gorgeous actresses, but she loses her attraction when she plays a foolish girl.This film gets attention because Cook and Alba are starring. But if Chuck and Cam were played by different actors, "Good Luck Chuck" could have been a much funnier film.Better luck next time, Dane.

  • May 22, 2008 ddsnyprncss55
    Report This User

    I personally liked this movie a lot. It was funny and entertaining. Ya the sense of humor is a bit odd but you cant help but laugh.

  • May 22, 2008 daniellie1111
    Report This User

    also i hated metal untill someone let me lison to thes guys now i love lisening to metal i lisen to it al the time u guys rock my fave is sad statue

  • May 22, 2008 preludegirl99
    Report This User

    When I left this movie I didn't even know what to say....no words can describe how not good this movie was.....I expected it to be a whole lot better than it was, and again, I am speechless.

  • May 22, 2008 janet
    Report This User

    It's too bad Hollywood can't make a decent comedy anymore. You don't have to have expicit sex scenes in every comedy made. This is just a bad movie for all.

  • May 22, 2008 dcandigirl2nv
    Report This User

    Watch it. It won't be a waste of your time. Great actors. Got to love it.

  • May 22, 2008 AggieKatz
    Report This User

    I also thought this movie would be more innuendo like similar movies out right now. Did they really have to show the same raunchy sex scenes for the audience to get the point? Not if you can tell a story well enough. What I thought would be a cute movie about a guy with bad luck meeting a clutzy girl and finding true love turned crass and insulting. The fact that the scene where Jessica Alba's character and Dane cook finally 'do it' and that you don't see it in should tell you how much of the other scenes were unnecessary. I think there was a good movie buried in sophomoric raunchiness. What were you thinking, Jessica?

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X