Skip to main content

reviews

63
Based on 38 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 67 )
  • 63
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Miller's wake-up call is meant to be ours. Too little and too late? Maybe. But even in this Bourne Zone, Damon and Greengrass haven't shirked their duty to enlighten and entertain. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Watchable in spite of Greengrass as much as because of him. The story is good enough to make viewers want to ignore the photography. show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Zone feels anticlimactic now. It also pales in comparison to Oscar-winning "The Hurt Locker," the most powerful film yet made about the Iraq war. show more

  • 40
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    For a while Green Zone generates genuine excitement, as well as plenty of provocation--a fatuous surrogate for Ahmed Chalabi, a pervasive scorn for American planning--but then goes off its own reservation into a won't-fly zone of awkward preachments and hapless absurdities. show more

  • 63
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    In the wake of the Oscar-winning "The Hurt Locker" - a far better film, and one with a less strident, less obvious agenda - Green Zone arrives looking strangely anachronistic. show more

  • 80
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    The cast is strong, and Damon is a dependable center for all this, a classic American good guy wanting to know what's rotten and why. show more

  • 80
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Christopher Rouse's rapid-fire editing nervously stitches the stunts, chases, fights and confrontations together. It's a remarkable film. show more

  • 100
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    It is a thriller, not a documentary. It's my belief that the nature of the neocon evildoing has by now become pretty clear. Others will disagree. The bottom line is: This is one hell of a thriller. show more

  • 88
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Damon's prior appearances as Jason Bourne make him credible in this role. show more

  • 75
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    Mixes fact and speculation in a way that's already raised the ire of some on the right as well as on the left. show more

  • July 30, 2010 willbrick4
    Report This User

    havent seen the movie yet, but already the neocons are trashing it. Wake up boys, there were no wmd's in Iraq.

  • July 25, 2010 Doyle Perry
    Report This User

    Lots of action for a totally fabricated, viciously liberal political attack movie. It's even entertaining, but, isn't it about time for a factual movie about President Bush and the war in Iraq?

  • July 08, 2010 jackd1207
    Report This User

    As entertainment, moderately so. Camera work was occassionally distracting with the herky jerky screen shots. I mostly like Damon's work, just not his politics. The story is a leftwing fairytale, the acting fair to good, the action good.

  • May 26, 2010 drarthurwells
    Report This User

    For those who like action movies that offer little more than action.

  • April 10, 2010 ROTORBABE2
    Report This User

    Great action packed, suspenseful "True Life" adventure film, that reminds us all how & why the war was started, written by someone who was actually THERE! Damon @ his most intense. Gleeson believable as the FBI agent who knows too much....& best of all Kinnear, playing against type as the smarmy CIA dude,with too much power, minimal brains & no heart. A must see for all Americans who value the truth.

  • April 03, 2010 SRM 5150
    Report This User

    Holy cow! I don't care what side of the fence you're on, but this was a shameless exercise in pushing political agendas and rhetoric, not entertainment (which is why I go to see movies). If I want editorial, I'll watch the news. This was a waste of money unless you just have a need to validate your political views.

  • April 03, 2010 Paul
    Report This User

    bush lied and people died..I would rather watch hot time machine again, and I liked hot tub time machine..if I had choice between green zone and the directors cut of cango..it would have to be congo..

  • April 02, 2010 Drmblv1
    Report This User

    If you're looking for a political action movie. This will fill the bill. Damon, brings the same subtle 'hero' vibe to this movie as he's done with the Bourne series. Camera technique often distracting and took away from the enjoyment of the film. Not an award winning film, but is fun entertainment nonetheless.

  • March 31, 2010 vandalwfs
    Report This User

    This movie is a complete waste of time and money. What a piece of crap. I've seen cartoons that are more entertaining.

  • March 30, 2010 WAVEBIG2
    Report This User

    I am a real fan of action movies especially military type movies. Additionally, I am a real fan of the Bourne series but the Green Zone was nothing short of aweful! It was a 115 minute diatribe against the Iraq war and constant Bush bashing. I'm really bummed I spent the money and time to see it. No more Matt Damon movies for me.

`

similar movies

  • The Hurt Locker (2008)

  • Black Hawk Down (2001)

  • Munich (2005)

  • Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit (2014)

  • Lone Survivor (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X