Skip to main content

reviews

35
Based on 30 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 44 )
  • 75
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    Hannibal Rising isn't a classic, but it's entertaining and a surprisingly fitting addition to the franchise. show more

  • 50
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    What Hannibal Rising is, mostly, is a hoot. show more

  • 63
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    This strikes me as the final nail in the franchise's coffin. I can't name an actor who could have made young Lecter as interesting as the older one, but Ulliel does not come close. show more

  • 20
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    It's all quite a mess, with awkward performances, worse dialogue and a painfully protracted running time conspiring against any chance of enjoyment, even in a so-bad-it's-good guilty pleasure way. show more

  • 63
    Ken Fox TV Guide

    It's a handsomely mounted but poky thriller undone by a fatally miscast lead. show more

  • 63
    Premiere

    The story's beginning is in a rush to get to the the killings, which get more and more disgusting. show more

  • 38
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    For better and worse, the movie is more attractive and competently assembled than its schlock peers. That's refreshing, but it hardly excuses the appalling lack of suspense, intermittent tastelessness, or shockingly low camp quotient. show more

  • 38
    Lawrence Toppman Charlotte Observer

    Errors in logic will delight the attentive. show more

  • 25
    Chicago Tribune

    A sort-of combination of "Lambs," "Batman Begins" and "The Joy of Cooking," Hannibal Rising ostensibly dramatizes the atrocities that turned Hannibal Lecter from loving child to serial killer. But this film is larded up with so many food references that I'm undecided whether this story belongs in a film compendium or a recipe file. show more

  • 25
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    For the first time in the film series, Harris wrote the screenplay himself, which means the movie is practically identical to the book. In other words, they both stink. show more

  • August 06, 2008 Craziicutii2353
    Report This User

    i love this movie.. i grew up watching slince of the lambs every year on new years eve.. this is a classic dvd i have it.. It's better then SAW..

  • May 22, 2008 hellwolf90
    Report This User

    I personally loved this movie. Though I wouldn't recommend it to everyone. If you're a fan of the movies I'd consider it worth your time. Though at times you lose the true Lecter feel, it was very good. At first I only thought the movie was ok...then it grew on me. (Plus I loved Rhys Ifans as Grutas) It was very entertaining to watch the transition of a little boy into the cannibal we know and love today. So despite all the bad reviews on this movie, I really enjoyed it.

  • May 22, 2008 sniperforeagle
    Report This User

    like every thomas harris screnplay the book is alot better

  • May 22, 2008 johnsbury1
    Report This User

    This movie's poor rating is well deserved due to its ridiculous screen play about WWII Nazi's and the Holocaust. It detracts from the Hanibal theme, bizzare as it is, and sends the story in another absurd direction.Was the director, producer and writer trying to justify why Hanibal eats people, or recount the horrros of WWII and the Holocaust? They blended two unrelated movie themes together and neither one worked.Save you money and pass this clunker by.

  • May 22, 2008 morganawolf1
    Report This User

    I thought that the story that made Hannibal was very touching. I felt pity for him throughout the film. They portrayed him extremly well when it came to his humanity and how he lost his empathy for humans. Sad as his past was, I don't think I would have acted any differently. This film helped people relate to the issues of personal suffering and the desire for justice.I hope they keep Gaspard Ulliel in the following epics as Hannibals career in psychiatry continues.He was also extremly handsome and captivating. I felt like I was there. Excellent job!!

  • May 22, 2008 stillmore8
    Report This User

    The only good part about this movie is when he is decapitating someone. The movie was boring.

  • May 22, 2008 gimmiabrk67
    Report This User

    This was a masterpiece! Really! GO SEE THIS FILM, Gaspard Ulliel was perfect! The bad thing is I've been reading the reviews and didn't really expect to enjoy it~~~~WOW I was mesmerized!SUPERB

  • May 22, 2008 shamarahpal
    Report This User

    i have not yet seen the movie, but the review from jadehirsch is absolutley ridiculous. If you cant speak english, which as i can see you can not speak it properly at least try to type it so we can understand what "in da h!!! u r trying 2 say bout the mooV" .....what an idiot

  • May 22, 2008 drmctchr86
    Report This User

    Really, I was impressed. The you could really see the actor they cast as young hannibal. He was kinda hot, too. It worked. Honestly I wasn't feelin the Red Dragon movie...At all. But if you liked the Silence of the Lambs, this one is great. You'll love it, just see it!

  • May 22, 2008 lysaclarke
    Report This User

    I still don't know why critics get paid- much like weather forecasters-both never get it right!!!This movie puts everything into perspective, you know why he became the person he was-(and CHEER for him!)If you enjoyed Silence of the Lambs GO SEE THIS MOVIE!!

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X