Skip to main content

reviews

78
Based on 36 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 65 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    A surprise package of fun, fright and untamed imagination. show more

  • 75
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    The talented fantasy filmmaker and heir to the "Lord of the Rings" throne gets the tone right throughout Hellboy 2, and the hip retro charm alone is enough to merit recommendation. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Highly imaginative and consistently amusing without pretensions. show more

  • 90
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Hugely inventive -- and smashingly beautiful. show more

  • 63
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Goes somewhere the first "Hellboy" never ventured: into the Realms of Tedium. show more

  • 80
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    The endlessly inventive del Toro creates visual fantasies unlike any other, and the creatures on display here are truly extraordinary. But amid all the costumes, all the action, and all the special effects, it's the humanity that makes his work so memorable. Yes, the monsters are amazing. But the moment when a heartsick Hellboy discovers Barry Manilow? Priceless. show more

  • 100
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    With writer-director del Toro given free license to go where his singular vision takes him, Hellboy II plays like Guillermo's Greatest Hits with even hotter visual effects. show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Imagine the forges of hell crossed with the extraterrestrial saloon on Tatooine, and you have a notion of Guillermo del Toro's Hellboy II: The Golden Army. show more

  • 88
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    It's a dry, mundane title. It's also the only thing about the film that doesn't blow your mind right out of its comfortable, I've-seen-all-this-before rut. show more

  • 75
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    The movie overall is engaging, though it's more cavalier regarding story and relentless in its action than its predecessor. show more

  • July 26, 2011 dicso1
    Report This User

    i loved this movie. the first time i saw it i was like wow and i wished that i could be in the movie. i love hellboy, liz,abe, princesse nuola, and of coure prince nuada. i cant wait untill they make a therd movie :)

  • September 29, 2009 Wmac212
    Report This User

    I love this movie. To me it is better then the first Hell Boy. I liked the villan to. The fight between that guy and Hellboy was a really well made fight. I bet there going to make a third one this time with Hellboy's childern. They will drive him insane. I give it 5 out of 5.

  • January 27, 2009 superhellboyfan
    Report This User

    Awesome movie! It skillfully weaves in myths from different cultures. The acting is good. Prince Nuada's rage at mankind and sympathy for Hellboy is believable and he makes a very convincing bad guy. I was disappointed that a different actress was chosen for Liz than in the first movie though. If you liked the movie and have an iphone or ipod touch, check out this free game: tuesday.com/hellboy

  • December 01, 2008 Xsec713X
    Report This User

    I was surprised by the first Hellboy. I waited until DVD for that one and was thoroughly impressed. This time around, it was the same. A great story with absolutely gorgeous sets and special effects (moreso than the first). If you like fantasy, comics, sci-fi, or even fairy tales, the Hellboy series is sure to please. You just have to to remember one thing: this is a movie based on a non-standard comic book; suspension of disbelief is essential to your enjoying this movie. I have to say that last part only because I had the "pleasure" of listening to a ridiculous pair in the theater over analyze how "fake" Abe Sapien's breathing apparatus was... for crying out loud, the dude's a walking, super smart, kinda telepathic man-fish, and you're talking about his breather?!?... I digress.... watch the movie.

  • October 09, 2008 Joe006
    Report This User

    Yes do get on DVD. I seen it in the movie theaters I like it better that the first one. It show the human side. This is real action fighting.

  • September 04, 2008 ANIMAL HEART 69
    Report This User

    The Golden Army was super! One of Hollywood’s most entertaining movie's this summer.This is more a comedy superhero movie with a meaning, and a big question that ask What if a superhero has problems that affect humans? will Hellboy become a bad-boy in the next movie?Guillermo del Toro thank you thank you thank you soooooo much for making Hellboy 1 and 2...Hellboy 3,4,5,6,7,8 and 9 must be made to!!! and of course it must have sexy Ron Pearlman as Hellboy again and beautiful Selma Blair must be in it to.....

  • August 30, 2008 WHITE MISA
    Report This User

    WOW! Hellboy 2: The Golden Army is a movie I'll be happy to watch over and over again. It's visually stunning, full of colorful beauty, kickass action, it's just a perfect movie. Both main actors Ron Perlman and Selma Blair are so cool. Even if for some strange reason you don’t like the story, HELLBOY II is a veritable feast for the eyes. I will be sooooooo sad if they don't make more Hellboy movies!I am now totally crazy for Hellboy! Forever Hellboy!! The first one was cool this one was breathtaking, I was blown away completely. the only little thing I did not like in this movie was seeing Hellboy drunk! But still I would give this Movie 10 Stars anyway! And I agree with "Wildekiss" This movie is truly Bad Ass! I will buy this on DVD as soon as is available!! Can't wait to see it again!

  • August 30, 2008 KATZENHERZLICH
    Report This User

    Oh my God did I love this movie!!! Hellboy II......is such a beautifully made movie...visually stunning, sexy and scary it was all rolled into one...and by the way, I am not a comic book fan at all! I even went to see it 2 times and that's not my style. Hellboy II looks like the most original movie of this summer. Guillermo del Toro is priceless. Please please make another one!

  • August 30, 2008 charmsoerthrown
    Report This User

    This move was pretty to look at, but it petered out there. Pandering to fans of Pan's Labyrinth, which has a very different style from the Hellboy franchise, just to try to get in new Del Toro fans who may not have seen the first one, was a bad move. This movie was incredibly sexist (there are two female characters: one spends the movie moping and pregnant, the other one dies) and had huge plot holes that, if filled, would have made the movie about fifteen minutes long. The characters are tawdry and two-dimensional, and in one scene, they get drunk and sing "I Can't Smile Without You," a sequence that made me embarrassed for the actors-- and embarrassed that I was even in the theater, at all. Monsters, makeup and puppetry are the only redeeming qualities of this movie.

  • August 14, 2008 GIRLFRIEND888
    Report This User

    who are you people. this was the worst movie i have ever seen. maybe its just because you might have to be a comic book fan but if thats the case i guess i hate comics. it was random, it lacked a strong plot line and was all over the map. there was no consistency. i definitely did not like it and won't be recommending it to anyone.

`

similar movies

  • Hellboy (2004)

  • X2 (2003)

  • Spider-Man 2 (2004)

  • Batman Begins (2005)

  • Iron Man 2 (2010)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X