Skip to main content

reviews

90
Based on 46 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 56 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Jonze is a visionary whose lyrical, soulful meditation on relationships of the future cuts to the heart of the way we live now. show more

  • 50
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    The story is too slender for its two-hour running time, and the pace is lugubrious, as though everyone in front and behind the camera were depressed. But the biggest obstacle is the protagonist (Joaquin Phoenix), who is almost without definition. show more

  • 88
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Though set in the future, Her is a timely, soulful and plausible love story. show more

  • 100
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Mr. Jonze approaches perfection in the department of deadpan humor. In other hands, his premise could have been a clever gimmick and little more. But he draws us into Theodore's world, then develops it brilliantly, by playing everything scrupulously straight. show more

  • 100
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Sad, funny, and quietly alarming romance. show more

  • 100
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Will you relate more to the bitter, or embrace the sweet? The choice itself is Jonze’s ultimate gift to us: an invitation to leave his film ready to communicate, debate and, most crucially of all, connect. show more

  • 90
    Todd McCarthy The Hollywood Reporter

    This is a probing, inquisitive work of a very high order, although it goes a bit slack in the final third and concludes rather conventionally compared to much that has come before. show more

  • 80
    David Ehrlich Film.com

    If Her is ultimately better at considering the future than it is at taking us there, it resonates as an insightful reminder that love isn’t obsolete quite yet. show more

  • 100
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    Her argues that sometimes, crazy can be wonderful. show more

  • 100
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    It is a love story. Also a profoundly metaphysical meditation on what it means to be human. Also one of the more touchingly relevant movies to the ways we actually live and may soon live. Oh, and the year’s best film, or at least the one that may stick with you until its story line comes true. show more

  • July 21, 2014 piker
    Report This User

    Although I might not use words like "lugubrious" and I don't write for a publication with more than 500 readers, I can honestly say that 5 stars on Movie|Fone always means 1 star for me. I would like to say I'd give it 0 stars if I could but that would be like saying I wish my amp went to 11.

  • July 19, 2014 september55
    Report This User

    This movie was such a bore to watch. I kept on waiting for it to get interesting...but it never did. After I woke up from a 10 minute snooze, I realized my pepsi had leaked all over my pants. That's how bad this movie really was. Save your money. Go see the Godfather!

  • July 13, 2014 astep17427
    Report This User

    I'm 57 years old and a huge movie buff. This is by far the worst movie I've ever seen. (I'd give it 0 stars if I could.) DO NOT waste your time or money on this piece of crap!!!!

  • May 16, 2014 KDRdeCorrales
    Report This User

    The idea of having a relationship with a virtual being is of course not novel. However, screenwriter/director Spike Jonze’s rendition does seem to be among the more commendable developments of this core concept. To witness: the numerous accolades befallen ‘Her’, mainly for Jonze’s original screenplay, including a Golden Globe and Academy Award. The route Jonze has chosen to realize his first solo-screenplay has led – also through the very creditable exploits of Joaquin Phoenix, Scarlett Johansson, Amy Adams and Rooney Mara – to a motion picture that gives compelling food for thought and is profoundly moving and inspiring. The great accomplishment of ‘Her’ consists in Jonze rising beautifully to the challenge of creating conflict, to provide effective drama involving the bodiless operating system (OS) present in Johansson’s voice. Albeit artificial intelligence specific, this drama and the resulting sympathy for that voice is made to feel very near human, aided of course by the interaction with the sensitive, relation-starved Theodore, sublimely personified by Phoenix, in whom no way we would recognize the tyrant would-be emperor from The Gladiator. It comes as no surprise that Jonze wrote ‘Her’ with Phoenix – and his well-established acting prowess – in mind. A couple of noteworthy aspects of ‘Her’: The setting and mood, immaculately tailored around the main character’s ups and downs. Sterile, grey, sci-fi, a bit bleak, empty, naked without the virtual presence; then at one point suddenly totally flamboyant and sunny. Then, the voice that has chosen for herself the name Samantha. Crucial and totally deserving of that ‘Best Actress’ award at the Rome Film Festival. That smoky naughtiness, the sexy chuckling, the carefully captured tone belying a smile or a mood; the lightning-quick changing of that mood. The voluptuous actrice is indeed well-represented by her voice alone. The subtlety of the volume should be mentioned. No raised voices in ‘Her’. A soothing, welcome alternation, given the loud-louder-loudest competition that seems to be going on in movies today, especially with the arrival of 3D and IMAX. ‘Her’ seems to have done an exercise in the opposite direction and offers a smorgasbord of the soft and serene, sensitive, sweet, sexy and suggestive, also through its flesh-and-blood characters. ‘Her’ demonstrates and reminds us that one does not need to be ‘loud’ to communicate; that the wide spectrum within the lower volumes suffices. Plot development, then. The ingenious trials and tribulations of voice-only represented Samantha; first desiring a body, then deciding (with some of that eloquent drama mentioned earlier) that she doesn’t require one, consequently turning to her mind with a vengeance, evolving beyond the boundaries of a relationship with humans to the extent that she needs to leave, obviously to the distress of our main character. Here Jonze has opted for a proper Hollywood ending, suggesting that the voice-relationship sufficiently exorcized Theodore’s demons for him to turn to humans again. Those captivating components and details that all seem to have a purpose or at least add to the intrigue. From the main character’s profession, to the one-style-fits-all trousers, to the curious, consistent recurrence of that deep salmon-red – mainly in the main character’s attire, but also hinted at in the vestuary of passers-by. Returning to picture-carrier Phoenix. Having seen the movie one can imagine no other to fill the main character’s shoes. That feminine still-masculinity; the perfectly hit, never overplayed sensitivity bordering on loserdom without ever getting there. Most importantly: the character remains subservient to the drama, message and the implied questions, including the delicate ‘Beware of or rejoice in where technology is taking us?’ As to some of the underlying notions: Communication and empathy are prerequisites for any sort of relationship, among other things because everything is subject to change. Also: To seek to evolve as far as one is able is a natural thing. And: There is so much out there we cannot fathom. The ever-presence of the voice and where her journey takes her both hint at the beyond. To conclude: Joy can be found in any type of circumstance, even without a body. The movie invites to apply the imagination more for the pursuit of joy. For example by making up stories about people (keeping it nice) or dedicating a tune of one’s own creation to a moment. The ‘should we or should we not pursue a relationship with something other than human’ is left for each viewer to decide for themselves.

  • February 19, 2014 ds00000000182139
    Report This User

    I have never walked out of a movie...until I went to see this one. Stupid, stupid, stupid. Don\'t waste your time.

  • February 15, 2014 Diaz Family
    Report This User

    The message of this movie was, perhaps, lost in translation for the ordinary viewer. Just like \"Lost in translation\" which got the same reaction years ago. Again with Scarlett Johansson. In fact, I think the premise of \"Her\" is the difference between seeing Johanson and just hearing her.

  • February 14, 2014 peacefulbeing2
    Report This User

    Walked out 20 minutes in & that 20 minutes was torture. From critics ratings, thought some redeeming feature would reveal itself but left wondering who\'s paying the critics or when a weird movie like this comes out do the critics just want to act like they get it but we don\'t. SAVE YOUR MONEY!

  • February 01, 2014 bamc628
    Report This User

    A really stupid movie. I got tired listening to the same narrator and fell asleep. Don\'t waste your money!

  • February 01, 2014 iy00000000178793
    Report This User

    I cannot fathom the number of bad reviews of this movie. Yes, it has a bit of a slow pace. It\'s an intellectual, thought-provoking movie. But that is its true magic: it blends very real emotion, and hyperreal futurism. It walks the line between the human and the artificial. Which is the point.

  • January 31, 2014 think!!!
    Report This User

    horrid, just about says it all.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X