Skip to main content

reviews

35
Based on 22 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 37 )
  • 50
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    Not a spectacular movie, but the action scenes are well shot, there's no shortage of R-rated gore and the plot moves along quickly enough to mask the fact that the whole endeavor is completely ridiculous. show more

  • 50
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    As a movie on its own, it's simple monotony. Olyphant, affecting Clint Eastwood's Dirty Harry voice, is about as menacing as Mr. Clean, and the action scenes - whether the weapons are fists, feet, swords or guns - fly past without any tension or suspense. Hitman is a miss. show more

  • 30
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    All the while, the music screams and clamors like an ignored child because director Xavier Gens and writer Skip Woods can't pump suspense into this inept mess. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Hitman stands right on the threshold between video games and art. On the wrong side of the threshold, but still, give it credit. show more

  • 50
    Chicago Tribune

    Here’s all you really need to know before the opening credits roll in Hitman: There’s going to be a lot of bloodshed. And that’s a good thing, considering there isn’t much dialogue to carry the film. show more

  • 50
    Maitland McDonagh TV Guide

    This violent action is stylish but painfully formulaic, even by the undemanding standards of video-game narratives. show more

  • 50
    Premiere

    Ultimately Hitman is about bullets, blood, and bombs. For die-hard fans of the videogame, there is much to relish in terms of cobblestone car chases, punishing fistfights, cool weaponry, impossible physical feats, and ear-popping gun battles that rage through exclusive hotels in exotic locations. show more

  • 50
    Rick Groen The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    It's all meant, I suppose, to conjure up cold visions of Terminators and Robocops past, or, in this post-9/11 world, of bin Ladens and Bushes present. If so, conjure at will. show more

  • 38
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    There have been plenty of movies adapted from video games before, but Hitman may be the first one that actually feels like a computer wrote and directed it. show more

  • 12
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    If someone ran this guy through a scanner, the readout would say: “Mark down and stock in straight-to-video aisle." show more

  • July 28, 2011 thecobra280
    Report This User

    me and my pop-pop play it and we beat to leve 30

  • February 10, 2011 samdoomday
    Report This User

    I am sooy to say that ******** the wrong person to play hitman, you should had picked the man from smallville LEX Luthur , he look just like hitman on the game. If there a part two pick him.thank you.

  • January 31, 2009 StrtNew2009
    Report This User

    two thumbs up, the movie was pretty good. just as good as playing the video game. hoping for hitman 2, the movie

  • May 22, 2008 mdmatlanta2004
    Report This User

    Okay, originally I wanted to see this movie at the theater but did not have the time. When I saw the movie on the shelf I couldn't wait to watch it. I have played the game and enjoyed it. I can honestly say that I'm glad I didn't spend $8.00 at the theater. The movie is okay, not spectacular. Some of the shooting scenes are good but overall not very interesting. The main character in this movie you never feel connected to him or what he is doing. His dialogue is sparse, I guess an attempt to make him look cold and tough, but it never realy works. I did like the lead female actress in this movie it helped keep the picture moving. Overall, the movie is okay, not great, not spectacular, but okay.

  • May 22, 2008 jt2st85n
    Report This User

    The movie was taken from a PC game that is a unique experience for each player, so no two "games" will ever be identical, thus the experience and impression of 'Hitman' varies from person to person. The movie adaptation of the character was excellent considering they were taking a character that was different things to different players. All in all, it held onto the feel of the game while adeptly turning a computer game into believable live action. Well done! 4 1/2 stars!

  • May 22, 2008 chasupow
    Report This User

    I really enjoyed the movie. I thought the plot was good and the actions scenes also. This is a movie that you should go into looking for a good time. If you're into critiquing every part of it, maybe you will have a bad time and think it's horrible. But if you just sit back, realize it's a movie, I think everything will come together. I recommend the movie.

  • May 22, 2008 unseenkorean2423
    Report This User

    i think the movie is done well, the filming was fine, as were the actors and actresses, but there was one problem. it never really explained everything that was going on, it was just a nice-- kill movie if you will. but it was horrible, i can see it winning a few awards. Timothy Olyphant i thought looked and did wonderfully as Agent 47. all in all i thought it was a rather well done movie, and it was very enjoyable.

  • May 22, 2008 arthuromendes
    Report This User

    One of the best spa experiences I ever had. The spa itself was gorgeous, the service was impeccable, and the massage was excellent. It is VERY peaceful and worth it for the splurge, the highest sanitation, professionalism and customer service I ever experienced, I recommend them to all and certainly was the best decision I ever made. Nice WATER FALL, MOLDINGS & ARCITECTURAL TOUCHES. Huge Painting in Hawaiian Couples Room, Nice, Nice, Nice.

  • May 22, 2008 jdemat3367
    Report This User

    In 2005 my brother and his wife had our grandfather's clock restored and then gave it to me. Master Clock Maker, Greg Podgorski did a wonderful restoration and I enjoy its subtle "gong."\nIt sits on the fireplace mantle of our Lake Amistad home just north of Del Rio, Texas.

  • May 22, 2008 dsaamco
    Report This User

    If you saw the kitchen with *********** you wouldnt eat there again. Their old restaurant on Eastern was filthy.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X