Skip to main content

reviews

35
Based on 25 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 8 )
  • 75
    Ruthe Stein San Francisco Chronicle

    A sharp-witted satire of celebrity journalism. show more

  • 50
    USA Today

    Gets muddled in slapstick and crude humor. show more

  • 38
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    An embarassingly unfunny, stumblebum adaptation of Toby Young's memoir. show more

  • 20
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Problem is, this movie is all surface - to quote one character, it has hidden shallows. show more

  • 40
    Sheri Linden The Hollywood Reporter

    Simon Pegg is likably smart and obnoxious as the fish-out-of-water Brit in high-gloss Manhattan, but he's swimming upstream in a feature that substitutes slapstick for scathing wit. show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Possibly the best movie that could be made about Toby Young that isn't rated NC-17. show more

  • 75
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    This film, directed by Curb Your Enthusiasm's Robert Weide, makes an entertaining companion piece to his book. show more

  • 63
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Feels jumbled and disorganized. It's not altogether unpalatable, but that doesn't present it from being a mess. show more

  • 50
    Stephen Cole The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    Unfortunately, both Bridges and Anderson are only intermittently in the movie. And when they're not around, How to Lose Friends loses its satirical edge, becoming an alarmingly safe, almost corny romantic comedy. show more

  • 38
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    Nothing in How to Lose Friends feels fresh or on target. show more

  • October 31, 2009 Meg5An4
    Report This User

    this movie sucked but it had megan fox in it she is hot she was the whole point of the movie

  • October 11, 2008 surfinhobomonkey
    Report This User

    really, really, really boring..it's almost like a chick flick, and simmon pegg wasn't funny at all..I seriously kept checking my watch, hoping it would end soon..

  • October 09, 2008 RCW CFA
    Report This User

    This was the worst movie I have seen this year. I kept looking at my watch to see when the first chuckle would happen. Fortunately, the movie ended before time did.

  • October 06, 2008 mcbandit98
    Report This User

    I was hoping for more laughs out of this movie. Simon Pegg was a bit out of his element, trying to make his working class brand of British humor fly in an American office settting. Two stars is generous.

  • October 06, 2008 JennMack75
    Report This User

    This movie was pretty awful! Not funny at all, actually rather annoying. I never saw any previews for this movie but I figured the actors were rather good so I didn't think the movie could be that bad but boy was I wrong. Do not waste your money!!

  • October 06, 2008 PazziBaci143
    Report This User

    I saw this movie this past weekend, thinking it was going to be a funny movie. It was so the opposite of funny. My boyfriend and i were bored to tears and contemplated walking out in the middle of the movie. I have never wanted to leave a movie. I'll say there were a few parts of the movie that i had a little chuckle at but the other 90% of the movie was so bad, i was extremly happy when it was over.

  • October 06, 2008 spankymebottom
    Report This User

    genuine laughs. good movie, Simon Pegg was killer - awesome cast. Kirsten Dunst = blah.

  • October 04, 2008 JS6789111
    Report This User

    A friend and I saw this movie on a whim. I had actually barely even heard of it because it hasn't been highly advertised (at least in my area). I was in for a pleasant surprise. "How to Lose Friends and Alienate People" supplied a lot of laughs throughout and the plot line was pretty solid (which is becoming increasingly rare for comedies). Simon Pegg is brilliant in the leading role. I highly recommend it.

similar movies

  • The Goods: Live Hard. Sell Hard. (2009)

  • Waiting ... (2005)

  • Alan Partridge: Alpha Papa (2013)

  • Role Models (2008)

  • Ali G Indahouse (2002)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X